Cashfree Payments vs Karbon Business (Karbon FX) (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Cashfree Payments is best for registered Indian businesses that want card checkout and foreign bank transfer collection in one gateway. The table compares both by use case using published information.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Need: registered Indian businesses that want card checkout and foreign bank transfer collection in one gateway | Cashfree Payments | Cashfree Payments is built for this. |
| Need: Indian exporters and service businesses that want local USD account details and INR credits with FIRA | Karbon Business (Karbon FX) | Karbon Business (Karbon FX) is built for this. |
How do Cashfree Payments and Karbon Business (Karbon FX) compare at a glance?
| Attribute | Cashfree Payments | Karbon Business (Karbon FX) |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
| Fees | Collections on request (2023: 1% to 1.5%); cards 2.99% + GST | 1% + 18% GST on fee, indicative; varies by country, method |
| FX markup | Collections states no forex markup; card FX charge unpublished | Conflicting: claims 0% markup or lists 0.5%-1.0% |
| Settlement | Cards T+2; collections within 7 days, typical time not confirmed | Conflicting: same day before 3 PM IST, 4-8h or 24-48h |
| FIRA | e-FIRA in 1 day free; FAQ: e-FIRS T+1 on request | States e-FIRA per transaction, 1-2 business days; cost unstated |
| Currencies | Collections: 17 currencies (charges page says 30+); cards 140+ currencies | States all major currencies except RBI-restricted, including USD, EUR, GBP |
| RBI status | RBI authorised PA and PA-CB inward and outward | Not confirmed; states it works only with PACB-licensed players |
| Indian individuals | Registered businesses only; unregistered individuals not confirmed | Freelancers per site; unregistered individuals not confirmed |
| Indian businesses | Yes, registered businesses; review 24 to 48 hours | Yes, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs and companies |
| Limits | Global Collections is for sales of goods or services with an invoice value of up to USD 10,000 per transaction, with no daily or monthly limit on the number of transactions (product page, FAQs). | Per-transaction and annual limits are set at account setup based on KYC, bank partner policy and RBI rules, and can be raised on request. No figures are published |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Cashfree Payments vs Karbon Business (Karbon FX)?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cashfree Payments, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Cashfree Payments, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Cashfree Payments, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Karbon Business (Karbon FX), $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
| Karbon Business (Karbon FX), $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
| Karbon Business (Karbon FX), $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
What is Cashfree Payments and who is it for?
Cashfree Payments is an Indian payment gateway run by Cashfree Payments India Private Limited. For money from abroad it offers an International Payment Gateway for foreign cards and PayPal, and Global Collections, which gives local and SWIFT account details abroad and settles the funds in INR to an Indian bank account. Both are aimed at registered Indian businesses rather than unregistered individuals.
- Regulated by: RBI authorised Payment Aggregator, including PA-CB for inward and outward transactions (RBI certificates of authorisation list dated 30 Sep 2026)
- Used by: Yes. Registered Indian businesses can apply; Cashfree reviews documents, which it says typically takes 24 to 48 hours for Global Collections.
- Best for: Registered Indian businesses that want card checkout and foreign bank transfer collection in one gateway
What is Karbon Business (Karbon FX) and who is it for?
Karbon Business is a Bengaluru fintech whose Karbon FX product lets Indian businesses and freelancers collect payments from overseas clients. The Karbon Forex terms name Interropac Private Limited as the operator of the platform at karbonfx.com. They also say inward collections are processed under a third-party partner's connected-user terms. Users get account details for receiving foreign payments, and the funds are converted and paid out in INR to their Indian bank account with an e-FIRA.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. States it works 'only with PACB-licensed players and regulated banks'. No RBI listing for Karbon or its operating company was checked or found
- Used by: Yes. Sole proprietors, partnerships, LLPs and companies, with documents based on business type
- Best for: Indian exporters and service businesses that want local USD account details and INR credits with FIRA
How do Cashfree Payments and Karbon Business (Karbon FX) fees and FX markup compare?
