Stripe Review (2026): Fees, FIRA and Payout Experience for Indian Exporters
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
Stripe is best for registered Indian businesses selling online to foreign customers who pay by card. Cost: high: about 7.43% on $5,000. Settlement: daily automatic payouts in INR include international card payments processed five business days prior. Cost of FIRC not confirmed. RBI status: not confirmed.
| Criterion | Verdict | Basis | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | High: about 7.43% on $5,000 | Landed INR on a $5,000 invoice at today's reference rate | Comparing total cost |
| Speed | Daily INR payouts; card funds after five business days | As stated by Stripe | Cash-flow planning |
| Compliance documents | Standard Chartered payment advice; FIRC cost not confirmed | FIRA or FIRC availability | GST refunds and tax records |
| RBI status | Not confirmed | Authorisation for cross-border payments | Regulatory comfort |
| Availability | Yes, by invite, after opting in to exports | Who can open an account in India | Checking eligibility |
Is Stripe good for Indian exporters and freelancers?
Stripe is best for registered Indian businesses selling online to foreign customers who pay by card. It is a weaker fit for unregistered freelancers, or businesses whose foreign clients pay by bank transfer.
| Criterion | Verdict | Basis | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | High: about 7.43% on $5,000 | Landed INR on a $5,000 invoice at today's reference rate | Comparing total cost |
| Speed | Daily INR payouts; card funds after five business days | As stated by Stripe | Cash-flow planning |
| Compliance documents | Standard Chartered payment advice; FIRC cost not confirmed | FIRA or FIRC availability | GST refunds and tax records |
| RBI status | Not confirmed | Authorisation for cross-border payments | Regulatory comfort |
| Availability | Yes, by invite, after opting in to exports | Who can open an account in India | Checking eligibility |
What is Stripe and who is it for?
Stripe is a global online payments platform. In India it is available by invite only, and registered Indian businesses can use it to accept international card payments declared as exports, with funds paid out in INR to an Indian bank account. Its India help pages list cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay for international payments and do not describe receiving bank transfers from foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed
- Used by: Sole proprietorships, LLPs and companies in India can accept international card payments after opting in to exports, by invite only. An IEC is required for physical goods and for Amex international payments; optional for services otherwise.
- Best for: Registered Indian businesses selling online to foreign customers who pay by card
How do you open a Stripe account in India?
- Check eligibility: Sole proprietorships, LLPs and companies in India can accept international card payments after opting in to exports, by invite only. An IEC is required for physical goods and for Amex international payments; optional for services otherwise.
- Sign up on Stripe's official website and choose the account type that matches your business.
- Complete KYC with the documents listed below for your entity type.
- Add your Indian bank account for INR payouts.
- Share the receiving details or payment link with your client, and check the purpose code and FIRA settings before the first payment.
| Document | Best for |
|---|---|
| PAN, Aadhaar or Voter ID for individuals and sole proprietors | Indian account holders |
| MCA CIN or LLP ID and the company's or LLP's PAN for companies and LLPs | Indian account holders |
| Business address and INR bank account details | Indian account holders |
| Website or social media profile and industry description | Indian account holders |
| Certificate of incorporation or partnership registration certificate, and details of owners holding more than 10% (companies and LLPs) | Indian account holders |
| IEC from DGFT (physical goods, Amex international, or Foreign Trade Policy benefits) and RBI transaction purpose code | Indian account holders |
What are Stripe fees and FX markup?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: International card payment (Visa/Mastercard) with USD or other foreign currency presentment | 4.3% + 2% if currency conversion is required | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Receiving: International Visa/Mastercard card payment charged in INR | 3% (published as 3% for Mastercard and Visa cards issued outside India + 2% if currency conversion is required) | Stripe's cross-border pricing article lists 3% for INR presentment, with any conversion fee charged to the customer by their issuing bank. | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Receiving: International American Express card payment | 3.5% + 2% if currency conversion is required | American Express presentment is INR or USD. | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Receiving: Bank transfer (ACH, SEPA, SWIFT) from a foreign client | Not confirmed | Stripe's India help pages list cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay for international payments and state local payment methods are not supported; receiving bank transfers was not found. | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Currency conversion to INR | 2% currency conversion fee if conversion is required, on top of a rate Stripe says is generally the third-party-sourced mid-market rate; in certain circumstances Stripe may use the rate at which it sources the currency | When foreign currency is converted | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Stripe pays out in INR to the business's Indian bank account on a daily automatic schedule; funds from international card payments are included five business days after processing, and the first payout has a seven day waiting period. No payout fee is listed on the India pricing page; a zero payout fee is not explicitly stated. | When INR is sent to your account | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Dispute received | INR 1,000 per dispute | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Dispute countered | INR 1,000 per dispute, refunded if won | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Billing | 0.7% of billing volume | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Invoicing | 0.4% per paid invoice | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Setup or monthly fee | None on standard pricing | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| GST on fees | Stripe's monthly tax invoice adds GST on its fees: a single 18% IGST line or 9% CGST plus 9% SGST, depending on the state. GST is not charged on Stripe processing fees for any single card transaction up to INR 2,000. Stripe also pays an additional 2% of the monthly invoice amount if a valid TAN is provided on the Dashboard. | Applies to the platform's fee | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Stripe?
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe, $2,000 | ₹11,913 | ₹0 | ₹2,144 | ₹1,75,035 | 7.43% | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Stripe, $5,000 | ₹29,782 | ₹0 | ₹5,361 | ₹4,37,587 | 7.43% | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Stripe, $10,000 | ₹59,564 | ₹0 | ₹10,722 | ₹8,75,175 | 7.43% | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
How fast does Stripe settle payments to India?
