Remitly Review (2026): Fees, FIRA and Payout Experience for Indian Exporters
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
Remitly is best for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India. Cost: not for business: Remitly is for personal, family or household transfers. Settlement: delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.. FIRA: not confirmed.
| Criterion | Verdict | Basis | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | Not for business: Remitly is for personal, family or household transfers | Landed INR on a $5,000 invoice at today's reference rate | Comparing total cost |
| Speed | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | As stated by Remitly | Cash-flow planning |
| Compliance documents | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | FIRA or FIRC availability | GST refunds and tax records |
| RBI status | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | Authorisation for cross-border payments | Regulatory comfort |
| Availability | Not supported for receiving | Who can open an account in India | Checking eligibility |
Is Remitly good for Indian exporters and freelancers?
Remitly is best for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India. It is a weaker fit for Indian freelancers, agencies and exporters collecting payments from foreign clients.
| Criterion | Verdict | Basis | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | Not for business: Remitly is for personal, family or household transfers | Landed INR on a $5,000 invoice at today's reference rate | Comparing total cost |
| Speed | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | As stated by Remitly | Cash-flow planning |
| Compliance documents | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | FIRA or FIRC availability | GST refunds and tax records |
| RBI status | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | Authorisation for cross-border payments | Regulatory comfort |
| Availability | Not supported for receiving | Who can open an account in India | Checking eligibility |
What is Remitly and who is it for?
Remitly is a US-based money transfer service that lets senders in countries such as the US send money to recipients abroad, including India. Indian residents receive Remitly transfers as INR into their bank account, through UPI or via cash pickup, with the sender initiating and paying for the transfer. Its consumer service is restricted to personal, family or household purposes, so it is not designed for Indian freelancers or exporters invoicing foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.
- Used by: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
- Best for: Family and personal remittances sent from the US to India
How do you open a Remitly account in India?
- Check eligibility: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
- Sign up on Remitly's official website and choose the account type that matches your business.
- Complete KYC with the documents listed below for your entity type.
- Add your Indian bank account for INR payouts.
- Share the receiving details or payment link with your client, and check the purpose code and FIRA settings before the first payment.
| Document | Best for |
|---|---|
| Not confirmed for Indian recipients. Remitly's verification requirements apply to the sender, who must be 18 or older and a US resident per the user agreement. | Indian account holders |
What are Remitly fees and FX markup?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad) | Paid by sender: $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more (US to India) | Consumer, personal-purpose transfers only | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: UPI payout in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: Cash pickup in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | Cash pickup transactions expire after 60 days per the user agreement | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Currency conversion to INR | Markup not published; Remitly's user agreement states it may earn from the difference between the rate at which it buys currency and the rate given to the customer. | When foreign currency is converted | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds arrive in INR directly in the recipient's Indian bank account, UPI or cash pickup. The sender pays the transfer fee and the exchange rate includes a spread Remitly does not publish. Any recipient-side charges are Not confirmed. | When INR is sent to your account | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Transfer fee (US to India, paid by sender) | $3.99 below $1,000; $0 at $1,000 or more | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| First transfer for new customers | No fee, limited-time offer | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| FX conversion | Spread included in rate; markup not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Remitly does not publish GST treatment for Indian recipients; fees are charged to the foreign sender. | Applies to the platform's fee | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Remitly?
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Remitly, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
How fast does Remitly settle payments to India?
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Remitly | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | INR to bank, UPI or cash pickup; spread not published | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Does Remitly provide FIRA and e-BRC, and is it RBI PA-CB authorised?
No RBI page reviewed lists Remitly as a PA-CB authorised entity, so its RBI status is Not confirmed. Payouts in India are made through partner banks and UPI, as shown on Remitly's India page.
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Remitly | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | 30 Sept 2026 | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods does Remitly support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Remitly | USD to INR for US to India corridor | Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad); UPI payout in India; Cash pickup in India | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments | Not supported for receiving | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What are the pros and cons of Remitly?
Pros
- Recipient simplicity: The Indian recipient needs only a bank account or UPI ID; the sender handles the transfer
- Published sender fee: USD to INR fee of $3.99 below $1,000 and $0 at $1,000 or more is shown on Remitly's site
- Multiple payout options: Bank deposit, UPI and cash pickup in India
- Delivery promise: Fee refund if the transfer arrives after the promised date
- INR payout to Indian bank accounts at banks such as Axis, HDFC, SBI and Bank of Baroda
- UPI and cash pickup delivery options in India
Cons
- Personal use only: The consumer service is limited to personal, family or household purposes, not business or export receipts
- Sender-initiated: Indian users cannot get collection account details or invoice clients through Remitly
- FX markup not disclosed: Remitly states it may earn on the exchange rate spread but does not publish the markup
- No published FIRA: Remitly does not state that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC for export documentation
Is Remitly worth it for Indian exporters and freelancers?
Remitly is worth considering for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India. It is a weaker fit for Indian freelancers, agencies and exporters collecting payments from foreign clients.
What are the best alternatives to Remitly?
Other platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice. See the full Remitly alternatives comparison.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,70,804 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,68,455 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,65,434 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,65,056 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on Remitly's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026. User ratings are not included because they were not independently checked.
- Remitly: Send Money to India from the US (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly USD to INR rates and fees, Fee $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more; promotional rate on first $6,000 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly User Agreement, Consumer use for personal, family or household purposes; FX spread disclosure; US residency and age 18; delivery promise; Remitly may limit transfer amounts per transaction or in aggregate; cash pickup cancelled if not collected within 60 days (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly Business, For US-based companies paying freelancers, contractors and vendors abroad (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Remitly
Is Remitly safe to use for receiving international payments in India?
Remitly's regulatory position for Indian users: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.. No RBI page reviewed lists Remitly as a PA-CB authorised entity, so its RBI status is Not confirmed. Payouts in India are made through partner banks and UPI, as shown on Remitly's India page.
Can Indian freelancers open a Remitly account?
Individuals: Indian residents can receive personal transfers sent by family or friends abroad. Receiving payments for freelance or export services is outside the consumer service's stated personal, family or household purpose. Businesses: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
How much does Remitly cost on a $5,000 invoice?
Remitly does not publish enough pricing for Indian users to calculate the INR received on a $5,000 invoice. The fee table on this page lists every charge Remitly does publish, so you can estimate the cost for your own invoices.
How long does Remitly take to settle payments to India?
Remitly states: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Does Remitly give a FIRA or FIRC?
Remitly's pages do not mention FIRA, FIRC or e-FIRC. Any inward remittance documentation would have to come from the recipient's Indian bank, and whether it can be issued with an export purpose code is Not confirmed. Because the service is for personal remittances, it is not set up for export documentation.
What are the main drawbacks of Remitly?
The main limitations found on Remitly's own pages are: Personal use only: The consumer service is limited to personal, family or household purposes, not business or export receipts; Sender-initiated: Indian users cannot get collection account details or invoice clients through Remitly. Whether they matter depends on your invoice size, how clients pay and which documents you need.