Remitly vs Revolut (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Remitly is best for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India. Revolut is best for Indian residents spending in INR and abroad with a prepaid wallet and forex card.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Need: family and personal remittances sent from the US to India | Remitly | Remitly is built for this. |
| Need: Indian residents spending in INR and abroad with a prepaid wallet and forex card | Revolut | Revolut is built for this. |
How do Remitly and Revolut compare at a glance?
| Attribute | Remitly | Revolut |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Family and personal remittances from the US to India | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Fees | Sender pays $3.99 below $1,000, $0 from $1,000; recipient charges not confirmed | Not confirmed; India terms bar business use |
| FX markup | Not published; may earn from rate difference | Not confirmed for inward payments |
| Settlement | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| FIRA | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | Not confirmed; not mentioned on India pages |
| Currencies | USD to INR for US to India corridor | INR wallet; forex card in 30+ currencies, 130+ countries |
| RBI status | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | States RBI PPI and AD Category-II licences; not PA-CB |
| Indian individuals | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments | Personal account only; receiving payments not confirmed |
| Indian businesses | Not supported for receiving | Not confirmed; terms bar business use |
| Limits | Not confirmed. Remitly's user agreement says it may limit amounts per transaction or in aggregate but publishes no figure on pages reviewed; the promotional first-transfer rate applies to the first $6,000 sent. | Not confirmed. The personal terms say Revolut may set limits on UPI receipts and payments and that limits are shown in the app. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Remitly vs Revolut?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Remitly, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Revolut, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Revolut, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Revolut, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
What is Remitly and who is it for?
Remitly is a US-based money transfer service that lets senders in countries such as the US send money to recipients abroad, including India. Indian residents receive Remitly transfers as INR into their bank account, through UPI or via cash pickup, with the sender initiating and paying for the transfer. Its consumer service is restricted to personal, family or household purposes, so it is not designed for Indian freelancers or exporters invoicing foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.
- Used by: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
- Best for: Family and personal remittances sent from the US to India
What is Revolut and who is it for?
Revolut operates in India through Revolut Payments India Private Limited, which issues a prepaid INR wallet, a domestic card and UPI, and Revolut Forex India Private Limited, which issues multi-currency forex cards. The India product is presented as a spending account for Indian residents aged 18 and over. The India site and terms do not describe a way for freelancers or exporters to receive payments from foreign clients.
- Regulated by: States it is RBI-authorised to issue PPIs (COA No. 224/2025) via Revolut Payments India, and that Revolut Forex India holds an AD Category-II licence (MUM-ADII-0963-2024); not a PA-CB
- Used by: Not confirmed. The India site lists no business account, and the personal terms bar business use.
- Best for: Indian residents spending in INR and abroad with a prepaid wallet and forex card
How do Remitly and Revolut fees and FX markup compare?
What does Remitly charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad) | Paid by sender: $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more (US to India) | Consumer, personal-purpose transfers only | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: UPI payout in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: Cash pickup in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | Cash pickup transactions expire after 60 days per the user agreement | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Currency conversion to INR | Markup not published; Remitly's user agreement states it may earn from the difference between the rate at which it buys currency and the rate given to the customer. | When foreign currency is converted | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds arrive in INR directly in the recipient's Indian bank account, UPI or cash pickup. The sender pays the transfer fee and the exchange rate includes a spread Remitly does not publish. Any recipient-side charges are Not confirmed. | When INR is sent to your account | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Transfer fee (US to India, paid by sender) | $3.99 below $1,000; $0 at $1,000 or more | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| First transfer for new customers | No fee, limited-time offer | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| FX conversion | Spread included in rate; markup not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Remitly does not publish GST treatment for Indian recipients; fees are charged to the foreign sender. | Applies to the platform's fee | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What does Revolut charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Top up INR wallet from own Indian bank or card via UPI, net banking or external card | UPI 0%; Netbanking 1.28% + GST; Debit Card 0.30% + GST; Credit Card 1.63% + GST (Standard plan fee schedule) | Domestic top-up only. Funds to a currency account must come from the same bank account given during verification. | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Receiving: Receive money from other Revolut or non-Revolut wallets and bank accounts in India | Not confirmed | Described in the personal terms for the INR PPI wallet; not an international receiving method. | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Receiving: International bank transfer (SWIFT or local foreign account details) from a foreign client | Not confirmed | Not offered on the Revolut India site or terms as of 2026-10-06. | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Currency conversion to INR | Not confirmed for inward payments; the India site does not publish an inward conversion rate | When foreign currency is converted | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Not confirmed. Revolut India does not describe converting foreign client payments to INR or paying them out to an Indian bank account. | When INR is sent to your account | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Plus plan | ₹499/year plus taxes | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Premium plan | ₹2,499/year plus taxes | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Metal plan | ₹9,999/year plus taxes | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| Standard plan | Free | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| First Revolut Card (Standard plan) | ₹199, plus applicable GST | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| ATM withdrawal (Standard plan) | 2% of the withdrawal amount or ₹150, whichever is lower, plus GST as applicable | – | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
| GST on fees | Paid plan prices are shown plus taxes, and the Standard fee schedule lists wallet top-up and card fees plus GST. GST on any receiving fee is not confirmed because no receiving fee is published. | Applies to the platform's fee | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
How do Remitly and Revolut compare on settlement speed?
