Payoneer vs Remitly (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Payoneer is best for freelancers and sellers paid by marketplaces or clients who already use Payoneer. Remitly is best for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Need: freelancers and sellers paid by marketplaces or clients who already use Payoneer | Payoneer | Payoneer is built for this. |
| Need: family and personal remittances sent from the US to India | Remitly | Remitly is built for this. |
How do Payoneer and Remitly compare at a glance?
| Attribute | Payoneer | Remitly |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Fees | Conflicting receiving fee: free, fixed or 1%; 3% INR withdrawal | Sender pays $3.99 below $1,000, $0 from $1,000; recipient charges not confirmed |
| FX markup | Conflicting: 3% (fee notice) or 1-4% (pricing page) | Not published; may earn from rate difference |
| Settlement | Conflicting: auto-withdrawn within 24 or 48 hours | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed |
| FIRA | Free digital FIRA downloads; within 72 hours per guide | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages |
| Currencies | Local accounts in USD, GBP, EUR, AUD, CAD and more; 70 stated | USD to INR for US to India corridor |
| RBI status | States in-principle PA-CB; not on RBI list (30 Sep 2026) | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised |
| Indian individuals | Freelancers described as users; conditions not confirmed | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments |
| Indian businesses | Yes, exporters and businesses | Not supported for receiving |
| Limits | Per-transaction minimum and maximum withdrawal amounts and an overall monthly withdrawal limit apply and are shown in the account; amounts are not published. Customers based in India can have only one active bank account at a time | Not confirmed. Remitly's user agreement says it may limit amounts per transaction or in aggregate but publishes no figure on pages reviewed; the promotional first-transfer rate applies to the first $6,000 sent. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Payoneer vs Remitly?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Payoneer, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Payoneer, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Remitly, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What is Payoneer and who is it for?
Payoneer is a cross-border payments company that gives users foreign receiving account details, card and ACH payment requests, and marketplace payouts. For customers based in India, it states that incoming payments are automatically withdrawn to a linked Indian bank account within 48 hours. Payoneer states that its Indian subsidiary, Payoneer India Pvt Ltd, holds RBI in-principle approval as a cross-border payment aggregator.
- Regulated by: States it received RBI in-principle PA-CB authorisation (press release, 22 Jan 2026); not listed on RBI's authorisation list dated 30 Sep 2026
- Used by: Yes, Indian exporters and businesses are described as users on the India site
- Best for: Freelancers and sellers paid by marketplaces or clients who already use Payoneer
What is Remitly and who is it for?
Remitly is a US-based money transfer service that lets senders in countries such as the US send money to recipients abroad, including India. Indian residents receive Remitly transfers as INR into their bank account, through UPI or via cash pickup, with the sender initiating and paying for the transfer. Its consumer service is restricted to personal, family or household purposes, so it is not designed for Indian freelancers or exporters invoicing foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.
- Used by: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
- Best for: Family and personal remittances sent from the US to India
How do Payoneer and Remitly fees and FX markup compare?
