Payoneer vs Dodo Payments (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Payoneer is best for freelancers and sellers paid by marketplaces or clients who already use Payoneer. Dodo Payments is best for Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Need: freelancers and sellers paid by marketplaces or clients who already use Payoneer | Payoneer | Payoneer is built for this. |
| Need: Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide | Dodo Payments | Dodo Payments is built for this. |
How do Payoneer and Dodo Payments compare at a glance?
| Attribute | Payoneer | Dodo Payments |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Fees | Conflicting receiving fee: free, fixed or 1%; 3% INR withdrawal | 4% + 40c + other fees; payout $5 below $1,000, $25 SWIFT |
| FX markup | Conflicting: 3% (fee notice) or 1-4% (pricing page) | No INR conversion; Indian bank converts USD at its rate |
| Settlement | Conflicting: auto-withdrawn within 24 or 48 hours | Bi-monthly payouts by default; usually 1-2 business days to arrive |
| FIRA | Free digital FIRA downloads; within 72 hours per guide | Not confirmed |
| Currencies | Local accounts in USD, GBP, EUR, AUD, CAD and more; 70 stated | Customers pay in 80+ currencies; payouts in USD, GBP, EUR only |
| RBI status | States in-principle PA-CB; not on RBI list (30 Sep 2026) | Not confirmed |
| Indian individuals | Freelancers described as users; conditions not confirmed | Yes, with PAN and ID, digital products |
| Indian businesses | Yes, exporters and businesses | Yes, registered entities after KYB |
| Limits | Per-transaction minimum and maximum withdrawal amounts and an overall monthly withdrawal limit apply and are shown in the account; amounts are not published. Customers based in India can have only one active bank account at a time | Minimum payout threshold of $100 by default, adjustable to $50 or above, applied to the combined USD, GBP and EUR balance; up to three linked payout accounts; payouts start only after all verifications are approved. Transaction limits: Not confirmed. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Payoneer vs Dodo Payments?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Payoneer, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Payoneer, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Dodo Payments, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dodo Payments, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dodo Payments, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
What is Payoneer and who is it for?
Payoneer is a cross-border payments company that gives users foreign receiving account details, card and ACH payment requests, and marketplace payouts. For customers based in India, it states that incoming payments are automatically withdrawn to a linked Indian bank account within 48 hours. Payoneer states that its Indian subsidiary, Payoneer India Pvt Ltd, holds RBI in-principle approval as a cross-border payment aggregator.
- Regulated by: States it received RBI in-principle PA-CB authorisation (press release, 22 Jan 2026); not listed on RBI's authorisation list dated 30 Sep 2026
- Used by: Yes, Indian exporters and businesses are described as users on the India site
- Best for: Freelancers and sellers paid by marketplaces or clients who already use Payoneer
What is Dodo Payments and who is it for?
Dodo Payments is a merchant of record platform: it acts as the legal seller of a merchant's digital product, collects payment from the end customer, and handles sales tax, VAT and GST, billing and invoicing; merchants get dispute tools but chargeback liability stays with the merchant. Indian creators and businesses list their product, Dodo sells it to customers abroad, and the net revenue after tax and fees is paid out from a USD, GBP or EUR balance to the merchant's linked bank account. It does not provide local account details for receiving client bank transfers or invoice payments for services.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed
- Used by: Yes. Registered Indian entities complete KYB (incorporation document, business PAN or GSTIN, director and beneficial owner IDs) and link a bank account in the company's legal name.
- Best for: Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide
How do Payoneer and Dodo Payments fees and FX markup compare?
