PayU vs Remitly (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. PayU is best for Indian businesses taking international card payments on a website or checkout. Remitly is best for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Need: Indian businesses taking international card payments on a website or checkout | PayU | PayU is built for this. |
| Need: family and personal remittances sent from the US to India | Remitly | Remitly is built for this. |
How do PayU and Remitly compare at a glance?
| Attribute | PayU | Remitly |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Indian businesses taking international card payments online | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Fees | 3% international + 18% GST; custom pricing for higher volume | Sender pays $3.99 below $1,000, $0 from $1,000; recipient charges not confirmed |
| FX markup | Not confirmed; inter-bank rate, no margin published | Not published; may earn from rate difference |
| Settlement | States T+2 business days in INR | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed |
| FIRA | Not confirmed; not mentioned on public pages | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages |
| Currencies | States 135+ currencies including USD, EUR, GBP, settled in INR | USD to INR for US to India corridor |
| RBI status | Not confirmed; no PA-CB claim or RBI listing verified | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised |
| Indian individuals | Freelancers addressed; eligibility without entity not confirmed | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments |
| Indian businesses | Yes, subject to PayU and bank due diligence | Not supported for receiving |
| Limits | Not confirmed | Not confirmed. Remitly's user agreement says it may limit amounts per transaction or in aggregate but publishes no figure on pages reviewed; the promotional first-transfer rate applies to the first $6,000 sent. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with PayU vs Remitly?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PayU, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| PayU, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| PayU, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| Remitly, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What is PayU and who is it for?
PayU is an Indian payment gateway that lets merchants accept online payments through cards, UPI, net banking and wallets. For overseas customers, it accepts international credit and debit cards and PayPal at checkout, converts the amount to INR and settles to the merchant's Indian bank account. It is a checkout tool. It does not give users foreign bank account details for receiving bank transfers.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. PA-CB status could not be verified on rbi.org.in, and PayU's pages make no PA-CB claim
- Used by: Yes. New merchants sign up online, and existing merchants enable international payments through help.payu.in or care@payu.in. PayU's international card terms (clause 1.2(b)) say international card processing is provided at PayU's discretion, subject to additional due diligence by PayU, the acquiring banks and the nodal bank, and that approval can be withdrawn at any time
- Best for: Indian businesses taking international card payments on a website or checkout
What is Remitly and who is it for?
Remitly is a US-based money transfer service that lets senders in countries such as the US send money to recipients abroad, including India. Indian residents receive Remitly transfers as INR into their bank account, through UPI or via cash pickup, with the sender initiating and paying for the transfer. Its consumer service is restricted to personal, family or household purposes, so it is not designed for Indian freelancers or exporters invoicing foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.
- Used by: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
- Best for: Family and personal remittances sent from the US to India
How do PayU and Remitly fees and FX markup compare?
What does PayU charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: International credit and debit cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express) | 3% for international transactions plus 18% GST on the standard plan; FX markup not confirmed | PayU's international payments page says specific rates come from an account manager or care@payu.in | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| Receiving: PayPal wallet at checkout | Not confirmed | – | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| Receiving: Foreign bank transfer (ACH, SWIFT) to local account details | Not offered | PayU's public pages do not describe any foreign account details | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| Currency conversion to INR | Not confirmed. PayU's terms say it converts at the inter-bank rate decided by the banks or card associations, shared in the daily merchant payment report (non-business days use the previous business day's rate); no margin over mid-market is published | When foreign currency is converted | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| Payout to an Indian bank | PayU converts international payments to INR and settles to the merchant's Indian bank account, typically within T+2 business days. The fee is deducted per transaction. Same-day or priority settlement may carry a nominal extra fee | When INR is sent to your account | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| Setup, onboarding or annual fee | None on the standard plan | – | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| Same-day or priority settlement | Nominal fee may apply; amount not published | – | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| Domestic payments | 2% for Visa, Mastercard, net banking, BNPL and wallets; 3% for Diners, American Express and EMI; plus 18% GST | – | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| Currency Calculator Fee (multicurrency checkout) | Charged to the paying customer, not the merchant, at a rate PayU specifies at the time of payment, with the customer's consent (international card terms, clause 1.2(g)); rate not published | – | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| GST on fees | PayU's pricing page states "18% GST applicable on all transactions". It does not spell out the base further; GST is shown alongside its transaction fees | Applies to the platform's fee | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
What does Remitly charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad) | Paid by sender: $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more (US to India) | Consumer, personal-purpose transfers only | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: UPI payout in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: Cash pickup in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | Cash pickup transactions expire after 60 days per the user agreement | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Currency conversion to INR | Markup not published; Remitly's user agreement states it may earn from the difference between the rate at which it buys currency and the rate given to the customer. | When foreign currency is converted | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds arrive in INR directly in the recipient's Indian bank account, UPI or cash pickup. The sender pays the transfer fee and the exchange rate includes a spread Remitly does not publish. Any recipient-side charges are Not confirmed. | When INR is sent to your account | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Transfer fee (US to India, paid by sender) | $3.99 below $1,000; $0 at $1,000 or more | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| First transfer for new customers | No fee, limited-time offer | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| FX conversion | Spread included in rate; markup not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Remitly does not publish GST treatment for Indian recipients; fees are charged to the foreign sender. | Applies to the platform's fee | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
How do PayU and Remitly compare on settlement speed?
