Dodo Payments vs TransFi (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Dodo Payments is best for Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide. The table compares both by use case using published information.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Need: Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide | Dodo Payments | Dodo Payments is built for this. |
| Need: businesses integrating an API for cross-border collections, payouts and fiat-stablecoin conversion in its supported countries | TransFi | TransFi is built for this. |
How do Dodo Payments and TransFi compare at a glance?
| Attribute | Dodo Payments | TransFi |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Fees | 4% + 40c + other fees; payout $5 below $1,000, $25 SWIFT | Not published; India not on supported countries list |
| FX markup | No INR conversion; Indian bank converts USD at its rate | Not confirmed; no FX markup published |
| Settlement | Bi-monthly payouts by default; usually 1-2 business days to arrive | Not confirmed for India |
| FIRA | Not confirmed | Not confirmed; not mentioned on official pages |
| Currencies | Customers pay in 80+ currencies; payouts in USD, GBP, EUR only | States 40+ currencies, 100+ tokens; INR not confirmed |
| RBI status | Not confirmed | Not confirmed; no RBI authorisation documented |
| Indian individuals | Yes, with PAN and ID, digital products | Not confirmed; India not on supported list |
| Indian businesses | Yes, registered entities after KYB | Not confirmed; India not on supported list |
| Limits | Minimum payout threshold of $100 by default, adjustable to $50 or above, applied to the combined USD, GBP and EUR balance; up to three linked payout accounts; payouts start only after all verifications are approved. Transaction limits: Not confirmed. | Not confirmed; KYB levels are triggered by per-transaction, daily or monthly cumulative thresholds, which TransFi asks customers to obtain from their BD Manager or support |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Dodo Payments vs TransFi?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dodo Payments, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dodo Payments, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dodo Payments, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| TransFi, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| TransFi, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| TransFi, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
What is Dodo Payments and who is it for?
Dodo Payments is a merchant of record platform: it acts as the legal seller of a merchant's digital product, collects payment from the end customer, and handles sales tax, VAT and GST, billing and invoicing; merchants get dispute tools but chargeback liability stays with the merchant. Indian creators and businesses list their product, Dodo sells it to customers abroad, and the net revenue after tax and fees is paid out from a USD, GBP or EUR balance to the merchant's linked bank account. It does not provide local account details for receiving client bank transfers or invoice payments for services.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed
- Used by: Yes. Registered Indian entities complete KYB (incorporation document, business PAN or GSTIN, director and beneficial owner IDs) and link a bank account in the company's legal name.
- Best for: Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide
What is TransFi and who is it for?
TransFi is a cross-border payments infrastructure company offering collections, payouts, treasury and fiat-to-stablecoin conversion through an API and business products such as BizPay and Checkout. It routes payments over stablecoin rails and supports digital assets such as USDT and USDC. India does not appear on the Supported Countries list in its developer documentation (updated 4 August 2026), so it is not a confirmed route for Indian residents receiving money from abroad.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed; TransFi's policy page lists an affiliate, Trans-Fi India Private Limited, but documents no RBI authorisation
- Used by: Not confirmed for Indian businesses. India is not on the Supported Countries list in the developer documentation, although the homepage mentions India in a South Asia section.
- Best for: Businesses integrating an API for cross-border collections, payouts and fiat-stablecoin conversion in its supported countries
How do Dodo Payments and TransFi fees and FX markup compare?
