PayPal vs Dodo Payments (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. PayPal is best for receiving card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas buyers who already use PayPal. Dodo Payments is best for Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. |
| Need: receiving card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas buyers who already use PayPal | PayPal | PayPal is built for this. |
| Need: Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide | Dodo Payments | Dodo Payments is built for this. |
At the mid-market rate
₹4,74,087
Highest payout: PayPal
₹4,35,842
- 1.PayPal₹4,35,842cost 8.07%
1 USD = 94.82 INR, ECB reference rate for 4 Nov 2026. Payout = amount minus fees, converted at the reference rate minus each platform's markup, minus 18% GST on fees where charged. Platforms without published pricing are left out.
How do PayPal and Dodo Payments compare at a glance?
| Attribute | PayPal | Dodo Payments |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Fees | 4.40% + USD 0.30 per international payment; fixed fee varies | 4% + 40c + other fees; payout $5 below $1,000, $25 SWIFT |
| FX markup | 3.0% above PayPal's base rate on conversion | No INR conversion; Indian bank converts USD at its rate |
| Settlement | Not confirmed | Bi-monthly payouts by default; usually 1-2 business days to arrive |
| FIRA | Free weekly FIRA; custom Rs 100 + 18% GST each | Not confirmed |
| Currencies | Receives USD, EUR, GBP, CAD, AUD, others; states 130+ currencies | Customers pay in 80+ currencies; payouts in USD, GBP, EUR only |
| RBI status | PA-CB in-principle authorisation granted; final not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Indian individuals | Yes, Indian residents 18+, PAN and video KYC | Yes, with PAN and ID, digital products |
| Indian businesses | Yes, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs and companies | Yes, registered entities after KYB |
| Limits | Export payments above USD 10,000 per transaction are a restricted activity under the PayPal India user agreement. Other limits not confirmed. | Minimum payout threshold of $100 by default, adjustable to $50 or above, applied to the combined USD, GBP and EUR balance; up to three linked payout accounts; payouts start only after all verifications are approved. Transaction limits: Not confirmed. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with PayPal vs Dodo Payments?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PayPal, $2,000 | ₹8,372 | ₹5,438 | ₹1,507 | ₹1,74,317 | 8.08% | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| PayPal, $5,000 | ₹20,888 | ₹13,596 | ₹3,760 | ₹4,35,842 | 8.07% | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| PayPal, $10,000 | ₹41,748 | ₹27,193 | ₹7,515 | ₹8,71,718 | 8.06% | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Dodo Payments, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dodo Payments, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dodo Payments, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
What is PayPal and who is it for?
PayPal is a global digital wallet and checkout provider. In India it operates through PayPal Payments Private Limited, which offers Export Payment Services that let India-resident individuals and businesses receive payments from buyers outside India for the export of goods and services. Received funds are converted and credited to the user's linked Indian bank account through an authorised dealer bank.
- Regulated by: PA-CB in-principle authorisation granted to PayPal Payments Private Limited (RBI application status list, as on 01.10.2026)
- Used by: Yes. Businesses organised in, operating in or resident in India can open a business account (sole proprietors, partnerships/LLPs, companies).
- Best for: Receiving card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas buyers who already use PayPal
What is Dodo Payments and who is it for?
Dodo Payments is a merchant of record platform: it acts as the legal seller of a merchant's digital product, collects payment from the end customer, and handles sales tax, VAT and GST, billing and invoicing; merchants get dispute tools but chargeback liability stays with the merchant. Indian creators and businesses list their product, Dodo sells it to customers abroad, and the net revenue after tax and fees is paid out from a USD, GBP or EUR balance to the merchant's linked bank account. It does not provide local account details for receiving client bank transfers or invoice payments for services.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed
- Used by: Yes. Registered Indian entities complete KYB (incorporation document, business PAN or GSTIN, director and beneficial owner IDs) and link a bank account in the company's legal name.
