PayPal vs Remitly (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Remitly does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. PayPal is best for receiving card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas buyers who already use PayPal. Remitly is best for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Remitly does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Remitly does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Remitly does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. |
| Need: receiving card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas buyers who already use PayPal | PayPal | PayPal is built for this. |
| Need: family and personal remittances sent from the US to India | Remitly | Remitly is built for this. |
At the mid-market rate
₹4,73,002
Highest payout: PayPal
₹4,34,845
- 1.PayPal₹4,34,845cost 8.07%
1 USD = 94.60 INR, ECB reference rate for 4 Nov 2026. Payout = amount minus fees, converted at the reference rate minus each platform's markup, minus 18% GST on fees where charged. Platforms without published pricing are left out.
How do PayPal and Remitly compare at a glance?
| Attribute | PayPal | Remitly |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Fees | 4.40% + USD 0.30 per international payment; fixed fee varies | Sender pays $3.99 below $1,000, $0 from $1,000; recipient charges not confirmed |
| FX markup | 3.0% above PayPal's base rate on conversion | Not published; may earn from rate difference |
| Settlement | Not confirmed | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed |
| FIRA | Free weekly FIRA; custom Rs 100 + 18% GST each | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages |
| Currencies | Receives USD, EUR, GBP, CAD, AUD, others; states 130+ currencies | USD to INR for US to India corridor |
| RBI status | PA-CB in-principle authorisation granted; final not confirmed | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised |
| Indian individuals | Yes, Indian residents 18+, PAN and video KYC | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments |
| Indian businesses | Yes, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs and companies | Not supported for receiving |
| Limits | Export payments above USD 10,000 per transaction are a restricted activity under the PayPal India user agreement. Other limits not confirmed. | Not confirmed. Remitly's user agreement says it may limit amounts per transaction or in aggregate but publishes no figure on pages reviewed; the promotional first-transfer rate applies to the first $6,000 sent. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with PayPal vs Remitly?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PayPal, $2,000 | ₹8,353 | ₹5,425 | ₹1,504 | ₹1,73,919 | 8.08% | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| PayPal, $5,000 | ₹20,840 | ₹13,565 | ₹3,751 | ₹4,34,845 | 8.07% | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| PayPal, $10,000 | ₹41,653 | ₹27,131 | ₹7,497 | ₹8,69,723 | 8.06% | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Remitly, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What is PayPal and who is it for?
PayPal is a global digital wallet and checkout provider. In India it operates through PayPal Payments Private Limited, which offers Export Payment Services that let India-resident individuals and businesses receive payments from buyers outside India for the export of goods and services. Received funds are converted and credited to the user's linked Indian bank account through an authorised dealer bank.
- Regulated by: PA-CB in-principle authorisation granted to PayPal Payments Private Limited (RBI application status list, as on 01.10.2026)
- Used by: Yes. Businesses organised in, operating in or resident in India can open a business account (sole proprietors, partnerships/LLPs, companies).
- Best for: Receiving card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas buyers who already use PayPal
What is Remitly and who is it for?
Remitly is a US-based money transfer service that lets senders in countries such as the US send money to recipients abroad, including India. Indian residents receive Remitly transfers as INR into their bank account, through UPI or via cash pickup, with the sender initiating and paying for the transfer. Its consumer service is restricted to personal, family or household purposes, so it is not designed for Indian freelancers or exporters invoicing foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.
- Used by: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
- Best for: Family and personal remittances sent from the US to India
How do PayPal and Remitly fees and FX markup compare?
What does PayPal charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: PayPal payment (balance, card or linked method) from a buyer outside India | 4.40% + fixed fee by currency (USD 0.30) | Fixed fee examples: EUR 0.35, GBP 0.20, CAD 0.30, AUD 0.30 | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Receiving: Local bank account details (ACH, SEPA etc.) for Indian users | Not confirmed | No such option found on PayPal India's official pages | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Currency conversion to INR | 3.0% above PayPal's base exchange rate when converting payments received into another currency | When foreign currency is converted | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds are credited to the linked Indian bank account via the authorised dealer bank. Standard withdrawal to a bank account is free when no currency conversion is involved; conversion of received foreign-currency payments costs 3.0% above the base rate. A failed withdrawal due to incorrect bank details costs 250.00 (currency as shown on the fees page). Timing is not confirmed. | When INR is sent to your account | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Standard dispute fee | USD 8.00 (INR 580.00 for INR transactions) | – | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| High volume dispute fee | USD 16.00 (INR 1,160.00) | – | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Bank return on failed withdrawal | 250.00 (currency as shown on fees page) | – | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Refunds | No fee to refund, but the original receiving fees are not returned | – | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Custom FIRA | INR 100 + 18% GST per transaction (up to 20), or INR 2,000 + 18% GST for more than 20 transactions | – | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| GST on fees | PayPal's India user agreement states its fees are exclusive of taxes and that GST-registered merchants receive a PayPal tax invoice and can claim input tax credit via GSTR 2B. Custom FIRA charges carry 18% GST. | Applies to the platform's fee | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
What does Remitly charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad) | Paid by sender: $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more (US to India) | Consumer, personal-purpose transfers only | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: UPI payout in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: Cash pickup in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | Cash pickup transactions expire after 60 days per the user agreement | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Currency conversion to INR | Markup not published; Remitly's user agreement states it may earn from the difference between the rate at which it buys currency and the rate given to the customer. | When foreign currency is converted | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds arrive in INR directly in the recipient's Indian bank account, UPI or cash pickup. The sender pays the transfer fee and the exchange rate includes a spread Remitly does not publish. Any recipient-side charges are Not confirmed. | When INR is sent to your account | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Transfer fee (US to India, paid by sender) | $3.99 below $1,000; $0 at $1,000 or more | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| First transfer for new customers | No fee, limited-time offer | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| FX conversion | Spread included in rate; markup not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Remitly does not publish GST treatment for Indian recipients; fees are charged to the foreign sender. | Applies to the platform's fee | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
How do PayPal and Remitly compare on settlement speed?