What does Cashfree Payments charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: US ACH to local account details (Global Collections) | Not confirmed (request price; a 1 August 2023 Cashfree blog gave 1% to 1.5% by volume for USD, CAD, EUR, AUD and GBP local rails) | Pricing via Contact Sales | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Receiving: SEPA (EUR), FPS (GBP) and EFT (CAD) to local account details (Global Collections) | Not confirmed (request price; a 1 August 2023 Cashfree blog gave 1% to 1.5% by volume for USD, CAD, EUR, AUD and GBP local rails) | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Receiving: SWIFT wire to Global Collections account | Not confirmed | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Receiving: International card payment through the International Payment Gateway | 2.99% for Visa and Mastercard, 2.95% for American Express, plus applicable GST | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Receiving: PayPal through Cashfree | Not confirmed. The pricing FAQ says PayPal transactions are charged at standard payment gateway rates, while the charges page says only standard PayPal pricing applies and Cashfree adds no gateway charge | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Currency conversion to INR | Global Collections product page states 'No forex markup' (reference rate not named); for international cards Cashfree applies a foreign exchange conversion charge it does not publish | When foreign currency is converted | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Cashfree converts foreign currency receipts to INR and settles them to the merchant's verified Indian bank account. The Global Collections product page says payments must be settled in INR to the exporter's bank account and states 'No forex markup' and no subscription fees. International card payments settle within T+2 days according to the IPG overview; the Global Collections settlement timeline and fee are not published. | When INR is sent to your account | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Setup fee | None, as stated in the IPG docs and the pricing FAQ | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Foreign exchange conversion charge | Applied on transactions settled in a currency other than INR, per the pricing FAQ; rate not published | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| On-demand settlement | A small fee, amount not published | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| e-FIRS | Free (Global Collections product page: 'at no additional cost') | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Subscription fee (Global Collections) | None, per the product page | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| GST on fees | Cashfree's pricing FAQ says international card rates are charged in addition to any applicable GST, and monthly invoices show TDR plus GST as applicable; its festive offer terms state GST is charged at 18% (or the prevailing rate). A Cashfree blog on GST says payment gateways and forex providers may charge 18% GST on their service fees, not on the payment received. No page states GST treatment of a Global Collections fee specifically. | Applies to the platform's fee | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
What does Karbon Business (Karbon FX) charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: US account details (Fedwire) | Not confirmed (homepage calculator shows 1% + 18% GST on the fee, indicative; FAQ says fees vary by sending country, currency and method) | Typically credited within 0 to 1 business days | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
| Receiving: US account details (ACH) | Not confirmed (homepage calculator shows 1% + 18% GST on the fee, indicative; FAQ says fees vary by sending country, currency and method) | Usually credited within 2 to 3 business days | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
| Receiving: SWIFT international wire | Not confirmed (homepage calculator shows 1% + 18% GST on the fee, indicative; FAQ says fees vary by sending country, currency and method) | Generally 1 to 3 business days; intermediary bank charges may be deducted | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
| Receiving: SEPA (EUR) | Not confirmed (homepage calculator shows 1% + 18% GST on the fee, indicative; FAQ says fees vary by sending country, currency and method) | Typically credited within 0 to 1 business days | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
| Receiving: Payment link or invoice | Not confirmed | Created from the Karbon FX dashboard | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
| Currency conversion to INR | Conflicting: freelancer and exporter pages and two Karbon blog posts claim 0% markup at mid-market rates; the Stripe, Payoneer, PayPal and Razorpay comparison pages list a 0.5%-1.0% forex markup; the calculator uses a third-party live rate with an 85.60 INR fallback | When foreign currency is converted | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds are converted and sent in INR to the user's registered Indian bank account, the same working day if requested before 3:00 PM IST. Karbon's homepage calculator shows an indicative 1% fee plus 18% GST on that fee; its FAQ says fees vary by sending country, currency and payment method, and intermediary bank charges may also be deducted | When INR is sent to your account | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
| Intermediary bank charges | May be deducted by correspondent banks; outside Karbon's control | – | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
| GST | 18% on Karbon's fee, per the homepage calculator | – | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
| Account opening or annual fee | Conflicting. Karbon's PayPal vs Karbon case study says there are no setup, monthly or closure fees; the Karbon Forex terms mention fees collected during onboarding and refer to fees set on the platform or in a customer agreement, without amounts | – | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
| GST on fees | The homepage calculator applies GST at 18% on Karbon's 1% fee, not on the full payment. The help centre says taxes apply as per government rules and that GST-compliant invoices for Karbon's charges are available on request. Karbon's blog posts also state that GST at 18% applies only to Karbon's 1% fee, not to the invoice amount (PayPal vs Karbon case study). | Applies to the platform's fee | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
How do Cashfree Payments and Karbon Business (Karbon FX) compare on settlement speed?