What does Dodo Payments charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: International card and wallet payments via Dodo checkout | 4% + 40c, plus 1.5% for cards and APMs outside the US | Calculated on the total amount including sales tax. Plus 0.5% for subscriptions or usage-based billing; plus 3% for BNPL or PayPal | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: US ACH direct debit (one-time payments) | 1.5%, capped at $15 per transaction | Replaces the card fee; the international and subscription surcharges do not apply | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: SEPA direct debit | 1.5%, capped at EUR 15 per transaction | Replaces the card fee; the international and subscription surcharges do not apply | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: Indian UPI, RuPay and Indian cards (INR) | 4% + 15c (+international payment fees) | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: Bank push transfer initiated by the customer | Priced as a standard transaction (4% + 40c plus applicable surcharges) | Dodo does not offer local receiving account details for client invoice payments | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Currency conversion to INR | No INR conversion by Dodo: payouts are sent in USD, GBP or EUR and the receiving Indian bank converts at its own rate; the pricing page says standard FX applies on non-USD settlements, and the 2-4% Adaptive Currency FX fee is charged to the buyer at checkout, not on the payout | When foreign currency is converted | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Net revenue (after tax, Dodo fees, refunds and disputes) is paid from the USD, GBP or EUR wallets to a bank account in the merchant's own name. Per the payouts documentation, each payout account is registered for a currency and transfer method: an international SWIFT wire is typically credited in USD with the USD SWIFT payout fee ($25 on the pricing page) deducted, a local bank transfer is credited in local currency with no per-wire fee, and a Payoneer receiving account is treated as a regular bank account. Available methods vary by country and the documentation does not say whether a local INR route is offered for Indian accounts. A $5 fee applies to payouts below $1,000. When a USD transfer reaches an INR account, the Indian bank converts at its own rate and it and any intermediary banks may deduct charges that do not appear on Dodo's payout invoice. | When INR is sent to your account | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Refund | $1 per refund | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dispute | $30 per dispute | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Visa RDR | $18 per dispute | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Ethoca alert | $27 per alert | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dispute deflection | $15 per deflection | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Payout under $1,000 | $5 | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| USD SWIFT payout (non-US businesses) | $25 | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Bring your own processor | 0.5% | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Abandoned cart recovery, subscription dunning and payment retries | 5% of the recovered amount | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Dodo states it calculates and applies GST on customer sales for Indian merchants based on the customer's location; whether GST is added to Dodo's own fees is not stated on official pages. | Applies to the platform's fee | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
What does TransFi charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Virtual account (IBAN) for bank transfers, e.g. EUR | Not confirmed | Documented for supported countries; availability to Indian residents not confirmed | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Receiving: Local payment methods (bank transfer, cards, wallets) via payin order | Not confirmed | Funds land on the TransFi balance in the chosen currency, which can be a stablecoin | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Receiving: Crypto or stablecoin deposit address | Not confirmed | – | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Currency conversion to INR | Not confirmed; no FX markup is published | When foreign currency is converted | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Not confirmed. TransFi documents settlement from the TransFi balance to a bank account but publishes no INR payout route or cost for Indian recipients. | When INR is sent to your account | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Account and transaction fees | As agreed between TransFi and the customer; not published | – | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed; no GST treatment is stated | Applies to the platform's fee | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
How do Dodo Payments and TransFi compare on settlement speed?
- Dodo Payments: Payout dates: bi-monthly by default (18th and 4th), weekly on request for higher volumes (11th, 18th, 25th and 4th) or monthly (11th of the following month), moved to the next business day after weekends and US Federal Reserve holidays; the FAQ says funds usually appear 1-2 business days after initiation, while the payouts documentation says arrival depends on the receiving bank and payout rail
- TransFi: Not confirmed for India; TransFi states collected money lands on the TransFi balance, ready to pay out, swap or settle to a bank account, but no India settlement time is stated
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dodo Payments | Bi-monthly payouts by default; usually 1-2 business days to arrive | USD, GBP or EUR to own bank; $25 SWIFT; bank converts | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| TransFi | Not confirmed for India | Not confirmed; no INR payout route published | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
Do Dodo Payments and TransFi provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dodo Payments | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | 30 Sept 2026 | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| TransFi | Not confirmed; not mentioned on official pages | Not confirmed; no RBI authorisation documented | 30 Sept 2026 | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do Dodo Payments and TransFi support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dodo Payments | Customers pay in 80+ currencies; payouts in USD, GBP, EUR only | International card and wallet payments via Dodo checkout; US ACH direct debit (one-time payments); SEPA direct debit; Indian UPI, RuPay and Indian cards (INR); Bank push transfer initiated by the customer | Yes, with PAN and ID, digital products | Yes, registered entities after KYB | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| TransFi | States 40+ currencies, 100+ tokens; INR not confirmed | Virtual account (IBAN) for bank transfers, e.g. EUR; Local payment methods (bank transfer, cards, wallets) via payin order; Crypto or stablecoin deposit address | Not confirmed; India not on supported list | Not confirmed; India not on supported list | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
What are the strengths and limitations of Dodo Payments and TransFi?
Dodo Payments
- Tax handling: Dodo states it calculates, collects and files sales tax, VAT and GST for sales it processes
- Individual sign-up: creators and sole proprietors can register as individuals with PAN-based KYC
- No fixed costs: no monthly fee on the standard plan, per the pricing page
- Payout frequency: bi-monthly by default, weekly on request for higher volumes, with a threshold adjustable down to $50
- Digital products only: the merchant acceptance policy targets SaaS, AI products, digital goods, templates, plugins and apps, not client services or invoices
- Per-sale fee: 4% + 40c plus 1.5% for international cards is charged on each sale, calculated on the total including sales tax
- No INR payouts: the INR payout wallet was discontinued, so payouts are sent in USD, GBP or EUR and converted by the receiving bank
- Payout fees: $5 on payouts under $1,000 and $25 on USD SWIFT payouts to non-US businesses (whether both apply to a small SWIFT payout is not stated), plus any receiving and intermediary bank charges
TransFi
- Collection options: Supports bank transfers, cards, local wallets, virtual accounts and crypto deposits in supported countries
- Stablecoin rails: Converts between fiat and digital assets within one platform
- API-first: Developer documentation covers collections, payouts, settlements and webhooks
- Registration disclosed: TransFi Canada Inc. states a FINTRAC Money Service Business registration (M24519990)
- India coverage: India is not on the Supported Countries list in TransFi's developer documentation
- Pricing: No public fee schedule or FX markup; fees are agreed per customer
- India compliance: No FIRA/FIRC, purpose code handling for Indian exports or RBI authorisation is documented
- Digital assets: Flows that involve crypto or stablecoins may not suit Indian exporters who need standard inward remittance documentation
Should you choose Dodo Payments or TransFi?
