Dodo Payments Review (2026): Fees, FIRA and Payout Experience for Indian Exporters
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
Dodo Payments is best for Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide. Cost: merchant of record: USD payout, your Indian bank sets the INR rate. FIRA: not confirmed (no FIRA, FIRC or e-FIRC mention found on official pages). RBI status: not confirmed.
| Criterion | Verdict | Basis | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | Merchant of record: USD payout, your Indian bank sets the INR rate | Landed INR on a $5,000 invoice at today's reference rate | Comparing total cost |
| Speed | Bi-monthly payouts by default; usually 1-2 business days to arrive | As stated by Dodo Payments | Cash-flow planning |
| Compliance documents | Not confirmed | FIRA or FIRC availability | GST refunds and tax records |
| RBI status | Not confirmed | Authorisation for cross-border payments | Regulatory comfort |
| Availability | Yes, registered entities after KYB | Who can open an account in India | Checking eligibility |
Is Dodo Payments good for Indian exporters and freelancers?
Dodo Payments is best for Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide. It is a weaker fit for freelancers and agencies paid by bank transfer for client services or invoices.
| Criterion | Verdict | Basis | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | Merchant of record: USD payout, your Indian bank sets the INR rate | Landed INR on a $5,000 invoice at today's reference rate | Comparing total cost |
| Speed | Bi-monthly payouts by default; usually 1-2 business days to arrive | As stated by Dodo Payments | Cash-flow planning |
| Compliance documents | Not confirmed | FIRA or FIRC availability | GST refunds and tax records |
| RBI status | Not confirmed | Authorisation for cross-border payments | Regulatory comfort |
| Availability | Yes, registered entities after KYB | Who can open an account in India | Checking eligibility |
What is Dodo Payments and who is it for?
Dodo Payments is a merchant of record platform: it acts as the legal seller of a merchant's digital product, collects payment from the end customer, and handles sales tax, VAT and GST, billing and invoicing; merchants get dispute tools but chargeback liability stays with the merchant. Indian creators and businesses list their product, Dodo sells it to customers abroad, and the net revenue after tax and fees is paid out from a USD, GBP or EUR balance to the merchant's linked bank account. It does not provide local account details for receiving client bank transfers or invoice payments for services.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed
- Used by: Yes. Registered Indian entities complete KYB (incorporation document, business PAN or GSTIN, director and beneficial owner IDs) and link a bank account in the company's legal name.
- Best for: Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide
How do you open a Dodo Payments account in India?
- Check eligibility: Yes. Registered Indian entities complete KYB (incorporation document, business PAN or GSTIN, director and beneficial owner IDs) and link a bank account in the company's legal name.
- Sign up on Dodo Payments's official website and choose the account type that matches your business.
- Complete KYC with the documents listed below for your entity type.
- Add your Indian bank account for INR payouts.
- Share the receiving details or payment link with your client, and check the purpose code and FIRA settings before the first payment.