- Best for: Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide
How do PayPal and Dodo Payments fees and FX markup compare?
What does PayPal charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: PayPal payment (balance, card or linked method) from a buyer outside India | 4.40% + fixed fee by currency (USD 0.30) | Fixed fee examples: EUR 0.35, GBP 0.20, CAD 0.30, AUD 0.30 | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Receiving: Local bank account details (ACH, SEPA etc.) for Indian users | Not confirmed | No such option found on PayPal India's official pages | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Currency conversion to INR | 3.0% above PayPal's base exchange rate when converting payments received into another currency | When foreign currency is converted | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds are credited to the linked Indian bank account via the authorised dealer bank. Standard withdrawal to a bank account is free when no currency conversion is involved; conversion of received foreign-currency payments costs 3.0% above the base rate. A failed withdrawal due to incorrect bank details costs 250.00 (currency as shown on the fees page). Timing is not confirmed. | When INR is sent to your account | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Standard dispute fee | USD 8.00 (INR 580.00 for INR transactions) | – | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| High volume dispute fee | USD 16.00 (INR 1,160.00) | – | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Bank return on failed withdrawal | 250.00 (currency as shown on fees page) | – | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Refunds | No fee to refund, but the original receiving fees are not returned | – | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Custom FIRA | INR 100 + 18% GST per transaction (up to 20), or INR 2,000 + 18% GST for more than 20 transactions | – | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| GST on fees | PayPal's India user agreement states its fees are exclusive of taxes and that GST-registered merchants receive a PayPal tax invoice and can claim input tax credit via GSTR 2B. Custom FIRA charges carry 18% GST. | Applies to the platform's fee | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
What does Dodo Payments charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: International card and wallet payments via Dodo checkout | 4% + 40c, plus 1.5% for cards and APMs outside the US | Calculated on the total amount including sales tax. Plus 0.5% for subscriptions or usage-based billing; plus 3% for BNPL or PayPal | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: US ACH direct debit (one-time payments) | 1.5%, capped at $15 per transaction | Replaces the card fee; the international and subscription surcharges do not apply | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: SEPA direct debit | 1.5%, capped at EUR 15 per transaction | Replaces the card fee; the international and subscription surcharges do not apply | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: Indian UPI, RuPay and Indian cards (INR) | 4% + 15c (+international payment fees) | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: Bank push transfer initiated by the customer | Priced as a standard transaction (4% + 40c plus applicable surcharges) | Dodo does not offer local receiving account details for client invoice payments | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Currency conversion to INR | No INR conversion by Dodo: payouts are sent in USD, GBP or EUR and the receiving Indian bank converts at its own rate; the pricing page says standard FX applies on non-USD settlements, and the 2-4% Adaptive Currency FX fee is charged to the buyer at checkout, not on the payout | When foreign currency is converted | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Net revenue (after tax, Dodo fees, refunds and disputes) is paid from the USD, GBP or EUR wallets to a bank account in the merchant's own name. Per the payouts documentation, each payout account is registered for a currency and transfer method: an international SWIFT wire is typically credited in USD with the USD SWIFT payout fee ($25 on the pricing page) deducted, a local bank transfer is credited in local currency with no per-wire fee, and a Payoneer receiving account is treated as a regular bank account. Available methods vary by country and the documentation does not say whether a local INR route is offered for Indian accounts. A $5 fee applies to payouts below $1,000. When a USD transfer reaches an INR account, the Indian bank converts at its own rate and it and any intermediary banks may deduct charges that do not appear on Dodo's payout invoice. | When INR is sent to your account | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Refund | $1 per refund | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dispute | $30 per dispute | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Visa RDR | $18 per dispute | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Ethoca alert | $27 per alert | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dispute deflection | $15 per deflection | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Payout under $1,000 | $5 | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| USD SWIFT payout (non-US businesses) | $25 | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Bring your own processor | 0.5% | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Abandoned cart recovery, subscription dunning and payment retries | 5% of the recovered amount | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Dodo states it calculates and applies GST on customer sales for Indian merchants based on the customer's location; whether GST is added to Dodo's own fees is not stated on official pages. | Applies to the platform's fee | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
How do PayPal and Dodo Payments compare on settlement speed?