- Cashfree Payments: International card payments: T+2 days to the Indian bank account, as stated in the IPG docs. Global Collections: the product page says receipts are swept into a NOSTRO collection account, no funds may be retained in the collection accounts, and funds are credited to the exporter's Indian bank account immediately on confirmation from the importer and no later than seven days from the date of credit to the NOSTRO account; a typical settlement time is Not confirmed
- Karbon Business (Karbon FX): Help centre: typically the same working day by end of day if the INR transfer is submitted before the 3:00 PM IST forex cut-off, otherwise by end of day on the next working day. The homepage says 4-8 hours and the freelancer and exporter pages say 24-48 hours
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cashfree Payments | Cards T+2; collections within 7 days, typical time not confirmed | Settled in INR to Indian bank; cards T+2; collections fee unpublished | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Karbon Business (Karbon FX) | Conflicting: same day before 3 PM IST, 4-8h or 24-48h | INR to Indian bank, same day if before 3:00 PM IST | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
Do Cashfree Payments and Karbon Business (Karbon FX) provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cashfree Payments | e-FIRA in 1 day free; FAQ: e-FIRS T+1 on request | RBI authorised PA and PA-CB inward and outward | 30 Sept 2026 | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Karbon Business (Karbon FX) | States e-FIRA per transaction, 1-2 business days; cost unstated | Not confirmed; states it works only with PACB-licensed players | 30 Sept 2026 | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do Cashfree Payments and Karbon Business (Karbon FX) support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cashfree Payments | Collections: 17 currencies (charges page says 30+); cards 140+ currencies | US ACH to local account details (Global Collections); SEPA (EUR), FPS (GBP) and EFT (CAD) to local account details (Global Collections); SWIFT wire to Global Collections account; International card payment through the International Payment Gateway; PayPal through Cashfree | Registered businesses only; unregistered individuals not confirmed | Yes, registered businesses; review 24 to 48 hours | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Karbon Business (Karbon FX) | States all major currencies except RBI-restricted, including USD, EUR, GBP | US account details (Fedwire); US account details (ACH); SWIFT international wire; SEPA (EUR); Payment link or invoice | Freelancers per site; unregistered individuals not confirmed | Yes, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs and companies | Exporters and service businesses wanting USD account details and FIRA |
What are the strengths and limitations of Cashfree Payments and Karbon Business (Karbon FX)?