- Remitly: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.
- Revolut: Not confirmed. No inward international settlement to an Indian bank account is described on the India site
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Remitly | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | INR to bank, UPI or cash pickup; spread not published | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Revolut | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
Do Remitly and Revolut provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Remitly | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | 30 Sept 2026 | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Revolut | Not confirmed; not mentioned on India pages | States RBI PPI and AD Category-II licences; not PA-CB | 30 Sept 2026 | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do Remitly and Revolut support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Remitly | USD to INR for US to India corridor | Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad); UPI payout in India; Cash pickup in India | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments | Not supported for receiving | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Revolut | INR wallet; forex card in 30+ currencies, 130+ countries | Top up INR wallet from own Indian bank or card via UPI, net banking or external card; Receive money from other Revolut or non-Revolut wallets and bank accounts in India; International bank transfer (SWIFT or local foreign account details) from a foreign client | Personal account only; receiving payments not confirmed | Not confirmed; terms bar business use | Indian residents using an INR wallet and forex card |
What are the strengths and limitations of Remitly and Revolut?
Remitly
- Recipient simplicity: The Indian recipient needs only a bank account or UPI ID; the sender handles the transfer
- Published sender fee: USD to INR fee of $3.99 below $1,000 and $0 at $1,000 or more is shown on Remitly's site
- Multiple payout options: Bank deposit, UPI and cash pickup in India
- Delivery promise: Fee refund if the transfer arrives after the promised date
- Personal use only: The consumer service is limited to personal, family or household purposes, not business or export receipts
- Sender-initiated: Indian users cannot get collection account details or invoice clients through Remitly
- FX markup not disclosed: Remitly states it may earn on the exchange rate spread but does not publish the markup
- No published FIRA: Remitly does not state that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC for export documentation
Revolut
- Regulated Indian entities: the site states a PPI authorisation and an AD Category-II forex licence from the RBI
- Travel spending: a multi-currency card for spending abroad across 30+ currencies, as stated on the India site
- Domestic payments: UPI and a domestic card in one app
- Free entry plan: a Standard plan with no annual fee
- No inward remittance product: the India site and terms describe no way to receive a foreign client's payment and convert it to INR
- No business use: the personal terms state a Revolut Account cannot be used for business purposes
- INR only wallet: the terms state PPIs can only be used for payments in Indian Rupees
- No FIRA: no inward remittance documentation is mentioned
Should you choose Remitly or Revolut?
- Choose Remitly if: you need family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
- Choose Revolut if: you need Indian residents spending in INR and abroad with a prepaid wallet and forex card.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users.
Which other platforms should you consider besides Remitly and Revolut?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,69,953 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,67,608 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,64,593 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,215 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- Remitly: Send Money to India from the US (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly USD to INR rates and fees, Fee $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more; promotional rate on first $6,000 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly User Agreement, Consumer use for personal, family or household purposes; FX spread disclosure; US residency and age 18; delivery promise; Remitly may limit transfer amounts per transaction or in aggregate; cash pickup cancelled if not collected within 60 days (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly Business, For US-based companies paying freelancers, contractors and vendors abroad (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India home page, Eligibility (Indian residents aged 18+); plan prices; footer legal entity and RBI PPI and AD-II statements (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India spending account (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India personal terms, PPIs only for payments in Indian Rupees; foreign currency services via affiliates; no business use; KYC under RBI guidelines; UPI receipt and payment limits shown in the app; top-up methods (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India products legal index (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India Multi-Currency Cards Terms and Conditions, Eligibility: Indian citizen, resident in India, Indian passport, PAN and Aadhaar; loading funds by bank transfer (NEFT, IMPS, RTGS) (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India Help Centre: Add money with a bank transfer (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India Personal Fees (Standard), Add money fees, card fee, ATM fee; no inward international payment fee listed (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Revolut India fees index (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Remitly vs Revolut
Is Remitly or Revolut cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $2,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $10,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, Remitly or Revolut?
Remitly states: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.. Revolut states: Not confirmed. No inward international settlement to an Indian bank account is described on the India site.
Do Remitly and Revolut both provide a FIRA?
Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly does not state on its pages that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC to Indian recipients.. Revolut: Not confirmed. No FIRA or FIRC is mentioned on Revolut India pages. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Are Remitly and Revolut authorised by RBI?
Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.. Revolut: States it is RBI-authorised to issue PPIs (COA No. 224/2025) via Revolut Payments India, and that Revolut Forex India holds an AD Category-II licence (MUM-ADII-0963-2024); not a PA-CB.
Can Indian freelancers use both Remitly and Revolut?
Remitly, individuals: Indian residents can receive personal transfers sent by family or friends abroad. Receiving payments for freelance or export services is outside the consumer service's stated personal, family or household purpose. Revolut, individuals: Indian residents aged 18 and over can open a personal spending account. Eligibility can change, so confirm on each platform's sign-up pages.
Should I switch from Remitly to Revolut?
Switch only if Revolut pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the Remitly account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.