- PayPal: Not confirmed
- Dodo Payments: Payout dates: bi-monthly by default (18th and 4th), weekly on request for higher volumes (11th, 18th, 25th and 4th) or monthly (11th of the following month), moved to the next business day after weekends and US Federal Reserve holidays; the FAQ says funds usually appear 1-2 business days after initiation, while the payouts documentation says arrival depends on the receiving bank and payout rail
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| PayPal | Not confirmed | Free to Indian bank without conversion; 3.0% if converting; timing not confirmed | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Dodo Payments | Bi-monthly payouts by default; usually 1-2 business days to arrive | USD, GBP or EUR to own bank; $25 SWIFT; bank converts | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
Do PayPal and Dodo Payments provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PayPal | Free weekly FIRA; custom Rs 100 + 18% GST each | PA-CB in-principle authorisation granted; final not confirmed | 30 Sept 2026 | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Dodo Payments | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | 30 Sept 2026 | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do PayPal and Dodo Payments support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PayPal | Receives USD, EUR, GBP, CAD, AUD, others; states 130+ currencies | PayPal payment (balance, card or linked method) from a buyer outside India; Local bank account details (ACH, SEPA etc.) for Indian users | Yes, Indian residents 18+, PAN and video KYC | Yes, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs and companies | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Dodo Payments | Customers pay in 80+ currencies; payouts in USD, GBP, EUR only | International card and wallet payments via Dodo checkout; US ACH direct debit (one-time payments); SEPA direct debit; Indian UPI, RuPay and Indian cards (INR); Bank push transfer initiated by the customer | Yes, with PAN and ID, digital products | Yes, registered entities after KYB | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
What are the strengths and limitations of PayPal and Dodo Payments?
PayPal
- Buyer reach: PayPal states access to up to 400 million active accounts globally
- Free FIRA: Weekly Digital FIRA is free to download since Feb 2026
- Regulatory status: listed by RBI with in-principle PA-CB authorisation
- Card acceptance: the user agreement covers payments made through PayPal guest checkout and card chargebacks, so buyers need not hold a PayPal balance
- Cost: 4.40% + fixed fee plus a 3.0% conversion markup is high for large invoices
- Transaction cap: export payments above USD 10,000 per transaction are a restricted activity under the India user agreement
- Disputes: dispute fees of USD 8 (standard) or USD 16 (high volume) can apply, and fees are not returned on refunds
- Holds: PayPal may hold funds for up to 180 days in risk or policy cases
Dodo Payments
- Tax handling: Dodo states it calculates, collects and files sales tax, VAT and GST for sales it processes
- Individual sign-up: creators and sole proprietors can register as individuals with PAN-based KYC
- No fixed costs: no monthly fee on the standard plan, per the pricing page
- Payout frequency: bi-monthly by default, weekly on request for higher volumes, with a threshold adjustable down to $50
- Digital products only: the merchant acceptance policy targets SaaS, AI products, digital goods, templates, plugins and apps, not client services or invoices
- Per-sale fee: 4% + 40c plus 1.5% for international cards is charged on each sale, calculated on the total including sales tax
- No INR payouts: the INR payout wallet was discontinued, so payouts are sent in USD, GBP or EUR and converted by the receiving bank
- Payout fees: $5 on payouts under $1,000 and $25 on USD SWIFT payouts to non-US businesses (whether both apply to a small SWIFT payout is not stated), plus any receiving and intermediary bank charges
Should you choose PayPal or Dodo Payments?
- Choose PayPal if: you need receiving card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas buyers who already use PayPal.
- Choose Dodo Payments if: you need Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; PayPal does.