Cashfree Payments
- Regulatory status: listed by the RBI as an authorised PA-CB for inward and outward transactions
- Published card rate: international card pricing of 2.99% (Visa, Mastercard) is stated in the help centre
- Collection rails: local account details in the US, Europe, UK and Canada plus SWIFT
- One account: domestic and international collections are managed from the same Cashfree dashboard
- Pricing: current Global Collections fees are not published (request price), and the card FX conversion charge is not published
- Eligibility: docs say you must be a registered business in India to accept international payments
- Invoice cap: Global Collections is described for invoices of up to USD 10,000
- Paperwork: the FAQs say e-FIRS is requested through a support form or the account manager, while the product page describes it as auto-generated
Karbon Business (Karbon FX)
- Settlement timing: Publishes a 3:00 PM IST forex cut-off, with INR typically credited the same working day before it
- Documentation: States it issues e-FIRA automatically and can map shipping bills for exporters
- Receiving rails: Lists Fedwire, ACH, SWIFT and SEPA credit times in its help centre
- Fee visibility: a calculator on the homepage shows a 1% fee and 18% GST on the fee for an entered USD amount, labelled indicative
- Pricing: the only public figures are an indicative calculator (1% + 18% GST on the fee) and a FAQ saying fees vary by country, currency and method
- Conflicting claims: Its pages state both 0% markup and a 0.5% to 1% forex markup, and settlement times of 4-8 hours, 24-48 hours and same day
- Regulation: Karbon relies on PA-CB licensed partners; its own RBI authorisation is not confirmed
- Limits: Per-transaction and annual limits are set during onboarding and are not published
Should you choose Cashfree Payments or Karbon Business (Karbon FX)?
- Choose Cashfree Payments if: you need registered Indian businesses that want card checkout and foreign bank transfer collection in one gateway.
- Choose Karbon Business (Karbon FX) if: you need Indian exporters and service businesses that want local USD account details and INR credits with FIRA.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users.
Which other platforms should you consider besides Cashfree Payments and Karbon Business (Karbon FX)?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,70,032 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,67,686 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,64,671 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,293 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- Cashfree Docs: Global Collections overview (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Docs: Collection Accounts (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Docs: Global Collections FAQs, invoice value up to USD 10,000; AD-1 partner issues eFIRS on T+1 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Docs: International Payment Gateway overview, T+2 settlement; no setup fees (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Docs: Pay in Native Currency (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Docs: Supported currencies (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Docs: PayPal for International Payments (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Help: Pricing FAQs, Accurate as of 10 August 2026: international cards Visa and Mastercard 2.99%, American Express 2.95%, in addition to any applicable GST; foreign exchange conversion charge on non-INR settlement (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Help: Account Activation (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Help: Settlements (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- RBI: Certificates of Authorisation under the PSS Act, 2007, Payment Aggregators, entry 10: Cashfree Payments India Private Limited, PA-CB- I & O (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree: Payment gateway charges, International Cards platform fee; Global Collections 'Request Price'; cross border payments only for businesses; GST at 18% (festive offer terms) (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Global Collections (international wire transfer), No subscription fees; No forex markup; e-FIRA within 1 day, auto-generated at no additional cost; invoice value up to USD 10,000; "no funds are allowed to be retained in such accounts"; credited "immediately on receipt of the confirmation from the importer and, in no case, later than seven days from the date of credit to the NOSTRO collection account" (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree blog: How to receive international business payments in India (1 August 2023), keeps the transaction costs within the range of 1% to 1.5% based on the volume of transactions (USD, CAD, EUR, AUD, GBP local rails) (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree blog: GST on international transactions (5 August 2026), payment gateways, and forex providers may charge 18% GST on their service fees (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Karbon Business homepage, Embeds forex calculator (iframe src v0-calculator-taupe.vercel.app); 'For higher volume transactions, please reach out