What does Payoneer charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Receiving account (local bank details, e.g. USD) | Not confirmed: free for India customers per the India multi-currency account page; 'fixed fee OR 1%' per the India pricing page; 1%, minimum 1.00 USD, for a non-local currency per the global pricing page | Intermediary banks may take fees on USD wire transfers, outside Payoneer's control | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Receiving: Client pays by credit card via payment request | 2.90% + $0.49 per the India pricing page; the global pricing page lists up to 3.99% + 0.49 USD | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Receiving: Client pays by ACH bank debit (US only) | 1% | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Receiving: Client pays via PayPal (US only) | 3.99% + $0.49 | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Receiving: Payment from another Payoneer customer | Free | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Receiving: Marketplace and platform payouts | Set by each marketplace, platform or network | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Currency conversion to INR | India fee notice: 3.00% for withdrawals in a currency different from the bank account currency (effective 20 Oct 2025), included in the conversion rate; the India pricing page still shows 1-4% | When foreign currency is converted | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds are automatically withdrawn to the user's Indian bank account, within 48 hours per the India pricing page or 24 hours per the India multi-currency account page. Payoneer's India fee-update notice lists 3.00% for withdrawals in a currency different from the bank account currency, effective 20 October 2025, and 3% with a minimum of 15 USD for withdrawals in a currency that is not your local currency (for example USD to a USD account). Its withdrawal FAQ says the fee is included in the conversion rate where conversion is involved. | When INR is sent to your account | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Annual account fee | 29.95 USD if less than 6,000 USD (or equivalent) is received in any 12 consecutive months | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Withdrawal to a bank account in a different currency (e.g. USD balance to INR account) | 3.00% of the transaction amount (India fee notice, effective 20 Oct 2025), included in the conversion rate | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Withdrawal in a currency that is not your local currency (e.g. USD to a USD bank account) | 3% with a minimum of 15 USD or equivalent (India fee notice) | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Registration fee | May apply in certain countries; India Not confirmed | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| FIRA/FIRS/NOC | Free | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Custom pricing for higher volumes | The global pricing page offers tailored pricing for businesses processing over 50,000 USD a month; amounts not published | – | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Payoneer's India pricing page, global pricing page, India fee notice and withdrawal FAQ do not mention GST on Payoneer fees. | Applies to the platform's fee | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
What does Remitly charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad) | Paid by sender: $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more (US to India) | Consumer, personal-purpose transfers only | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: UPI payout in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: Cash pickup in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | Cash pickup transactions expire after 60 days per the user agreement | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Currency conversion to INR | Markup not published; Remitly's user agreement states it may earn from the difference between the rate at which it buys currency and the rate given to the customer. | When foreign currency is converted | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds arrive in INR directly in the recipient's Indian bank account, UPI or cash pickup. The sender pays the transfer fee and the exchange rate includes a spread Remitly does not publish. Any recipient-side charges are Not confirmed. | When INR is sent to your account | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Transfer fee (US to India, paid by sender) | $3.99 below $1,000; $0 at $1,000 or more | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| First transfer for new customers | No fee, limited-time offer | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| FX conversion | Spread included in rate; markup not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Remitly does not publish GST treatment for Indian recipients; fees are charged to the foreign sender. | Applies to the platform's fee | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
How do Payoneer and Remitly compare on settlement speed?
- Payoneer: Payoneer says payments for India-based customers are automatically withdrawn to the Indian bank account within 48 hours (India pricing page) or within 24 hours (India multi-currency account page and India onboarding guide)
- Remitly: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer | Conflicting: auto-withdrawn within 24 or 48 hours | Auto to Indian bank in 24 or 48 hours; 3% withdrawal fee | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Remitly | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | INR to bank, UPI or cash pickup; spread not published | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Do Payoneer and Remitly provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer | Free digital FIRA downloads; within 72 hours per guide | States in-principle PA-CB; not on RBI list (30 Sep 2026) | 30 Sept 2026 | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Remitly | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | 30 Sept 2026 | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do Payoneer and Remitly support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Payoneer | Local accounts in USD, GBP, EUR, AUD, CAD and more; 70 stated | Receiving account (local bank details, e.g. USD); Client pays by credit card via payment request; Client pays by ACH bank debit (US only); Client pays via PayPal (US only); Payment from another Payoneer customer; Marketplace and platform payouts | Freelancers described as users; conditions not confirmed | Yes, exporters and businesses | Freelancers and sellers paid via marketplaces or Payoneer clients |
| Remitly | USD to INR for US to India corridor | Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad); UPI payout in India; Cash pickup in India | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments | Not supported for receiving | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What are the strengths and limitations of Payoneer and Remitly?
Payoneer
- Marketplace reach: widely used for marketplace and platform payouts, with fees set by each marketplace
- Payoneer to Payoneer: receiving from another Payoneer customer's balance is free
- Documentation: FIRA/FIRS/NOCs available in the account at no additional cost
- Local-currency receiving: receiving in the account's local currency is listed as free, and the India account page says USD receiving is free for India customers
- Conflicting receiving fees: Payoneer's India and global pages give different USD receiving fees (free, 'fixed fee OR 1%', or 1% minimum 1 USD)
- Conversion cost: the India fee notice lists 3% for withdrawals into a bank account in a different currency, built into the rate
- Annual fee: 29.95 USD if less than 6,000 USD is received in 12 consecutive months
- Regulatory stage: in-principle PA-CB approval only, not yet on RBI's final authorisation list
Remitly
- Recipient simplicity: The Indian recipient needs only a bank account or UPI ID; the sender handles the transfer
- Published sender fee: USD to INR fee of $3.99 below $1,000 and $0 at $1,000 or more is shown on Remitly's site
- Multiple payout options: Bank deposit, UPI and cash pickup in India
- Delivery promise: Fee refund if the transfer arrives after the promised date
- Personal use only: The consumer service is limited to personal, family or household purposes, not business or export receipts
- Sender-initiated: Indian users cannot get collection account details or invoice clients through Remitly
- FX markup not disclosed: Remitly states it may earn on the exchange rate spread but does not publish the markup
- No published FIRA: Remitly does not state that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC for export documentation
Should you choose Payoneer or Remitly?