| Document | Best for |
|---|---|
| PAN (mandatory for Indian individuals) | Indian account holders |
| Government-issued ID verified through Persona | Indian account holders |
| Product information form | Indian account holders |
| Bank verification (account name must match the verified identity or company legal name) | Indian account holders |
| For registered entities: certificate of incorporation or equivalent, business PAN or GSTIN, and director and beneficial owner IDs | Indian account holders |
What are Dodo Payments fees and FX markup?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: International card and wallet payments via Dodo checkout | 4% + 40c, plus 1.5% for cards and APMs outside the US | Calculated on the total amount including sales tax. Plus 0.5% for subscriptions or usage-based billing; plus 3% for BNPL or PayPal | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: US ACH direct debit (one-time payments) | 1.5%, capped at $15 per transaction | Replaces the card fee; the international and subscription surcharges do not apply | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: SEPA direct debit | 1.5%, capped at EUR 15 per transaction | Replaces the card fee; the international and subscription surcharges do not apply | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: Indian UPI, RuPay and Indian cards (INR) | 4% + 15c (+international payment fees) | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: Bank push transfer initiated by the customer | Priced as a standard transaction (4% + 40c plus applicable surcharges) | Dodo does not offer local receiving account details for client invoice payments | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Currency conversion to INR | No INR conversion by Dodo: payouts are sent in USD, GBP or EUR and the receiving Indian bank converts at its own rate; the pricing page says standard FX applies on non-USD settlements, and the 2-4% Adaptive Currency FX fee is charged to the buyer at checkout, not on the payout | When foreign currency is converted | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Net revenue (after tax, Dodo fees, refunds and disputes) is paid from the USD, GBP or EUR wallets to a bank account in the merchant's own name. Per the payouts documentation, each payout account is registered for a currency and transfer method: an international SWIFT wire is typically credited in USD with the USD SWIFT payout fee ($25 on the pricing page) deducted, a local bank transfer is credited in local currency with no per-wire fee, and a Payoneer receiving account is treated as a regular bank account. Available methods vary by country and the documentation does not say whether a local INR route is offered for Indian accounts. A $5 fee applies to payouts below $1,000. When a USD transfer reaches an INR account, the Indian bank converts at its own rate and it and any intermediary banks may deduct charges that do not appear on Dodo's payout invoice. | When INR is sent to your account | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Refund | $1 per refund | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dispute | $30 per dispute | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Visa RDR | $18 per dispute | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Ethoca alert | $27 per alert | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dispute deflection | $15 per deflection | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Payout under $1,000 | $5 | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| USD SWIFT payout (non-US businesses) | $25 | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Bring your own processor | 0.5% | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Abandoned cart recovery, subscription dunning and payment retries | 5% of the recovered amount | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Dodo states it calculates and applies GST on customer sales for Indian merchants based on the customer's location; whether GST is added to Dodo's own fees is not stated on official pages. | Applies to the platform's fee | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Dodo Payments?
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dodo Payments, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dodo Payments, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dodo Payments, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
How fast does Dodo Payments settle payments to India?
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dodo Payments | Bi-monthly payouts by default; usually 1-2 business days to arrive | USD, GBP or EUR to own bank; $25 SWIFT; bank converts | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
Does Dodo Payments provide FIRA and e-BRC, and is it RBI PA-CB authorised?
Not confirmed. Dodo's terms of use name the group companies as Dodo Payments Inc, Dodope Payments Limited and Sarvapanchhi Technologies Private Limited, and its MoR documentation describes Dodo as the legal seller. No RBI PA-CB authorisation was verified on rbi.org.in for this platform.
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dodo Payments | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | 30 Sept 2026 | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods does Dodo Payments support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dodo Payments | Customers pay in 80+ currencies; payouts in USD, GBP, EUR only | International card and wallet payments via Dodo checkout; US ACH direct debit (one-time payments); SEPA direct debit; Indian UPI, RuPay and Indian cards (INR); Bank push transfer initiated by the customer | Yes, with PAN and ID, digital products | Yes, registered entities after KYB | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
What are the pros and cons of Dodo Payments?
Pros
- Tax handling: Dodo states it calculates, collects and files sales tax, VAT and GST for sales it processes
- Individual sign-up: creators and sole proprietors can register as individuals with PAN-based KYC
- No fixed costs: no monthly fee on the standard plan, per the pricing page
- Payout frequency: bi-monthly by default, weekly on request for higher volumes, with a threshold adjustable down to $50
- Merchant of record: Dodo is the legal seller and handles customer-side sales tax, VAT and GST filing
- Hosted checkout with cards, wallets, UPI, RuPay, BNPL, ACH and SEPA direct debit
Cons
- Digital products only: the merchant acceptance policy targets SaaS, AI products, digital goods, templates, plugins and apps, not client services or invoices
- Per-sale fee: 4% + 40c plus 1.5% for international cards is charged on each sale, calculated on the total including sales tax
- No INR payouts: the INR payout wallet was discontinued, so payouts are sent in USD, GBP or EUR and converted by the receiving bank
- Payout fees: $5 on payouts under $1,000 and $25 on USD SWIFT payouts to non-US businesses (whether both apply to a small SWIFT payout is not stated), plus any receiving and intermediary bank charges
Is Dodo Payments worth it for Indian exporters and freelancers?