Which other platforms should you consider besides PayPal and Dodo Payments?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,70,842 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,68,492 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,65,472 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,65,093 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- PayPal India Merchant Fees, Receiving international transactions; Currency Conversions (3.0% converting balance and payments received; 4.00% all other cases); Withdrawals Out of PayPal; Dispute Fees; Other Fees (Last Updated 28 March 2024) (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- PayPal India User Agreement, About our main business (Export Payment Services); Opening an Account; Restricted Activities (USD 10,000); Holds (180 days); Dispute Fee (guest checkout); Taxes and Information Reporting (GST) (last updated 13 January 2025) (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- PayPal India Foreign Inward Remittance Advise (FIRA) (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- PayPal India Know Your Customer (KYC) (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- PayPal India Business (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- RBI: Status of Applications received under Payment and Settlement Systems Act, 2007 (as on 01.10.2026), Table D: Existing PAs-CB which can operate as Payment Aggregator- Cross Border (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Pricing, Domestic (USA) cards and wallets 4% + 40c; International +1.5%; BNPL +3%; PayPal +3%; Domestic (India - INR) 4% + 15c +international payment fees; ACH 1.5% capped at $15, SEPA 1.5% capped at EUR 15, replaces the card fee; bank push transfers priced as standard transactions; Payouts free, fee of $5 if payout <$1000, standard FX applicable on non-USD settlements; USD SWIFT payouts $25; Adaptive Currency 2-4% FX fee charged to customer (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Payouts Process, Bi-monthly payout dates 18th and 4th, weekly 11th/18th/25th/4th, monthly 11th; your bank converts the transfer on arrival at its own exchange rate; USD default threshold $100, lowest $50; INR native wallet discontinued; International SWIFT wire: USD SWIFT payout fee, deducted from the payout; Local bank transfer: none; payout fee is $5 for payouts below $1,000 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Balances, Three native wallets: USD, GBP, EUR (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: FAQ, Q31 GST for Indian merchants; Q35 PAN or GST; Q84 USD, GBP and EUR payout currencies, INR no longer a native payout wallet; Q99 bank and intermediary charges; Q100 payouts usually take 1-2 business days (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Account Verification (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Merchant of Record Introduction, Transaction fees are calculated on the total amount including tax, using standard pricing (example: 4% of $230, 1.5% international, $0.40 fixed) (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Merchant Acceptance Policy (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Accepted Countries and Territories (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Terms of Use, Preamble naming group companies (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about PayPal vs Dodo Payments
Is PayPal or Dodo Payments cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. At $2,000: Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. At $10,000: Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, PayPal or Dodo Payments?
PayPal states: Not confirmed. Actual timing also depends on the payment method your client uses, cut-off times and bank holidays, so allow extra time for the first payment on either platform. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Do PayPal and Dodo Payments both provide a FIRA?
PayPal: Weekly Digital FIRA free to download from the PayPal business account since Feb 2026; Custom FIRA via Citibank at INR 100 + 18% GST per transaction (up to 20 transactions) or INR 2,000 + 18% GST for more than 20 transactions. Dodo Payments: Not confirmed (no FIRA, FIRC or e-FIRC mention found on official pages).
Are PayPal and Dodo Payments authorised by RBI?
PayPal: PA-CB in-principle authorisation granted to PayPal Payments Private Limited (RBI application status list, as on 01.10.2026). Dodo Payments: Not confirmed. RBI publishes the list of authorised cross-border payment aggregators, so check the current list before relying on any platform's own statement about its status.
Can Indian freelancers use both PayPal and Dodo Payments?
PayPal, individuals: Yes. Individuals must be resident in India and at least 18; a personal account can receive payments for goods and services, though PayPal recommends a business account for those who primarily sell. KYC includes the original PAN card and video KYC. Dodo Payments, individuals: Yes. Eligibility can change, so confirm on each platform's sign-up pages.
Should I switch from PayPal to Dodo Payments?
Switch only if Dodo Payments pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the PayPal account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first.