- PayU: T+2 business days in INR, as PayU states; same-day and priority settlement offered to some business categories, possibly for a fee
- Remitly: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| PayU | States T+2 business days in INR | INR to Indian bank, typically T+2; fee deducted per transaction | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| Remitly | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | INR to bank, UPI or cash pickup; spread not published | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Do PayU and Remitly provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PayU | Not confirmed; not mentioned on public pages | Not confirmed; no PA-CB claim or RBI listing verified | 30 Sept 2026 | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| Remitly | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | 30 Sept 2026 | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do PayU and Remitly support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PayU | States 135+ currencies including USD, EUR, GBP, settled in INR | International credit and debit cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express); PayPal wallet at checkout; Foreign bank transfer (ACH, SWIFT) to local account details | Freelancers addressed; eligibility without entity not confirmed | Yes, subject to PayU and bank due diligence | Indian businesses taking international card payments online |
| Remitly | USD to INR for US to India corridor | Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad); UPI payout in India; Cash pickup in India | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments | Not supported for receiving | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What are the strengths and limitations of PayU and Remitly?
PayU
- Published base rate: the standard plan lists 3% for international transactions, plus 18% GST
- No fixed costs: no setup, onboarding or annual fees on the standard plan
- Fast settlement: T+2 business days to an Indian bank account
- One checkout: domestic and international payments run through the same gateway
- FX markup not published: PayU's terms name an inter-bank rate set by banks or card associations but do not state its margin over mid-market
- No bank transfer receiving: there are no local USD, GBP or EUR account details for clients who pay by wire or ACH
- Pricing on request and approval needed: the international payments page sends merchants to an account manager for detailed rates, and PayU's international card terms say the service is provided at PayU's discretion, subject to extra due diligence by PayU and its acquiring and nodal banks
- FIRA not documented: PayU's public pages say nothing about FIRA or FIRC for international receipts
Remitly
- Recipient simplicity: The Indian recipient needs only a bank account or UPI ID; the sender handles the transfer
- Published sender fee: USD to INR fee of $3.99 below $1,000 and $0 at $1,000 or more is shown on Remitly's site
- Multiple payout options: Bank deposit, UPI and cash pickup in India
- Delivery promise: Fee refund if the transfer arrives after the promised date
- Personal use only: The consumer service is limited to personal, family or household purposes, not business or export receipts
- Sender-initiated: Indian users cannot get collection account details or invoice clients through Remitly
- FX markup not disclosed: Remitly states it may earn on the exchange rate spread but does not publish the markup
- No published FIRA: Remitly does not state that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC for export documentation
Should you choose PayU or Remitly?
- Choose PayU if: you need Indian businesses taking international card payments on a website or checkout.
- Choose Remitly if: you need family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users.
Which other platforms should you consider besides PayU and Remitly?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,70,252 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,67,906 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,64,889 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,511 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- PayU Pricing, 3% for Diners, American Express, EMI, International transactions; 18% GST applicable on all transactions; No set-up fee; standard settlement T+2; custom pricing slabs for higher volumes or enterprise needs, based on payment mode, industry type, risk profile, transaction volume, value-added features and processing requirements; no setup, onboarding or annual fees (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- PayU International Payments, 135+ currencies; Visa, Mastercard, American Express and PayPal; INR conversion at transaction-date rate; T+2 business days; specific rates via account manager or care@payu.in; compliance with global standards (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- PayU terms for international card processing and multicurrency payments, 1.2(e): the exchange rate used by PayU for all Authorised Currencies will be the inter-bank rate as decided by the respective banks or card associations and as shared by PayU with the Merchant by issuing the merchant payment report on every Business Day; non-Business Day transactions use the rate of the immediately preceding Business Day; 1.2(b): the International Card Processing Payment Mechanism and the Multicurrency Payment Feature shall be provided solely at PayU's discretion, subject to additional due diligence and criteria specified by PayU and/or Acquiring Banks and the Nodal Bank, who may withdraw approval at any time; 1.2(g): PayU may charge Customers a Currency Calculator Fee at a rate specified at the time of payment, upon the Customer consenting (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Remitly: Send Money to India from the US (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly USD to INR rates and fees, Fee $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more; promotional rate on first $6,000 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly User Agreement, Consumer use for personal, family or household purposes; FX spread disclosure; US residency and age 18; delivery promise; Remitly may limit transfer amounts per transaction or in aggregate; cash pickup cancelled if not collected within 60 days (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly Business, For US-based companies paying freelancers, contractors and vendors abroad (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about PayU vs Remitly
Is PayU or Remitly cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $2,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $10,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, PayU or Remitly?
PayU states: T+2 business days in INR, as PayU states; same-day and priority settlement offered to some business categories, possibly for a fee. Remitly states: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed..
Do PayU and Remitly both provide a FIRA?
PayU: Not confirmed. PayU's public pages do not mention FIRA, FIRC or e-FIRC. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly does not state on its pages that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC to Indian recipients.. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Are PayU and Remitly authorised by RBI?
PayU: Not confirmed. PA-CB status could not be verified on rbi.org.in, and PayU's pages make no PA-CB claim. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Can Indian freelancers use both PayU and Remitly?
PayU, individuals: PayU's international payments page addresses freelancers such as designers, developers, consultants and coaches. Its public pages do not state the KYC or entity conditions for individuals, so eligibility without a business entity is Not confirmed Remitly, individuals: Indian residents can receive personal transfers sent by family or friends abroad.
Should I switch from PayU to Remitly?
Switch only if Remitly pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the PayU account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.