to your assigned AM for customized rates'; PACB-licensed players note (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Karbon For Freelancers, Virtual USD account; FIRA issued by licensed banking partner; 0% markup claim; 24-48 hours (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Karbon For Exporters, USD, EUR, GBP; FIRA and shipping bill mapping; 0% markup claim; 24-48 hours; dedicated account manager (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Karbon Business vs Payoneer (Karbon page), Forex Markup 0.5%-1.0%; Transaction fee: 1%, 0% Forex markup (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Karbon Help Centre: Pricing & Fees, Settlement cut-off 3:00 PM IST; receiving rail timelines; currencies; KYC; limits; GST invoices (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- What are the charges for receiving an inward remittance?, Charges may include currency conversion fees based on live FX rates, transfer fees that vary by the sending country, currency, and payment method, applicable taxes, and intermediary bank charges (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Do you provide a FIRA for every transaction?, e-FIRA within 1-2 business days (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Karbon Forex Terms & Conditions, Operator Interropac Private Limited; User duly incorporated in India; clause 3 onboarding fees; clause 6 Fees; clause 7 Foreign Inward Remittance Services (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Karbon forex calculator (embedded on karboncard.com), Karbon's Fee(1%); GST(18%); Live Forex Rate 1 USD = 85.60 INR; The displayed amount is indicative and subject to change based on the rate booking date (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Karbon forex calculator script, Fee = 0.01 x INR amount; GST = 0.18 x fee; rate from api.exchangerate-api.com, default 85.6 if the fetch fails (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Karbon Business vs Stripe (Karbon page), Forex Markup 0.5%-1.0%; feature panel: Transaction fee: 1%, 0% Forex markup (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Karbon blog: Payoneer vs Wise vs Karbon, Karbon charges a flat 1% inward remittance fee and uses mid-market Xe.com rates with 0% FX markup. GST at 18% applies only to the 1% fee; e-FIRA within 24 hours; hold for up to 60 days (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Karbon blog: Case study, PayPal vs Karbon, 1% platform fee, GST of 18% only on that fee, effective 1.18% all in; zero FX markup; no setup, monthly, or closure fees; hold USD, EUR, GBP, or CAD for up to 60 days (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Karbon Business vs PayPal (Karbon page), Forex Markup 0.5%-1.0% (transparent, upfront); feature panel: Transaction fee: 1%, 0% Forex markup (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Karbon Business vs Razorpay (Karbon page), transparent forex markups as low as 0.5%; Forex Markup 0.5%-1.0%; feature panel: Transaction fee: 1%, 0% Forex markup (checked 7 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Cashfree Payments vs Karbon Business (Karbon FX)
Is Cashfree Payments or Karbon Business (Karbon FX) cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $2,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $10,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, Cashfree Payments or Karbon Business (Karbon FX)?
Cashfree Payments states: International card payments: T+2 days to the Indian bank account, as stated in the IPG docs. Karbon Business (Karbon FX) states: Help centre: typically the same working day by end of day if the INR transfer is submitted before the 3:00 PM IST forex cut-off, otherwise by end of day on the next working day.
Do Cashfree Payments and Karbon Business (Karbon FX) both provide a FIRA?
Cashfree Payments: Global Collections: product page says e-FIRA within 1 day, auto-generated at no additional cost; the FAQs say the AD-1 partner issues e-FIRS on T+1 on request through support or the account manager. Cost not stated. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Are Cashfree Payments and Karbon Business (Karbon FX) authorised by RBI?
Cashfree Payments: RBI authorised Payment Aggregator, including PA-CB for inward and outward transactions (RBI certificates of authorisation list dated 30 Sep 2026). Karbon Business (Karbon FX): Not confirmed. States it works 'only with PACB-licensed players and regulated banks'. No RBI listing for Karbon or its operating company was checked or found.
Can Indian freelancers use both Cashfree Payments and Karbon Business (Karbon FX)?
Cashfree Payments, individuals: Not confirmed for unregistered individuals. The Global Collections docs say you must be a registered business in India, Pay Native is for registered businesses with a website or app, and the charges page says Cashfree currently enables cross border payments only for businesses. Whether a freelancer registered as a sole proprietorship qualifies is not stated.
Should I switch from Cashfree Payments to Karbon Business (Karbon FX)?
Switch only if Karbon Business (Karbon FX) pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the Cashfree Payments account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first.