Dodo Payments vs Revolut (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Dodo Payments is best for Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide. The table compares both by use case using published information.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Need: Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide | Dodo Payments | Dodo Payments is built for this. |
| Need: Indian residents spending in INR and abroad with a prepaid wallet and forex card | Revolut | Revolut is built for this. |
How do Dodo Payments and Revolut compare at a glance?
| Attribute | Dodo Payments | Revolut |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Fees | 4% + 40c + other fees; payout $5 below $1,000, $25 SWIFT | Not confirmed; India terms bar business use |
| FX markup | No INR conversion; Indian bank converts USD at its rate | Not confirmed for inward payments |
| Settlement | Bi-monthly payouts by default; usually 1-2 business days to arrive | Not confirmed |
| FIRA | Not confirmed | Not confirmed; not mentioned on India pages |
| Currencies | Customers pay in 80+ currencies; payouts in USD, GBP, EUR only | INR wallet; forex card in 30+ currencies, 130+ countries |
| RBI status | Not confirmed | States RBI PPI and AD Category-II licences; not PA-CB |
| Indian individuals | Yes, with PAN and ID, digital products | Personal account only; receiving payments not confirmed |
| Indian businesses | Yes, registered entities after KYB | Not confirmed; terms bar business use |
| Limits | Minimum payout threshold of $100 by default, adjustable to $50 or above, applied to the combined USD, GBP and EUR balance; up to three linked payout accounts; payouts start only after all verifications are approved. Transaction limits: Not confirmed. | Not confirmed. The personal terms say Revolut may set limits on UPI receipts and payments and that limits are shown in the app. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Dodo Payments vs Revolut?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dodo Payments, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dodo Payments, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dodo Payments, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Revolut, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Revolut, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Revolut, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
What is Dodo Payments and who is it for?
Dodo Payments is a merchant of record platform: it acts as the legal seller of a merchant's digital product, collects payment from the end customer, and handles sales tax, VAT and GST, billing and invoicing; merchants get dispute tools but chargeback liability stays with the merchant. Indian creators and businesses list their product, Dodo sells it to customers abroad, and the net revenue after tax and fees is paid out from a USD, GBP or EUR balance to the merchant's linked bank account. It does not provide local account details for receiving client bank transfers or invoice payments for services.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed
- Used by: Yes. Registered Indian entities complete KYB (incorporation document, business PAN or GSTIN, director and beneficial owner IDs) and link a bank account in the company's legal name.
- Best for: Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide
What is Revolut and who is it for?
Revolut operates in India through Revolut Payments India Private Limited, which issues a prepaid INR wallet, a domestic card and UPI, and Revolut Forex India Private Limited, which issues multi-currency forex cards. The India product is presented as a spending account for Indian residents aged 18 and over. The India site and terms do not describe a way for freelancers or exporters to receive payments from foreign clients.
- Regulated by: States it is RBI-authorised to issue PPIs (COA No. 224/2025) via Revolut Payments India, and that Revolut Forex India holds an AD Category-II licence (MUM-ADII-0963-2024); not a PA-CB
- Used by: Not confirmed. The India site lists no business account, and the personal terms bar business use.
- Best for: Indian residents spending in INR and abroad with a prepaid wallet and forex card
How do Dodo Payments and Revolut fees and FX markup compare?
What does Dodo Payments charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: International card and wallet payments via Dodo checkout | 4% + 40c, plus 1.5% for cards and APMs outside the US | Calculated on the total amount including sales tax. Plus 0.5% for subscriptions or usage-based billing; plus 3% for BNPL or PayPal | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: US ACH direct debit (one-time payments) | 1.5%, capped at $15 per transaction | Replaces the card fee; the international and subscription surcharges do not apply | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: SEPA direct debit | 1.5%, capped at EUR 15 per transaction | Replaces the card fee; the international and subscription surcharges do not apply | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: Indian UPI, RuPay and Indian cards (INR) | 4% + 15c (+international payment fees) | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: Bank push transfer initiated by the customer | Priced as a standard transaction (4% + 40c plus applicable surcharges) | Dodo does not offer local receiving account details for client invoice payments | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Currency conversion to INR | No INR conversion by Dodo: payouts are sent in USD, GBP or EUR and the receiving Indian bank converts at its own rate; the pricing page says standard FX applies on non-USD settlements, and the 2-4% Adaptive Currency FX fee is charged to the buyer at checkout, not on the payout | When foreign currency is converted | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Net revenue (after tax, Dodo fees, refunds and disputes) is paid from the USD, GBP or EUR wallets to a bank account in the merchant's own name. Per the payouts documentation, each payout account is registered for a currency and transfer method: an international SWIFT wire is typically credited in USD with the USD SWIFT payout fee ($25 on the pricing page) deducted, a local bank transfer is credited in local currency with no per-wire fee, and a Payoneer receiving account is treated as a regular bank account. Available methods vary by country and the documentation does not say whether a local INR route is offered for Indian accounts. A $5 fee applies to payouts below $1,000. When a USD transfer reaches an INR account, the Indian bank converts at its own rate and it and any intermediary banks may deduct charges that do not appear on Dodo's payout invoice. | When INR is sent to your account | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Refund | $1 per refund | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dispute | $30 per dispute | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Visa RDR | $18 per dispute | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Ethoca alert | $27 per alert | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dispute deflection | $15 per deflection | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Payout under $1,000 | $5 | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| USD SWIFT payout (non-US businesses) | $25 | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Bring your own processor | 0.5% | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Abandoned cart recovery, subscription dunning and payment retries | 5% of the recovered amount | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Dodo states it calculates and applies GST on customer sales for Indian merchants based on the customer's location; whether GST is added to Dodo's own fees is not stated on official pages. | Applies to the platform's fee | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