What does Payoneer charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Receiving account (local bank details, e.g. USD) | Not confirmed: free for India customers per the India multi-currency account page; 'fixed fee OR 1%' per the India pricing page; 1%, minimum 1.00 USD, for a non-local currency per the global pricing page | Intermediary banks may take fees on USD wire transfers, outside Payoneer's control | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Receiving: Client pays by credit card via payment request | 2.90% + $0.49 per the India pricing page; the global pricing page lists up to 3.99% + 0.49 USD | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Receiving: Client pays by ACH bank debit (US only) | 1% | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Receiving: Client pays via PayPal (US only) | 3.99% + $0.49 | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Receiving: Payment from another Payoneer customer | Free | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Receiving: Marketplace and platform payouts | Set by each marketplace, platform or network | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Currency conversion to INR | India fee notice: 3.00% for withdrawals in a currency different from the bank account currency (effective 20 Oct 2025), included in the conversion rate; the India pricing page still shows 1-4% | When foreign currency is converted | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds are automatically withdrawn to the user's Indian bank account, within 48 hours per the India pricing page or 24 hours per the India multi-currency account page. Payoneer's India fee-update notice lists 3.00% for withdrawals in a currency different from the bank account currency, effective 20 October 2025, and 3% with a minimum of 15 USD for withdrawals in a currency that is not your local currency (for example USD to a USD account). Its withdrawal FAQ says the fee is included in the conversion rate where conversion is involved. | When INR is sent to your account | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Annual account fee | 29.95 USD if less than 6,000 USD (or equivalent) is received in any 12 consecutive months | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Withdrawal to a bank account in a different currency (e.g. USD balance to INR account) | 3.00% of the transaction amount (India fee notice, effective 20 Oct 2025), included in the conversion rate | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Withdrawal in a currency that is not your local currency (e.g. USD to a USD bank account) | 3% with a minimum of 15 USD or equivalent (India fee notice) | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Registration fee | May apply in certain countries; India Not confirmed | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| FIRA/FIRS/NOC | Free | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Custom pricing for higher volumes | The global pricing page offers tailored pricing for businesses processing over 50,000 USD a month; amounts not published | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Payoneer's India pricing page, global pricing page, India fee notice and withdrawal FAQ do not mention GST on Payoneer fees. | Applies to the platform's fee | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
What does Dodo Payments charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: International card and wallet payments via Dodo checkout | 4% + 40c, plus 1.5% for cards and APMs outside the US | Calculated on the total amount including sales tax. Plus 0.5% for subscriptions or usage-based billing; plus 3% for BNPL or PayPal | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: US ACH direct debit (one-time payments) | 1.5%, capped at $15 per transaction | Replaces the card fee; the international and subscription surcharges do not apply | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: SEPA direct debit | 1.5%, capped at EUR 15 per transaction | Replaces the card fee; the international and subscription surcharges do not apply | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: Indian UPI, RuPay and Indian cards (INR) | 4% + 15c (+international payment fees) | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: Bank push transfer initiated by the customer | Priced as a standard transaction (4% + 40c plus applicable surcharges) | Dodo does not offer local receiving account details for client invoice payments | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Currency conversion to INR | No INR conversion by Dodo: payouts are sent in USD, GBP or EUR and the receiving Indian bank converts at its own rate; the pricing page says standard FX applies on non-USD settlements, and the 2-4% Adaptive Currency FX fee is charged to the buyer at checkout, not on the payout | When foreign currency is converted | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Net revenue (after tax, Dodo fees, refunds and disputes) is paid from the USD, GBP or EUR wallets to a bank account in the merchant's own name. Per the payouts documentation, each payout account is registered for a currency and transfer method: an international SWIFT wire is typically credited in USD with the USD SWIFT payout fee ($25 on the pricing page) deducted, a local bank transfer is credited in local currency with no per-wire fee, and a Payoneer receiving account is treated as a regular bank account. Available methods vary by country and the documentation does not say whether a local INR route is offered for Indian accounts. A $5 fee applies to payouts below $1,000. When a USD transfer reaches an INR account, the Indian bank converts at its own rate and it and any intermediary banks may deduct charges that do not appear on Dodo's payout invoice. | When INR is sent to your account | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Refund | $1 per refund | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dispute | $30 per dispute | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Visa RDR | $18 per dispute | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Ethoca alert | $27 per alert | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dispute deflection | $15 per deflection | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Payout under $1,000 | $5 | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| USD SWIFT payout (non-US businesses) | $25 | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Bring your own processor | 0.5% | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Abandoned cart recovery, subscription dunning and payment retries | 5% of the recovered amount | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Dodo states it calculates and applies GST on customer sales for Indian merchants based on the customer's location; whether GST is added to Dodo's own fees is not stated on official pages. | Applies to the platform's fee | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
How do Payoneer and Dodo Payments compare on settlement speed?
