Airwallex vs Remitly (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Airwallex is best for registered Indian companies that want multi-currency collection accounts and also pay suppliers globally. Remitly is best for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Need: registered Indian companies that want multi-currency collection accounts and also pay suppliers globally | Airwallex | Airwallex is built for this. |
| Need: family and personal remittances sent from the US to India | Remitly | Remitly is built for this. |
How do Airwallex and Remitly compare at a glance?
| Attribute | Airwallex | Remitly |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Fees | No USD receive fee; free local payouts; Explore plan no monthly fee | Sender pays $3.99 below $1,000, $0 from $1,000; recipient charges not confirmed |
| FX markup | 0.60% for INR (0.40% majors), Singapore schedule; India rate not confirmed | Not published; may earn from rate difference |
| Settlement | States ~90% processed within hours to one business day | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed |
| FIRA | No auto FIRA; FIRC on request; partner fee may apply | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages |
| Currencies | Receive 20+ currencies from 70+ countries; INR payouts to India | USD to INR for US to India corridor |
| RBI status | Not confirmed; not on RBI list, no PA-CB claim | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised |
| Indian individuals | No, registered businesses only | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments |
| Indian businesses | Yes, via Airwallex Singapore, subject to checks | Not supported for receiving |
| Limits | Airwallex states most accounts have no deposit limit; transfer limits vary by method and are shown when creating a transfer. India-specific limits Not confirmed. | Not confirmed. Remitly's user agreement says it may limit amounts per transaction or in aggregate but publishes no figure on pages reviewed; the promotional first-transfer rate applies to the first $6,000 sent. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Airwallex vs Remitly?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Airwallex, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Airwallex, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Airwallex, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Remitly, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What is Airwallex and who is it for?
Airwallex is a global business account provider that issues local collection account details (Global Accounts) in 20+ currencies. Its help centre lists India as an eligible business registration country, with Indian businesses onboarded to the Airwallex Singapore entity. An Indian company can collect foreign client payments into a Global Account, convert to INR and send the money to its Indian bank account by local transfer.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. Airwallex is not on the RBI list of payment system authorisations dated 30 Sep 2026, and its pages make no PA-CB claim
- Used by: Yes. India is listed as an eligible registration country, with Indian businesses onboarded to Airwallex Singapore, subject to industry and risk checks
- Best for: Registered Indian companies that want multi-currency collection accounts and also pay suppliers globally
What is Remitly and who is it for?
Remitly is a US-based money transfer service that lets senders in countries such as the US send money to recipients abroad, including India. Indian residents receive Remitly transfers as INR into their bank account, through UPI or via cash pickup, with the sender initiating and paying for the transfer. Its consumer service is restricted to personal, family or household purposes, so it is not designed for Indian freelancers or exporters invoicing foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.
- Used by: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
- Best for: Family and personal remittances sent from the US to India
How do Airwallex and Remitly fees and FX markup compare?
What does Airwallex charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: USD local account details in the US (ACH, Fedwire) | 0% Global Account receiving fee | FedNow and RTP only for eligible customers | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Receiving: SWIFT into a Global Account (USD, EUR, GBP and others) | 0% Global Account receiving fee | Intermediary bank charges are Not confirmed | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Receiving: Local GBP, EUR, SGD, AUD, CAD and other local account details | 0% for most currencies (0.60% for KRW, VND, BRL and MYR collections) | – | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Receiving: Online card payments | 3.60% + SGD 0.50 for international cards (Singapore schedule) | – | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Currency conversion to INR | 0.60% customer mark-up for INR (0.40% for major currencies such as USD, EUR, GBP), included in the exchange rate, per the Singapore fee schedule; optional API quote-lock premiums of 0.02% to 0.30% are extra; India-specific rate Not confirmed | When foreign currency is converted | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Convert the balance to INR with the 0.60% customer mark-up included in the rate and send by local transfer to the Indian bank account; the local payout fee is $0. SWIFT payouts cost SGD 20 (SHA) or SGD 35 (OUR). | When INR is sent to your account | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Explore plan | Free | – | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Grow plan | SGD 79/month | – | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Accelerate plan | From SGD 399/month | – | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| SWIFT payout | SGD 20 (SHA) or SGD 35 (OUR) per payout | – | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| FIRC | May be charged by the banking partner; quoted by support on request | – | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Extra spend users | SGD 5 per additional active spend user per month (5 free) | – | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| API FX quote validity premium (optional, API version 2024-06-30 or later) | 0.02% (1 minute) to 0.30% (24 hours), added to the FX mark-up | – | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| GST on fees | The Singapore fee schedule states fees are exclusive of GST where applicable. Whether Indian GST applies to Indian customers is Not confirmed. | Applies to the platform's fee | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
What does Remitly charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad) | Paid by sender: $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more (US to India) | Consumer, personal-purpose transfers only | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: UPI payout in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: Cash pickup in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | Cash pickup transactions expire after 60 days per the user agreement | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Currency conversion to INR | Markup not published; Remitly's user agreement states it may earn from the difference between the rate at which it buys currency and the rate given to the customer. | When foreign currency is converted | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds arrive in INR directly in the recipient's Indian bank account, UPI or cash pickup. The sender pays the transfer fee and the exchange rate includes a spread Remitly does not publish. Any recipient-side charges are Not confirmed. | When INR is sent to your account | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Transfer fee (US to India, paid by sender) | $3.99 below $1,000; $0 at $1,000 or more | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| First transfer for new customers | No fee, limited-time offer | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| FX conversion | Spread included in rate; markup not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Remitly does not publish GST treatment for Indian recipients; fees are charged to the foreign sender. | Applies to the platform's fee | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
How do Airwallex and Remitly compare on settlement speed?
