Cashfree Payments vs Remitly (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Cashfree Payments is best for registered Indian businesses that want card checkout and foreign bank transfer collection in one gateway. Remitly is best for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Need: registered Indian businesses that want card checkout and foreign bank transfer collection in one gateway | Cashfree Payments | Cashfree Payments is built for this. |
| Need: family and personal remittances sent from the US to India | Remitly | Remitly is built for this. |
How do Cashfree Payments and Remitly compare at a glance?
| Attribute | Cashfree Payments | Remitly |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Fees | Collections on request (2023: 1% to 1.5%); cards 2.99% + GST | Sender pays $3.99 below $1,000, $0 from $1,000; recipient charges not confirmed |
| FX markup | Collections states no forex markup; card FX charge unpublished | Not published; may earn from rate difference |
| Settlement | Cards T+2; collections within 7 days, typical time not confirmed | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed |
| FIRA | e-FIRA in 1 day free; FAQ: e-FIRS T+1 on request | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages |
| Currencies | Collections: 17 currencies (charges page says 30+); cards 140+ currencies | USD to INR for US to India corridor |
| RBI status | RBI authorised PA and PA-CB inward and outward | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised |
| Indian individuals | Registered businesses only; unregistered individuals not confirmed | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments |
| Indian businesses | Yes, registered businesses; review 24 to 48 hours | Not supported for receiving |
| Limits | Global Collections is for sales of goods or services with an invoice value of up to USD 10,000 per transaction, with no daily or monthly limit on the number of transactions (product page, FAQs). | Not confirmed. Remitly's user agreement says it may limit amounts per transaction or in aggregate but publishes no figure on pages reviewed; the promotional first-transfer rate applies to the first $6,000 sent. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Cashfree Payments vs Remitly?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cashfree Payments, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Cashfree Payments, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Cashfree Payments, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Remitly, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What is Cashfree Payments and who is it for?
Cashfree Payments is an Indian payment gateway run by Cashfree Payments India Private Limited. For money from abroad it offers an International Payment Gateway for foreign cards and PayPal, and Global Collections, which gives local and SWIFT account details abroad and settles the funds in INR to an Indian bank account. Both are aimed at registered Indian businesses rather than unregistered individuals.
- Regulated by: RBI authorised Payment Aggregator, including PA-CB for inward and outward transactions (RBI certificates of authorisation list dated 30 Sep 2026)
- Used by: Yes. Registered Indian businesses can apply; Cashfree reviews documents, which it says typically takes 24 to 48 hours for Global Collections.
- Best for: Registered Indian businesses that want card checkout and foreign bank transfer collection in one gateway
What is Remitly and who is it for?
Remitly is a US-based money transfer service that lets senders in countries such as the US send money to recipients abroad, including India. Indian residents receive Remitly transfers as INR into their bank account, through UPI or via cash pickup, with the sender initiating and paying for the transfer. Its consumer service is restricted to personal, family or household purposes, so it is not designed for Indian freelancers or exporters invoicing foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.
- Used by: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
- Best for: Family and personal remittances sent from the US to India
How do Cashfree Payments and Remitly fees and FX markup compare?