- Choose Dodo Payments if: you need Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide.
- Choose TransFi if: you need businesses integrating an API for cross-border collections, payouts and fiat-stablecoin conversion in its supported countries.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users.
Which other platforms should you consider besides Dodo Payments and TransFi?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,70,605 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,68,257 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,65,238 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,859 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- Dodo Payments Pricing, Domestic (USA) cards and wallets 4% + 40c; International +1.5%; BNPL +3%; PayPal +3%; Domestic (India - INR) 4% + 15c +international payment fees; ACH 1.5% capped at $15, SEPA 1.5% capped at EUR 15, replaces the card fee; bank push transfers priced as standard transactions; Payouts free, fee of $5 if payout <$1000, standard FX applicable on non-USD settlements; USD SWIFT payouts $25; Adaptive Currency 2-4% FX fee charged to customer (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Payouts Process, Bi-monthly payout dates 18th and 4th, weekly 11th/18th/25th/4th, monthly 11th; your bank converts the transfer on arrival at its own exchange rate; USD default threshold $100, lowest $50; INR native wallet discontinued; International SWIFT wire: USD SWIFT payout fee, deducted from the payout; Local bank transfer: none; payout fee is $5 for payouts below $1,000 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Balances, Three native wallets: USD, GBP, EUR (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: FAQ, Q31 GST for Indian merchants; Q35 PAN or GST; Q84 USD, GBP and EUR payout currencies, INR no longer a native payout wallet; Q99 bank and intermediary charges; Q100 payouts usually take 1-2 business days (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Account Verification (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Merchant of Record Introduction, Transaction fees are calculated on the total amount including tax, using standard pricing (example: 4% of $230, 1.5% international, $0.40 fixed) (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Merchant Acceptance Policy (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Accepted Countries and Territories (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Terms of Use, Preamble naming group companies (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi homepage, 40+ currencies, 130+ digital assets; South Asia section (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Docs: Supported Countries, Country list, updated 2026-08-04; India not listed (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Docs: Collections, Four ways to collect; funds land on TransFi balance, ready to pay out, swap or settle to bank (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Docs: Collect via a Virtual Account (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Docs: Collect with a Local Payment Method (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Docs: KYB levels for Business User (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Compliance Policies, FINTRAC MSB M24519990; Annexure A group entities (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Business Services Agreement, Definition of Fees (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Payment Methods, 40+ currencies and 100+ tokens; 100+ countries (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Dodo Payments vs TransFi
Is Dodo Payments or TransFi cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $2,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $10,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, Dodo Payments or TransFi?
Dodo Payments states: Payout dates: bi-monthly by default (18th and 4th), weekly on request for higher volumes (11th, 18th, 25th and 4th) or monthly (11th of the following month), moved to the next business day after weekends and US Federal Reserve holidays; the FAQ says funds usually appear 1-2 business days after initiation.
Do Dodo Payments and TransFi both provide a FIRA?
Dodo Payments: Not confirmed (no FIRA, FIRC or e-FIRC mention found on official pages). TransFi: Not confirmed; no FIRA or FIRC is mentioned on TransFi's official pages. A FIRA or FIRC is used as proof of export for GST refunds and income tax records, so confirm how each platform issues it before you invoice.
Are Dodo Payments and TransFi authorised by RBI?
Dodo Payments: Not confirmed. TransFi: Not confirmed; TransFi's policy page lists an affiliate, Trans-Fi India Private Limited, but documents no RBI authorisation. RBI publishes the list of authorised cross-border payment aggregators, so check the current list before relying on any platform's own statement about its status.
Can Indian freelancers use both Dodo Payments and TransFi?
Dodo Payments, individuals: Yes. Creators and sole proprietors can register as individuals; Indian individuals must provide PAN, government ID (via Persona) and a bank account in their own name, and must sell an eligible digital product. TransFi, individuals: Not confirmed. TransFi's products are aimed at businesses, and India is not on its documented Supported Countries list.
Should I switch from Dodo Payments to TransFi?
Switch only if TransFi pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the Dodo Payments account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first.