What does Revolut charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Top up INR wallet from own Indian bank or card via UPI, net banking or external card | UPI 0%; Netbanking 1.28% + GST; Debit Card 0.30% + GST; Credit Card 1.63% + GST (Standard plan fee schedule) | Domestic top-up only. Funds to a currency account must come from the same bank account given during verification. | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Receiving: Receive money from other Revolut or non-Revolut wallets and bank accounts in India | Not confirmed | Described in the personal terms for the INR PPI wallet; not an international receiving method. | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Receiving: International bank transfer (SWIFT or local foreign account details) from a foreign client | Not confirmed | Not offered on the Revolut India site or terms as of 2026-10-06. | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Currency conversion to INR | Not confirmed for inward payments; the India site does not publish an inward conversion rate | When foreign currency is converted | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Not confirmed. Revolut India does not describe converting foreign client payments to INR or paying them out to an Indian bank account. | When INR is sent to your account | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Plus plan | ₹499/year plus taxes | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Premium plan | ₹2,499/year plus taxes | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Metal plan | ₹9,999/year plus taxes | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Standard plan | Free | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| First Revolut Card (Standard plan) | ₹199, plus applicable GST | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| ATM withdrawal (Standard plan) | 2% of the withdrawal amount or ₹150, whichever is lower, plus GST as applicable | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| GST on fees | Paid plan prices are shown plus taxes, and the Standard fee schedule lists wallet top-up and card fees plus GST. GST on any receiving fee is not confirmed because no receiving fee is published. | Applies to the platform's fee | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
How do Dodo Payments and Revolut compare on settlement speed?
- Dodo Payments: Payout dates: bi-monthly by default (18th and 4th), weekly on request for higher volumes (11th, 18th, 25th and 4th) or monthly (11th of the following month), moved to the next business day after weekends and US Federal Reserve holidays; the FAQ says funds usually appear 1-2 business days after initiation, while the payouts documentation says arrival depends on the receiving bank and payout rail
- Revolut: Not confirmed. No inward international settlement to an Indian bank account is described on the India site
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dodo Payments | Bi-monthly payouts by default; usually 1-2 business days to arrive | USD, GBP or EUR to own bank; $25 SWIFT; bank converts | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Revolut | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
Do Dodo Payments and Revolut provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dodo Payments | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | 30 Sept 2026 | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Revolut | Not confirmed; not mentioned on India pages | States RBI PPI and AD Category-II licences; not PA-CB | 30 Sept 2026 | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do Dodo Payments and Revolut support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dodo Payments | Customers pay in 80+ currencies; payouts in USD, GBP, EUR only | International card and wallet payments via Dodo checkout; US ACH direct debit (one-time payments); SEPA direct debit; Indian UPI, RuPay and Indian cards (INR); Bank push transfer initiated by the customer | Yes, with PAN and ID, digital products | Yes, registered entities after KYB | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Revolut | INR wallet; forex card in 30+ currencies, 130+ countries | Top up INR wallet from own Indian bank or card via UPI, net banking or external card; Receive money from other Revolut or non-Revolut wallets and bank accounts in India; International bank transfer (SWIFT or local foreign account details) from a foreign client | Personal account only; receiving payments not confirmed | Not confirmed; terms bar business use | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
What are the strengths and limitations of Dodo Payments and Revolut?
Dodo Payments
- Tax handling: Dodo states it calculates, collects and files sales tax, VAT and GST for sales it processes
- Individual sign-up: creators and sole proprietors can register as individuals with PAN-based KYC
- No fixed costs: no monthly fee on the standard plan, per the pricing page
- Payout frequency: bi-monthly by default, weekly on request for higher volumes, with a threshold adjustable down to $50
- Digital products only: the merchant acceptance policy targets SaaS, AI products, digital goods, templates, plugins and apps, not client services or invoices
- Per-sale fee: 4% + 40c plus 1.5% for international cards is charged on each sale, calculated on the total including sales tax
- No INR payouts: the INR payout wallet was discontinued, so payouts are sent in USD, GBP or EUR and converted by the receiving bank
- Payout fees: $5 on payouts under $1,000 and $25 on USD SWIFT payouts to non-US businesses (whether both apply to a small SWIFT payout is not stated), plus any receiving and intermediary bank charges
Revolut
- Regulated Indian entities: the site states a PPI authorisation and an AD Category-II forex licence from the RBI
- Travel spending: a multi-currency card for spending abroad across 30+ currencies, as stated on the India site
- Domestic payments: UPI and a domestic card in one app
- Free entry plan: a Standard plan with no annual fee
- No inward remittance product: the India site and terms describe no way to receive a foreign client's payment and convert it to INR
- No business use: the personal terms state a Revolut Account cannot be used for business purposes
- INR only wallet: the terms state PPIs can only be used for payments in Indian Rupees
- No FIRA: no inward remittance documentation is mentioned
Should you choose Dodo Payments or Revolut?
