Export Services India

Remitly vs Skydo (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?

Verified by:
Editorial team
Published:
Last modified:

Short answer

The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Remitly does not publish full pricing; Skydo does. Remitly is best for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India. Skydo is best for Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices by bank transfer.

CurrencyUSD

At the mid-market rate

₹4,73,493

Highest payout: Skydo

₹4,70,252

  1. 1.Skydo₹4,70,252cost 0.68%

1 USD = 94.70 INR, ECB reference rate for 3 Nov 2026. Payout = amount minus fees, converted at the reference rate minus each platform's markup, minus 18% GST on fees where charged. Platforms without published pricing are left out.

How do Remitly and Skydo compare at a glance?

How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Remitly vs Skydo?

Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026.

What is Remitly and who is it for?

Remitly is a US-based money transfer service that lets senders in countries such as the US send money to recipients abroad, including India. Indian residents receive Remitly transfers as INR into their bank account, through UPI or via cash pickup, with the sender initiating and paying for the transfer. Its consumer service is restricted to personal, family or household purposes, so it is not designed for Indian freelancers or exporters invoicing foreign clients.

  • Regulated by: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.
  • Used by: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
  • Best for: Family and personal remittances sent from the US to India

What is Skydo and who is it for?

Skydo is a Bengaluru-based cross-border collection platform run by Skydo Technologies Private Limited, founded in 2022. It gives Indian exporters and freelancers local account details in the US, UK, Europe, Canada, Australia, Singapore and the UAE, plus an International SWIFT account, so foreign clients can pay by bank transfer. Skydo converts the funds and settles INR to the user's Indian bank account, issuing a FIRA for each payment.

  • Regulated by: RBI authorised Payment Aggregator: PA-O 'Skydo' (08.01.2026) and PA-CB Inward and Outward (RBI Certificates of Authorisation list dated 30 September 2026)
  • Used by: Yes. Private limited companies, partnerships and HUFs sign up with the business PAN; partnerships also provide the partnership deed.
  • Best for: Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices by bank transfer

How do Remitly and Skydo fees and FX markup compare?

What does Remitly charge?

What does Skydo charge?

How do Remitly and Skydo compare on settlement speed?

  • Remitly: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.
  • Skydo: Skydo's FAQ gives standard timelines by local account: to the Skydo virtual account in 1 to 3 business days for USD ACH, EUR SEPA, CAD EFT and AUD, 1 business day for USD Fedwire and GBP FPS, and 1 to 5 business days for SWIFT; then to the Indian bank account in 1 business day for USD, GBP, EUR and SGD, 1 to 2 for CAD, and 1 to 3 for AUD and SWIFT. The homepage states payments are received in less than 24 hours. InstaLinks ACH Debit payments typically settle within 6 business days.

Do Remitly and Skydo provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?

Which currencies, countries and payment methods do Remitly and Skydo support?

What are the strengths and limitations of Remitly and Skydo?

Remitly

  • Recipient simplicity: The Indian recipient needs only a bank account or UPI ID; the sender handles the transfer
  • Published sender fee: USD to INR fee of $3.99 below $1,000 and $0 at $1,000 or more is shown on Remitly's site
  • Multiple payout options: Bank deposit, UPI and cash pickup in India
  • Delivery promise: Fee refund if the transfer arrives after the promised date
  • Personal use only: The consumer service is limited to personal, family or household purposes, not business or export receipts
  • Sender-initiated: Indian users cannot get collection account details or invoice clients through Remitly
  • FX markup not disclosed: Remitly states it may earn on the exchange rate spread but does not publish the markup
  • No published FIRA: Remitly does not state that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC for export documentation

Skydo

  • FX: Zero FX margin on conversion to INR, as stated on the homepage and pricing section
  • Predictable fees: Flat $19 or $29 per payment up to $10,000, so the effective rate falls as invoice size rises
  • Compliance paperwork: FIRA issued instantly and stated to be free; Skydo says its FIRA and FIRC are accepted for GST filing and by banks
  • Regulation: Listed by RBI as an authorised Payment Aggregator with PA-CB Inward and Outward authorisation
  • Small payments: Minimum payment of USD 50, and a $19 flat fee is a high share of small invoices
  • Card payments: Skydo's published pricing and FAQs list bank transfers and ACH Debit payment links only; no card payment option is listed
  • InstaLinks cost: Payment links cost 2% per transaction with a $9 minimum and typically settle within 6 business days
  • Chargebacks: For InstaLinks, the user is liable for chargeback amounts and fees, which Skydo may debit from the account

Should you choose Remitly or Skydo?