- Airwallex: Airwallex states about 90% of transfers to India are processed within a few hours to one business day
- Remitly: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Airwallex | States ~90% processed within hours to one business day | Convert to INR (0.60% markup in rate), $0 local transfer | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Remitly | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | INR to bank, UPI or cash pickup; spread not published | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Do Airwallex and Remitly provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Airwallex | No auto FIRA; FIRC on request; partner fee may apply | Not confirmed; not on RBI list, no PA-CB claim | 30 Sept 2026 | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Remitly | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | 30 Sept 2026 | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do Airwallex and Remitly support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Airwallex | Receive 20+ currencies from 70+ countries; INR payouts to India | USD local account details in the US (ACH, Fedwire); SWIFT into a Global Account (USD, EUR, GBP and others); Local GBP, EUR, SGD, AUD, CAD and other local account details; Online card payments | No, registered businesses only | Yes, via Airwallex Singapore, subject to checks | Registered Indian companies collecting multi-currency and paying suppliers globally |
| Remitly | USD to INR for US to India corridor | Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad); UPI payout in India; Cash pickup in India | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments | Not supported for receiving | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What are the strengths and limitations of Airwallex and Remitly?
Airwallex
- No receiving fee: 0% Global Account receiving fee for USD and most currencies
- Published FX margin: 0.60% for INR on the Singapore fee schedule, included in the quoted rate
- Multi-currency holding: funds can be held in major currencies before converting
- Wider toolkit: cards, bill pay and payment acceptance in one account
- Businesses only: no personal accounts for individuals or unregistered freelancers
- Offshore entity: Indian customers are onboarded to the Singapore entity, not an Indian one
- FIRC on request: not issued automatically, and the banking partner may charge for it
- No confirmed RBI status: Airwallex is not on the RBI authorisation list and makes no PA-CB claim
Remitly
- Recipient simplicity: The Indian recipient needs only a bank account or UPI ID; the sender handles the transfer
- Published sender fee: USD to INR fee of $3.99 below $1,000 and $0 at $1,000 or more is shown on Remitly's site
- Multiple payout options: Bank deposit, UPI and cash pickup in India
- Delivery promise: Fee refund if the transfer arrives after the promised date
- Personal use only: The consumer service is limited to personal, family or household purposes, not business or export receipts
- Sender-initiated: Indian users cannot get collection account details or invoice clients through Remitly
- FX markup not disclosed: Remitly states it may earn on the exchange rate spread but does not publish the markup
- No published FIRA: Remitly does not state that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC for export documentation
Should you choose Airwallex or Remitly?
- Choose Airwallex if: you need registered Indian companies that want multi-currency collection accounts and also pay suppliers globally.
- Choose Remitly if: you need family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users.
Which other platforms should you consider besides Airwallex and Remitly?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,71,037 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,68,686 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,65,665 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,65,286 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- Airwallex Help: Eligible Countries and Territories, INDIA IN - AWX Legal Entity SINGAPORE (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Airwallex Help: Eligibility to open an account, unable to offer personal accounts to individuals (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Airwallex Singapore Fee Schedule, Customer Mark-Up / Margin (... INR ...) 0.60%; "The customer mark-up / margin will be included as the FX Exchange Rate"; Global Account Receiving Funds Fee 0% for other currencies; Local Payout Fee $0; 24-Hour Quote Validity 0.30%; "exclusive of GST (where applicable)" (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Airwallex Singapore Pricing, Grow $79/month; Accelerate from $399/month; 3.60% + $0.50 international cards (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Airwallex: Send money to India (Singapore), Approximately 90% of transactions are processed within a few hours to one business day (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Airwallex Help: What is an FIRC and how do I get one?, "there may be a fee associated with issuing an FIRC. This fee is not set by Airwallex; it is determined by our banking partner" (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Airwallex Help: Which currencies can I get a Global Account in (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Airwallex Help: Documents required for companies in other countries, Ultimate Beneficial owner ... more than 25% of the issued share capital (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Airwallex Help: Limits for transfers and deposits (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- RBI: Certificates of Authorisation under the PSS Act (30 Sep 2026), Airwallex not listed (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly: Send Money to India from the US (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly USD to INR rates and fees, Fee $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more; promotional rate on first $6,000 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly User Agreement, Consumer use for personal, family or household purposes; FX spread disclosure; US residency and age 18; delivery promise; Remitly may limit transfer amounts per transaction or in aggregate; cash pickup cancelled if not collected within 60 days (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly Business, For US-based companies paying freelancers, contractors and vendors abroad (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Airwallex vs Remitly
Is Airwallex or Remitly cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $2,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $10,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, Airwallex or Remitly?
Airwallex states: Airwallex states about 90% of transfers to India are processed within a few hours to one business day. Remitly states: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed..
Do Airwallex and Remitly both provide a FIRA?
Airwallex: No automatic FIRA; FIRC can be requested from support and is issued by Airwallex's banking partner, which may charge a fee that support will quote. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly does not state on its pages that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC to Indian recipients..
Are Airwallex and Remitly authorised by RBI?
Airwallex: Not confirmed. Airwallex is not on the RBI list of payment system authorisations dated 30 Sep 2026, and its pages make no PA-CB claim. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed..
Can Indian freelancers use both Airwallex and Remitly?
Airwallex, individuals: No. Airwallex states it is unable to offer personal accounts to individuals; applicants must be officially registered, active businesses Remitly, individuals: Indian residents can receive personal transfers sent by family or friends abroad. Receiving payments for freelance or export services is outside the consumer service's stated personal, family or household purpose.
Should I switch from Airwallex to Remitly?
Switch only if Remitly pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the Airwallex account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.