- Payoneer: Payoneer says payments for India-based customers are automatically withdrawn to the Indian bank account within 48 hours (India pricing page) or within 24 hours (India multi-currency account page and India onboarding guide)
- Dodo Payments: Payout dates: bi-monthly by default (18th and 4th), weekly on request for higher volumes (11th, 18th, 25th and 4th) or monthly (11th of the following month), moved to the next business day after weekends and US Federal Reserve holidays; the FAQ says funds usually appear 1-2 business days after initiation, while the payouts documentation says arrival depends on the receiving bank and payout rail
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer | Conflicting: auto-withdrawn within 24 or 48 hours | Auto to Indian bank in 24 or 48 hours; 3% withdrawal fee | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Dodo Payments | Bi-monthly payouts by default; usually 1-2 business days to arrive | USD, GBP or EUR to own bank; $25 SWIFT; bank converts | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
Do Payoneer and Dodo Payments provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer | Free digital FIRA downloads; within 72 hours per guide | States in-principle PA-CB; not on RBI list (30 Sep 2026) | 30 Sept 2026 | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Dodo Payments | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | 30 Sept 2026 | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do Payoneer and Dodo Payments support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer | Local accounts in USD, GBP, EUR, AUD, CAD and more; 70 stated | Receiving account (local bank details, e.g. USD); Client pays by credit card via payment request; Client pays by ACH bank debit (US only); Client pays via PayPal (US only); Payment from another Payoneer customer; Marketplace and platform payouts | Freelancers described as users; conditions not confirmed | Yes, exporters and businesses | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Dodo Payments | Customers pay in 80+ currencies; payouts in USD, GBP, EUR only | International card and wallet payments via Dodo checkout; US ACH direct debit (one-time payments); SEPA direct debit; Indian UPI, RuPay and Indian cards (INR); Bank push transfer initiated by the customer | Yes, with PAN and ID, digital products | Yes, registered entities after KYB | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
What are the strengths and limitations of Payoneer and Dodo Payments?
Payoneer
- Marketplace reach: widely used for marketplace and platform payouts, with fees set by each marketplace
- Payoneer to Payoneer: receiving from another Payoneer customer's balance is free
- Documentation: FIRA/FIRS/NOCs available in the account at no additional cost
- Local-currency receiving: receiving in the account's local currency is listed as free, and the India account page says USD receiving is free for India customers
- Conflicting receiving fees: Payoneer's India and global pages give different USD receiving fees (free, 'fixed fee OR 1%', or 1% minimum 1 USD)
- Conversion cost: the India fee notice lists 3% for withdrawals into a bank account in a different currency, built into the rate
- Annual fee: 29.95 USD if less than 6,000 USD is received in 12 consecutive months
- Regulatory stage: in-principle PA-CB approval only, not yet on RBI's final authorisation list
Dodo Payments
- Tax handling: Dodo states it calculates, collects and files sales tax, VAT and GST for sales it processes
- Individual sign-up: creators and sole proprietors can register as individuals with PAN-based KYC
- No fixed costs: no monthly fee on the standard plan, per the pricing page
- Payout frequency: bi-monthly by default, weekly on request for higher volumes, with a threshold adjustable down to $50
- Digital products only: the merchant acceptance policy targets SaaS, AI products, digital goods, templates, plugins and apps, not client services or invoices
- Per-sale fee: 4% + 40c plus 1.5% for international cards is charged on each sale, calculated on the total including sales tax
- No INR payouts: the INR payout wallet was discontinued, so payouts are sent in USD, GBP or EUR and converted by the receiving bank
- Payout fees: $5 on payouts under $1,000 and $25 on USD SWIFT payouts to non-US businesses (whether both apply to a small SWIFT payout is not stated), plus any receiving and intermediary bank charges
Should you choose Payoneer or Dodo Payments?
- Choose Payoneer if: you need freelancers and sellers paid by marketplaces or clients who already use Payoneer.
- Choose Dodo Payments if: you need Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users.