What does Cashfree Payments charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: US ACH to local account details (Global Collections) | Not confirmed (request price; a 1 August 2023 Cashfree blog gave 1% to 1.5% by volume for USD, CAD, EUR, AUD and GBP local rails) | Pricing via Contact Sales | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Receiving: SEPA (EUR), FPS (GBP) and EFT (CAD) to local account details (Global Collections) | Not confirmed (request price; a 1 August 2023 Cashfree blog gave 1% to 1.5% by volume for USD, CAD, EUR, AUD and GBP local rails) | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Receiving: SWIFT wire to Global Collections account | Not confirmed | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Receiving: International card payment through the International Payment Gateway | 2.99% for Visa and Mastercard, 2.95% for American Express, plus applicable GST | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Receiving: PayPal through Cashfree | Not confirmed. The pricing FAQ says PayPal transactions are charged at standard payment gateway rates, while the charges page says only standard PayPal pricing applies and Cashfree adds no gateway charge | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Currency conversion to INR | Global Collections product page states 'No forex markup' (reference rate not named); for international cards Cashfree applies a foreign exchange conversion charge it does not publish | When foreign currency is converted | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Cashfree converts foreign currency receipts to INR and settles them to the merchant's verified Indian bank account. The Global Collections product page says payments must be settled in INR to the exporter's bank account and states 'No forex markup' and no subscription fees. International card payments settle within T+2 days according to the IPG overview; the Global Collections settlement timeline and fee are not published. | When INR is sent to your account | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Setup fee | None, as stated in the IPG docs and the pricing FAQ | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Foreign exchange conversion charge | Applied on transactions settled in a currency other than INR, per the pricing FAQ; rate not published | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| On-demand settlement | A small fee, amount not published | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| e-FIRS | Free (Global Collections product page: 'at no additional cost') | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Subscription fee (Global Collections) | None, per the product page | – | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| GST on fees | Cashfree's pricing FAQ says international card rates are charged in addition to any applicable GST, and monthly invoices show TDR plus GST as applicable; its festive offer terms state GST is charged at 18% (or the prevailing rate). A Cashfree blog on GST says payment gateways and forex providers may charge 18% GST on their service fees, not on the payment received. No page states GST treatment of a Global Collections fee specifically. | Applies to the platform's fee | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
What does Remitly charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad) | Paid by sender: $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more (US to India) | Consumer, personal-purpose transfers only | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: UPI payout in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: Cash pickup in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | Cash pickup transactions expire after 60 days per the user agreement | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Currency conversion to INR | Markup not published; Remitly's user agreement states it may earn from the difference between the rate at which it buys currency and the rate given to the customer. | When foreign currency is converted | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds arrive in INR directly in the recipient's Indian bank account, UPI or cash pickup. The sender pays the transfer fee and the exchange rate includes a spread Remitly does not publish. Any recipient-side charges are Not confirmed. | When INR is sent to your account | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Transfer fee (US to India, paid by sender) | $3.99 below $1,000; $0 at $1,000 or more | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| First transfer for new customers | No fee, limited-time offer | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| FX conversion | Spread included in rate; markup not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Remitly does not publish GST treatment for Indian recipients; fees are charged to the foreign sender. | Applies to the platform's fee | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
How do Cashfree Payments and Remitly compare on settlement speed?
- Cashfree Payments: International card payments: T+2 days to the Indian bank account, as stated in the IPG docs. Global Collections: the product page says receipts are swept into a NOSTRO collection account, no funds may be retained in the collection accounts, and funds are credited to the exporter's Indian bank account immediately on confirmation from the importer and no later than seven days from the date of credit to the NOSTRO account; a typical settlement time is Not confirmed
- Remitly: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cashfree Payments | Cards T+2; collections within 7 days, typical time not confirmed | Settled in INR to Indian bank; cards T+2; collections fee unpublished | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Remitly | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | INR to bank, UPI or cash pickup; spread not published | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Do Cashfree Payments and Remitly provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cashfree Payments | e-FIRA in 1 day free; FAQ: e-FIRS T+1 on request | RBI authorised PA and PA-CB inward and outward | 30 Sept 2026 | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Remitly | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | 30 Sept 2026 | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do Cashfree Payments and Remitly support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cashfree Payments | Collections: 17 currencies (charges page says 30+); cards 140+ currencies | US ACH to local account details (Global Collections); SEPA (EUR), FPS (GBP) and EFT (CAD) to local account details (Global Collections); SWIFT wire to Global Collections account; International card payment through the International Payment Gateway; PayPal through Cashfree | Registered businesses only; unregistered individuals not confirmed | Yes, registered businesses; review 24 to 48 hours | Registered Indian businesses wanting card checkout and bank transfer collection |
| Remitly | USD to INR for US to India corridor | Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad); UPI payout in India; Cash pickup in India | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments | Not supported for receiving | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What are the strengths and limitations of Cashfree Payments and Remitly?