Dodo Payments is worth considering for Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide. It is a weaker fit for freelancers and agencies paid by bank transfer for client services or invoices.
What are the best alternatives to Dodo Payments?
Other platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice. See the full Dodo Payments alternatives comparison.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,69,893 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,67,549 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,64,534 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,156 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on Dodo Payments's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026. User ratings are not included because they were not independently checked.
- Dodo Payments Pricing, Domestic (USA) cards and wallets 4% + 40c; International +1.5%; BNPL +3%; PayPal +3%; Domestic (India - INR) 4% + 15c +international payment fees; ACH 1.5% capped at $15, SEPA 1.5% capped at EUR 15, replaces the card fee; bank push transfers priced as standard transactions; Payouts free, fee of $5 if payout <$1000, standard FX applicable on non-USD settlements; USD SWIFT payouts $25; Adaptive Currency 2-4% FX fee charged to customer (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Payouts Process, Bi-monthly payout dates 18th and 4th, weekly 11th/18th/25th/4th, monthly 11th; your bank converts the transfer on arrival at its own exchange rate; USD default threshold $100, lowest $50; INR native wallet discontinued; International SWIFT wire: USD SWIFT payout fee, deducted from the payout; Local bank transfer: none; payout fee is $5 for payouts below $1,000 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Balances, Three native wallets: USD, GBP, EUR (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: FAQ, Q31 GST for Indian merchants; Q35 PAN or GST; Q84 USD, GBP and EUR payout currencies, INR no longer a native payout wallet; Q99 bank and intermediary charges; Q100 payouts usually take 1-2 business days (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Account Verification (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Merchant of Record Introduction, Transaction fees are calculated on the total amount including tax, using standard pricing (example: 4% of $230, 1.5% international, $0.40 fixed) (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Merchant Acceptance Policy (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Accepted Countries and Territories (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Terms of Use, Preamble naming group companies (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Dodo Payments
Is Dodo Payments safe to use for receiving international payments in India?
Dodo Payments's regulatory position for Indian users: Not confirmed. Not confirmed. Dodo's terms of use name the group companies as Dodo Payments Inc, Dodope Payments Limited and Sarvapanchhi Technologies Private Limited, and its MoR documentation describes Dodo as the legal seller. No RBI PA-CB authorisation was verified on rbi.org.in for this platform.
Can Indian freelancers open a Dodo Payments account?
Individuals: Yes. Creators and sole proprietors can register as individuals; Indian individuals must provide PAN, government ID (via Persona) and a bank account in their own name, and must sell an eligible digital product. Businesses: Yes. Eligibility rules change, so confirm on Dodo Payments's own sign-up pages before you share account details with clients.
How much does Dodo Payments cost on a $5,000 invoice?
Dodo Payments does not publish enough pricing for Indian users to calculate the INR received on a $5,000 invoice. The fee table on this page lists every charge Dodo Payments does publish, so you can estimate the cost for your own invoices.
How long does Dodo Payments take to settle payments to India?
Dodo Payments states: Payout dates: bi-monthly by default (18th and 4th), weekly on request for higher volumes (11th, 18th, 25th and 4th) or monthly (11th of the following month), moved to the next business day after weekends and US Federal Reserve holidays; the FAQ says funds usually appear 1-2 business days after initiation.
Does Dodo Payments give a FIRA or FIRC?
No mention of FIRA, FIRC or e-FIRC was found on Dodo's pricing page, payout documentation or FAQ. Merchants needing an inward remittance certificate for export documentation would have to confirm with Dodo support or their receiving bank. Availability, cost and timing are Not confirmed.
What are the main drawbacks of Dodo Payments?
The main limitations found on Dodo Payments's own pages are: Digital products only: the merchant acceptance policy targets SaaS, AI products, digital goods, templates, plugins and apps, not client services or invoices; Per-sale fee: 4% + 40c plus 1.5% for international cards is charged on each sale, calculated on the total including sales tax.