  • Choose Remitly if: you need family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
  • Choose Skydo if: you need Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices by bank transfer.

For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Remitly does not publish full pricing; Skydo does.

Which other platforms should you consider besides Remitly and Skydo?

Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.

How did we verify this?

Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.

  1. Remitly: Send Money to India from the US (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  2. Remitly USD to INR rates and fees, Fee $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more; promotional rate on first $6,000 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  3. Remitly User Agreement, Consumer use for personal, family or household purposes; FX spread disclosure; US residency and age 18; delivery promise; Remitly may limit transfer amounts per transaction or in aggregate; cash pickup cancelled if not collected within 60 days (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  4. Remitly Business, For US-based companies paying freelancers, contractors and vendors abroad (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  5. Skydo homepage (pricing and fee calculator), Know what you pay; calculator showing GST 18% of transaction fee (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  6. Skydo FAQs: Fees & charges, How much does Skydo charge; Who will bear the SWIFT charges; Payment Links fees; Refund or chargeback fees (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  7. Skydo FAQs: Payment queries, When will I receive money (timeline table); FIRA vs FIRC; Limitations and Restrictions (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  8. Skydo FAQs: International accounts, Countries for local accounts; currencies via SWIFT account; unsupported countries (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  9. Skydo FAQs: InstaLinks, Fees, settlement timeline, chargebacks (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  10. Skydo: Receive International Payments in India, Skydo section: FIRA instant, automatic and free; settlement within 24 hours (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  11. Skydo for Amazon Global Sellers, Know what you pay (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  12. Skydo Terms of Use, About Skydo; Export transaction collection payments; KYC Process (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  13. Skydo About Us (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  14. Skydo blog: How to Sign Up on Skydo in 5 Minutes, What Do You Need Before You Sign Up on Skydo (checked 6 Oct 2026)
  15. RBI: Certificates of Authorisation issued under the Payment and Settlement Systems Act, 2007 (dated 30 September 2026), Section A, Payment Aggregators, serial 56, and footnote # (checked 6 Oct 2026)

FAQs about Remitly vs Skydo

Is Remitly or Skydo cheaper for receiving USD in India?

Remitly does not publish full pricing; Skydo does. At $2,000: Remitly does not publish full pricing; Skydo does. At $10,000: Remitly does not publish full pricing; Skydo does. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.

Which is faster, Remitly or Skydo?

Remitly states: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.. The homepage states payments are received in less than 24 hours. InstaLinks ACH Debit payments typically settle within 6 business days..

Do Remitly and Skydo both provide a FIRA?

Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly does not state on its pages that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC to Indian recipients.. Skydo: FIRA issued instantly for each payment, emailed and downloadable from the dashboard; Skydo states it is free. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.

Are Remitly and Skydo authorised by RBI?

Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.. Skydo: RBI authorised Payment Aggregator: PA-O 'Skydo' (08.01.2026) and PA-CB Inward and Outward (RBI Certificates of Authorisation list dated 30 September 2026). Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.

Can Indian freelancers use both Remitly and Skydo?

Remitly, individuals: Indian residents can receive personal transfers sent by family or friends abroad. Receiving payments for freelance or export services is outside the consumer service's stated personal, family or household purpose. Skydo, individuals: Yes. Payments must be for export of goods, services or software. Eligibility can change, so confirm on each platform's sign-up pages.

Should I switch from Remitly to Skydo?

Switch only if Skydo pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the Remitly account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.