- Choose Payoneer if: you need freelancers and sellers paid by marketplaces or clients who already use Payoneer.
- Choose Remitly if: you need family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users.
Which other platforms should you consider besides Payoneer and Remitly?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,69,991 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,67,646 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,64,631 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,253 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- Payoneer India home (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer India pricing, Receiving account in non-local currency: 'Fixed fee OR 1% fee'; credit card 2.90% + $0.49; withdrawn within 48 hours; currency conversion 1-4% (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer Digital FIRC / e-FIRA (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer press release: in-principle PA-CB authorisation in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- RBI: Certificates of Authorisation under the PSS Act, 2007 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer Pricing (global), Via a receiving account in a currency that is not your local currency: 1% (minimum fee of 1.00 USD or equivalent); last updated 1 January 2026; conversion rates based on wholesale market rates and include the conversion fee; Get a custom package: processing over 50K USD monthly (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer: We're updating the fees for some of our services (India selected), Withdrawals in a currency that's different from your bank account currency: 3.00% of the transaction amount; not your local currency: 3% with a minimum fee of 15 USD; effective October 20th, 2025 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer Withdraw to bank FAQ, if there is currency conversion involved, the fee is included in the conversion rate; India-based users can have one active bank account (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer India multi-currency account, Receiving payments in USD is free for customers from the following countries: Japan, India...; automatically withdrawn within 24 hours; local receiving accounts in US dollar, British pound, Euro, Australian dollar, Canadian dollar, Singapore dollar, Hong Kong dollar, UAE dirham, Chinese yuan and Japanese yen (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Payoneer: Onboarding guide for businesses in India, eligible payments are automatically withdrawn within 24 hours of receipt; Receive Digital FIRCs within 72 hours of an eligible Payoneer transaction (page modified 29 July 2026) (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Remitly: Send Money to India from the US (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly USD to INR rates and fees, Fee $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more; promotional rate on first $6,000 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly User Agreement, Consumer use for personal, family or household purposes; FX spread disclosure; US residency and age 18; delivery promise; Remitly may limit transfer amounts per transaction or in aggregate; cash pickup cancelled if not collected within 60 days (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly Business, For US-based companies paying freelancers, contractors and vendors abroad (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Payoneer vs Remitly
Is Payoneer or Remitly cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $2,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $10,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, Payoneer or Remitly?
Payoneer states: Payoneer says payments for India-based customers are automatically withdrawn to the Indian bank account within 48 hours (India pricing page) or within 24 hours (India multi-currency account page and India onboarding guide). Specific timings Not confirmed.. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Do Payoneer and Remitly both provide a FIRA?
Payoneer: Free FIRA/FIRS/NOC downloads in the account under Reports & Statements; the India onboarding guide says Digital FIRCs arrive within 72 hours of an eligible transaction. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly does not state on its pages that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC to Indian recipients..
Are Payoneer and Remitly authorised by RBI?
Payoneer: States it received RBI in-principle PA-CB authorisation (press release, 22 Jan 2026); not listed on RBI's authorisation list dated 30 Sep 2026. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed..
Can Indian freelancers use both Payoneer and Remitly?
Payoneer, individuals: The e-FIRA page describes freelancers and sole proprietors in India receiving foreign payments as users; specific onboarding conditions Not confirmed Remitly, individuals: Indian residents can receive personal transfers sent by family or friends abroad. Receiving payments for freelance or export services is outside the consumer service's stated personal, family or household purpose.
Should I switch from Payoneer to Remitly?
Switch only if Remitly pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the Payoneer account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.