- Choose Dodo Payments if: you need Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide.
- Choose Revolut if: you need Indian residents spending in INR and abroad with a prepaid wallet and forex card.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users.
Which other platforms should you consider besides Dodo Payments and Revolut?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,70,540 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,68,192 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,65,174 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,795 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- Dodo Payments Pricing, Domestic (USA) cards and wallets 4% + 40c; International +1.5%; BNPL +3%; PayPal +3%; Domestic (India - INR) 4% + 15c +international payment fees; ACH 1.5% capped at $15, SEPA 1.5% capped at EUR 15, replaces the card fee; bank push transfers priced as standard transactions; Payouts free, fee of $5 if payout <$1000, standard FX applicable on non-USD settlements; USD SWIFT payouts $25; Adaptive Currency 2-4% FX fee charged to customer (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Payouts Process, Bi-monthly payout dates 18th and 4th, weekly 11th/18th/25th/4th, monthly 11th; your bank converts the transfer on arrival at its own exchange rate; USD default threshold $100, lowest $50; INR native wallet discontinued; International SWIFT wire: USD SWIFT payout fee, deducted from the payout; Local bank transfer: none; payout fee is $5 for payouts below $1,000 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Balances, Three native wallets: USD, GBP, EUR (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: FAQ, Q31 GST for Indian merchants; Q35 PAN or GST; Q84 USD, GBP and EUR payout currencies, INR no longer a native payout wallet; Q99 bank and intermediary charges; Q100 payouts usually take 1-2 business days (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Account Verification (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Merchant of Record Introduction, Transaction fees are calculated on the total amount including tax, using standard pricing (example: 4% of $230, 1.5% international, $0.40 fixed) (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Merchant Acceptance Policy (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Accepted Countries and Territories (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Terms of Use, Preamble naming group companies (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India home page, Eligibility (Indian residents aged 18+); plan prices; footer legal entity and RBI PPI and AD-II statements (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India spending account (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India personal terms, PPIs only for payments in Indian Rupees; foreign currency services via affiliates; no business use; KYC under RBI guidelines; UPI receipt and payment limits shown in the app; top-up methods (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India products legal index (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India Multi-Currency Cards Terms and Conditions, Eligibility: Indian citizen, resident in India, Indian passport, PAN and Aadhaar; loading funds by bank transfer (NEFT, IMPS, RTGS) (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India Help Centre: Add money with a bank transfer (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India Personal Fees (Standard), Add money fees, card fee, ATM fee; no inward international payment fee listed (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India fees index (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Dodo Payments vs Revolut
Is Dodo Payments or Revolut cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $2,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $10,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, Dodo Payments or Revolut?
Dodo Payments states: Payout dates: bi-monthly by default (18th and 4th), weekly on request for higher volumes (11th, 18th, 25th and 4th) or monthly (11th of the following month), moved to the next business day after weekends and US Federal Reserve holidays; the FAQ says funds usually appear 1-2 business days after initiation. Revolut states: Not confirmed.
Do Dodo Payments and Revolut both provide a FIRA?
Dodo Payments: Not confirmed (no FIRA, FIRC or e-FIRC mention found on official pages). Revolut: Not confirmed. No FIRA or FIRC is mentioned on Revolut India pages. A FIRA or FIRC is used as proof of export for GST refunds and income tax records, so confirm how each platform issues it before you invoice.
Are Dodo Payments and Revolut authorised by RBI?
Dodo Payments: Not confirmed. Revolut: States it is RBI-authorised to issue PPIs (COA No. 224/2025) via Revolut Payments India, and that Revolut Forex India holds an AD Category-II licence (MUM-ADII-0963-2024); not a PA-CB. RBI publishes the list of authorised cross-border payment aggregators, so check the current list before relying on any platform's own statement about its status.
Can Indian freelancers use both Dodo Payments and Revolut?
Dodo Payments, individuals: Yes. Creators and sole proprietors can register as individuals; Indian individuals must provide PAN, government ID (via Persona) and a bank account in their own name, and must sell an eligible digital product. Revolut, individuals: Indian residents aged 18 and over can open a personal spending account.
Should I switch from Dodo Payments to Revolut?
Switch only if Revolut pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the Dodo Payments account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first.