Cashfree Payments
- Regulatory status: listed by the RBI as an authorised PA-CB for inward and outward transactions
- Published card rate: international card pricing of 2.99% (Visa, Mastercard) is stated in the help centre
- Collection rails: local account details in the US, Europe, UK and Canada plus SWIFT
- One account: domestic and international collections are managed from the same Cashfree dashboard
- Pricing: current Global Collections fees are not published (request price), and the card FX conversion charge is not published
- Eligibility: docs say you must be a registered business in India to accept international payments
- Invoice cap: Global Collections is described for invoices of up to USD 10,000
- Paperwork: the FAQs say e-FIRS is requested through a support form or the account manager, while the product page describes it as auto-generated
Remitly
- Recipient simplicity: The Indian recipient needs only a bank account or UPI ID; the sender handles the transfer
- Published sender fee: USD to INR fee of $3.99 below $1,000 and $0 at $1,000 or more is shown on Remitly's site
- Multiple payout options: Bank deposit, UPI and cash pickup in India
- Delivery promise: Fee refund if the transfer arrives after the promised date
- Personal use only: The consumer service is limited to personal, family or household purposes, not business or export receipts
- Sender-initiated: Indian users cannot get collection account details or invoice clients through Remitly
- FX markup not disclosed: Remitly states it may earn on the exchange rate spread but does not publish the markup
- No published FIRA: Remitly does not state that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC for export documentation
Should you choose Cashfree Payments or Remitly?
- Choose Cashfree Payments if: you need registered Indian businesses that want card checkout and foreign bank transfer collection in one gateway.
- Choose Remitly if: you need family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users.
Which other platforms should you consider besides Cashfree Payments and Remitly?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,70,032 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,67,686 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,64,671 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,293 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- Cashfree Docs: Global Collections overview (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Docs: Collection Accounts (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Docs: Global Collections FAQs, invoice value up to USD 10,000; AD-1 partner issues eFIRS on T+1 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Docs: International Payment Gateway overview, T+2 settlement; no setup fees (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Docs: Pay in Native Currency (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Docs: Supported currencies (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Docs: PayPal for International Payments (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Help: Pricing FAQs, Accurate as of 10 August 2026: international cards Visa and Mastercard 2.99%, American Express 2.95%, in addition to any applicable GST; foreign exchange conversion charge on non-INR settlement (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Help: Account Activation (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Help: Settlements (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- RBI: Certificates of Authorisation under the PSS Act, 2007, Payment Aggregators, entry 10: Cashfree Payments India Private Limited, PA-CB- I & O (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree: Payment gateway charges, International Cards platform fee; Global Collections 'Request Price'; cross border payments only for businesses; GST at 18% (festive offer terms) (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree Global Collections (international wire transfer), No subscription fees; No forex markup; e-FIRA within 1 day, auto-generated at no additional cost; invoice value up to USD 10,000; "no funds are allowed to be retained in such accounts"; credited "immediately on receipt of the confirmation from the importer and, in no case, later than seven days from the date of credit to the NOSTRO collection account" (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree blog: How to receive international business payments in India (1 August 2023), keeps the transaction costs within the range of 1% to 1.5% based on the volume of transactions (USD, CAD, EUR, AUD, GBP local rails) (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Cashfree blog: GST on international transactions (5 August 2026), payment gateways, and forex providers may charge 18% GST on their service fees (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Remitly: Send Money to India from the US (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly USD to INR rates and fees, Fee $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more; promotional rate on first $6,000 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly User Agreement, Consumer use for personal, family or household purposes; FX spread disclosure; US residency and age 18; delivery promise; Remitly may limit transfer amounts per transaction or in aggregate; cash pickup cancelled if not collected within 60 days (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly Business, For US-based companies paying freelancers, contractors and vendors abroad (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Cashfree Payments vs Remitly
Is Cashfree Payments or Remitly cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $2,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $10,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, Cashfree Payments or Remitly?
Cashfree Payments states: International card payments: T+2 days to the Indian bank account, as stated in the IPG docs. Remitly states: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed..
Do Cashfree Payments and Remitly both provide a FIRA?
Cashfree Payments: Global Collections: product page says e-FIRA within 1 day, auto-generated at no additional cost; the FAQs say the AD-1 partner issues e-FIRS on T+1 on request through support or the account manager. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly does not state on its pages that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC to Indian recipients..
Are Cashfree Payments and Remitly authorised by RBI?
Cashfree Payments: RBI authorised Payment Aggregator, including PA-CB for inward and outward transactions (RBI certificates of authorisation list dated 30 Sep 2026). Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Can Indian freelancers use both Cashfree Payments and Remitly?
Cashfree Payments, individuals: Not confirmed for unregistered individuals. The Global Collections docs say you must be a registered business in India, Pay Native is for registered businesses with a website or app, and the charges page says Cashfree currently enables cross border payments only for businesses. Whether a freelancer registered as a sole proprietorship qualifies is not stated.
Should I switch from Cashfree Payments to Remitly?
Switch only if Remitly pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the Cashfree Payments account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first.