- PayPal: Not confirmed
- Remitly: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| PayPal | Not confirmed | Free to Indian bank without conversion; 3.0% if converting; timing not confirmed | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Remitly | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | INR to bank, UPI or cash pickup; spread not published | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Do PayPal and Remitly provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PayPal | Free weekly FIRA; custom Rs 100 + 18% GST each | PA-CB in-principle authorisation granted; final not confirmed | 30 Sept 2026 | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Remitly | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | 30 Sept 2026 | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do PayPal and Remitly support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PayPal | Receives USD, EUR, GBP, CAD, AUD, others; states 130+ currencies | PayPal payment (balance, card or linked method) from a buyer outside India; Local bank account details (ACH, SEPA etc.) for Indian users | Yes, Indian residents 18+, PAN and video KYC | Yes, proprietors, partnerships, LLPs and companies | Card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas PayPal buyers |
| Remitly | USD to INR for US to India corridor | Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad); UPI payout in India; Cash pickup in India | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments | Not supported for receiving | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What are the strengths and limitations of PayPal and Remitly?
PayPal
- Buyer reach: PayPal states access to up to 400 million active accounts globally
- Free FIRA: Weekly Digital FIRA is free to download since Feb 2026
- Regulatory status: listed by RBI with in-principle PA-CB authorisation
- Card acceptance: the user agreement covers payments made through PayPal guest checkout and card chargebacks, so buyers need not hold a PayPal balance
- Cost: 4.40% + fixed fee plus a 3.0% conversion markup is high for large invoices
- Transaction cap: export payments above USD 10,000 per transaction are a restricted activity under the India user agreement
- Disputes: dispute fees of USD 8 (standard) or USD 16 (high volume) can apply, and fees are not returned on refunds
- Holds: PayPal may hold funds for up to 180 days in risk or policy cases
Remitly
- Recipient simplicity: The Indian recipient needs only a bank account or UPI ID; the sender handles the transfer
- Published sender fee: USD to INR fee of $3.99 below $1,000 and $0 at $1,000 or more is shown on Remitly's site
- Multiple payout options: Bank deposit, UPI and cash pickup in India
- Delivery promise: Fee refund if the transfer arrives after the promised date
- Personal use only: The consumer service is limited to personal, family or household purposes, not business or export receipts
- Sender-initiated: Indian users cannot get collection account details or invoice clients through Remitly
- FX markup not disclosed: Remitly states it may earn on the exchange rate spread but does not publish the markup
- No published FIRA: Remitly does not state that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC for export documentation
Should you choose PayPal or Remitly?
- Choose PayPal if: you need receiving card and PayPal-wallet payments from overseas buyers who already use PayPal.
- Choose Remitly if: you need family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Remitly does not publish full pricing; PayPal does.
Which other platforms should you consider besides PayPal and Remitly?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,69,765 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,67,421 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,64,407 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,029 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- PayPal India Merchant Fees, Receiving international transactions; Currency Conversions (3.0% converting balance and payments received; 4.00% all other cases); Withdrawals Out of PayPal; Dispute Fees; Other Fees (Last Updated 28 March 2024) (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- PayPal India User Agreement, About our main business (Export Payment Services); Opening an Account; Restricted Activities (USD 10,000); Holds (180 days); Dispute Fee (guest checkout); Taxes and Information Reporting (GST) (last updated 13 January 2025) (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- PayPal India Foreign Inward Remittance Advise (FIRA) (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- PayPal India Know Your Customer (KYC) (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- PayPal India Business (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- RBI: Status of Applications received under Payment and Settlement Systems Act, 2007 (as on 01.10.2026), Table D: Existing PAs-CB which can operate as Payment Aggregator- Cross Border (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly: Send Money to India from the US (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly USD to INR rates and fees, Fee $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more; promotional rate on first $6,000 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly User Agreement, Consumer use for personal, family or household purposes; FX spread disclosure; US residency and age 18; delivery promise; Remitly may limit transfer amounts per transaction or in aggregate; cash pickup cancelled if not collected within 60 days (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly Business, For US-based companies paying freelancers, contractors and vendors abroad (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about PayPal vs Remitly
Is PayPal or Remitly cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Remitly does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. At $2,000: Remitly does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. At $10,000: Remitly does not publish full pricing; PayPal does. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, PayPal or Remitly?
PayPal states: Not confirmed. Remitly states: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Do PayPal and Remitly both provide a FIRA?
PayPal: Weekly Digital FIRA free to download from the PayPal business account since Feb 2026; Custom FIRA via Citibank at INR 100 + 18% GST per transaction (up to 20 transactions) or INR 2,000 + 18% GST for more than 20 transactions. Remitly: Not confirmed.
Are PayPal and Remitly authorised by RBI?
PayPal: PA-CB in-principle authorisation granted to PayPal Payments Private Limited (RBI application status list, as on 01.10.2026). Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.. RBI publishes the list of authorised cross-border payment aggregators, so check the current list before relying on any platform's own statement about its status.
Can Indian freelancers use both PayPal and Remitly?
PayPal, individuals: Yes. Individuals must be resident in India and at least 18; a personal account can receive payments for goods and services, though PayPal recommends a business account for those who primarily sell. KYC includes the original PAN card and video KYC. Remitly, individuals: Indian residents can receive personal transfers sent by family or friends abroad.
Should I switch from PayPal to Remitly?
Switch only if Remitly pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the PayPal account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.