Which other platforms should you consider besides Payoneer and Dodo Payments?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,70,703 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,68,354 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,65,335 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,956 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- Payoneer India home (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer India pricing, Receiving account in non-local currency: 'Fixed fee OR 1% fee'; credit card 2.90% + $0.49; withdrawn within 48 hours; currency conversion 1-4% (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer Digital FIRC / e-FIRA (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer press release: in-principle PA-CB authorisation in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- RBI: Certificates of Authorisation under the PSS Act, 2007 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer Pricing (global), Via a receiving account in a currency that is not your local currency: 1% (minimum fee of 1.00 USD or equivalent); last updated 1 January 2026; conversion rates based on wholesale market rates and include the conversion fee; Get a custom package: processing over 50K USD monthly (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer: We're updating the fees for some of our services (India selected), Withdrawals in a currency that's different from your bank account currency: 3.00% of the transaction amount; not your local currency: 3% with a minimum fee of 15 USD; effective October 20th, 2025 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer Withdraw to bank FAQ, if there is currency conversion involved, the fee is included in the conversion rate; India-based users can have one active bank account (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer India multi-currency account, Receiving payments in USD is free for customers from the following countries: Japan, India...; automatically withdrawn within 24 hours; local receiving accounts in US dollar, British pound, Euro, Australian dollar, Canadian dollar, Singapore dollar, Hong Kong dollar, UAE dirham, Chinese yuan and Japanese yen (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer: Onboarding guide for businesses in India, eligible payments are automatically withdrawn within 24 hours of receipt; Receive Digital FIRCs within 72 hours of an eligible Payoneer transaction (page modified 29 July 2026) (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Pricing, Domestic (USA) cards and wallets 4% + 40c; International +1.5%; BNPL +3%; PayPal +3%; Domestic (India - INR) 4% + 15c +international payment fees; ACH 1.5% capped at $15, SEPA 1.5% capped at EUR 15, replaces the card fee; bank push transfers priced as standard transactions; Payouts free, fee of $5 if payout <$1000, standard FX applicable on non-USD settlements; USD SWIFT payouts $25; Adaptive Currency 2-4% FX fee charged to customer (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Payouts Process, Bi-monthly payout dates 18th and 4th, weekly 11th/18th/25th/4th, monthly 11th; your bank converts the transfer on arrival at its own exchange rate; USD default threshold $100, lowest $50; INR native wallet discontinued; International SWIFT wire: USD SWIFT payout fee, deducted from the payout; Local bank transfer: none; payout fee is $5 for payouts below $1,000 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Balances, Three native wallets: USD, GBP, EUR (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: FAQ, Q31 GST for Indian merchants; Q35 PAN or GST; Q84 USD, GBP and EUR payout currencies, INR no longer a native payout wallet; Q99 bank and intermediary charges; Q100 payouts usually take 1-2 business days (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Account Verification (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Merchant of Record Introduction, Transaction fees are calculated on the total amount including tax, using standard pricing (example: 4% of $230, 1.5% international, $0.40 fixed) (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Merchant Acceptance Policy (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Accepted Countries and Territories (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Terms of Use, Preamble naming group companies (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Payoneer vs Dodo Payments
Is Payoneer or Dodo Payments cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $2,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $10,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, Payoneer or Dodo Payments?
Payoneer states: Payoneer says payments for India-based customers are automatically withdrawn to the Indian bank account within 48 hours (India pricing page) or within 24 hours (India multi-currency account page and India onboarding guide). Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Do Payoneer and Dodo Payments both provide a FIRA?
Payoneer: Free FIRA/FIRS/NOC downloads in the account under Reports & Statements; the India onboarding guide says Digital FIRCs arrive within 72 hours of an eligible transaction. Dodo Payments: Not confirmed (no FIRA, FIRC or e-FIRC mention found on official pages).
Are Payoneer and Dodo Payments authorised by RBI?
Payoneer: States it received RBI in-principle PA-CB authorisation (press release, 22 Jan 2026); not listed on RBI's authorisation list dated 30 Sep 2026. Dodo Payments: Not confirmed. RBI publishes the list of authorised cross-border payment aggregators, so check the current list before relying on any platform's own statement about its status.
Can Indian freelancers use both Payoneer and Dodo Payments?
Payoneer, individuals: The e-FIRA page describes freelancers and sole proprietors in India receiving foreign payments as users; specific onboarding conditions Not confirmed Dodo Payments, individuals: Yes. Creators and sole proprietors can register as individuals; Indian individuals must provide PAN, government ID (via Persona) and a bank account in their own name, and must sell an eligible digital product.
Should I switch from Payoneer to Dodo Payments?
Switch only if Dodo Payments pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the Payoneer account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first.