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | Daily INR payouts; card funds after five business days | Daily INR payouts to Indian bank; no payout fee listed | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
Does Stripe provide FIRA and e-BRC, and is it RBI PA-CB authorised?
Stripe's RBI regulations FAQ covers e-mandate rules for recurring card payments and does not state a payment aggregator or PA-CB authorisation. Its export onboarding requires an RBI transaction purpose code, limited to a list Stripe supports (Stripe docs). Authorisation status on RBI's list was not confirmed.
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | Standard Chartered payment advice; FIRC cost not confirmed | Not confirmed | 30 Sept 2026 | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods does Stripe support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | Cards in 135+ currencies; Amex INR or USD; INR payouts | International card payment (Visa/Mastercard) with USD or other foreign currency presentment; International Visa/Mastercard card payment charged in INR; International American Express card payment; Bank transfer (ACH, SEPA, SWIFT) from a foreign client | No; international payments need a registered entity | Yes, by invite, after opting in to exports | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
What are the pros and cons of Stripe?
Pros
- Checkout and API: Developer tools for websites, subscriptions and invoices
- Currency presentment: Customers can pay in their local currency on Visa and Mastercard
- Export documentation: Purpose code captured at onboarding and payment advice emailed for export payouts
- No fixed fees: No setup or monthly fees on standard pricing
- Accept international Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Apple Pay and Google Pay payments
- Present prices in 135+ currencies on Visa and Mastercard
Cons
- Invite only: Indian businesses cannot sign up on the website and must request an invite
- No individuals: International payments are not supported for individuals; a sole proprietorship, LLP or company is required
- Cards and wallets only: Bank transfers (ACH, SEPA, SWIFT) from foreign clients are not listed as a supported method for India accounts
- Cost: 4.3% on foreign currency card payments plus 2% if currency conversion is required, with 18% GST on fees (7.434% in total), except that GST is not charged on processing fees for single card transactions up to INR 2,000
Is Stripe worth it for Indian exporters and freelancers?
Stripe is worth considering for registered Indian businesses selling online to foreign customers who pay by card. It is a weaker fit for unregistered freelancers, or businesses whose foreign clients pay by bank transfer.
For example, an exporter invoicing $5,000 a month would receive about ₹4,37,587 per invoice with Stripe at today's reference rate, a cost of about ₹35,143 each time.
What are the best alternatives to Stripe?
Other platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice. See the full Stripe alternatives comparison.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,69,495 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,67,152 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,64,140 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,63,762 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on Stripe's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026. User ratings are not included because they were not independently checked.
- Stripe India pricing, International cards with USD/other currency presentment 4.3% + 2% if currency conversion is required; Mastercard and Visa cards issued outside India 3% + 2%; American Express outside India 3.5% + 2%; dispute received INR 1,000.00 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Accept international payments from India (Stripe docs), Stripe is available by invite only in India; the Stripe account must be a registered Indian business (sole proprietorship, limited liability partnership, or company) and can't be an individual; Stripe pays out to you in INR (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Additional pricing information for Indian cross-border sellers, Mainly international: 4.3% per successful charge; currency conversion additional 2% if required (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- How can I open a Stripe account in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Supported payment methods, currencies and businesses for Stripe accounts in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- FIRC for international transactions in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Payout schedule for Stripe accounts in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Payout currency for Stripe accounts in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- GST and TDS on Stripe invoices for India-based accounts (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Export transaction limits for Stripe accounts in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- RBI regulations: context and FAQs (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Localise prices: exchange rate (Stripe docs), When Stripe provides currency conversion services for transactions, we generally apply the mid-market rate based on pricing data sourced from third-party service providers. Mid-market rate is the average between the buy and the sell price of a currency. In certain circumstances, Stripe might apply the rate at which we source the currency owed to you. (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Taxes on Stripe fees for India-based businesses, either a single 18% tax line item (IGST) or a sum of two 9% tax line items (CGST & SGST). GST is not charged on Stripe processing fees for any single Cards transaction with a value up to INR 2,000. (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Stripe Docs: Supported currencies (India selected), Stripe users in the selected country can process charges in the following list of currencies, with these exceptions: Domestic charges can only be in INR; You can charge American Express cards issued outside of India only in INR and USD (checked 8 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Stripe
Is Stripe safe to use for receiving international payments in India?
Stripe's regulatory position for Indian users: Not confirmed. Stripe's RBI regulations FAQ covers e-mandate rules for recurring card payments and does not state a payment aggregator or PA-CB authorisation. Its export onboarding requires an RBI transaction purpose code, limited to a list Stripe supports (Stripe docs). Authorisation status on RBI's list was not confirmed.
Can Indian freelancers open a Stripe account?
Individuals: Individuals can only accept domestic payments. Stripe states it cannot support international transactions for individuals, so freelancers need a sole proprietorship or other registered entity, and access is by invite only. Businesses: Sole proprietorships, LLPs and companies in India can accept international card payments after opting in to exports, by invite only.
How much does Stripe cost on a $5,000 invoice?
At today's reference rate, Stripe pays about ₹4,37,587 on a $5,000 invoice, a total cost of 7.43% after its fee, FX markup and GST on the fee. The fee table on this page lists each charge separately. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
How long does Stripe take to settle payments to India?
Stripe states: Daily automatic payouts in INR include international card payments processed five business days prior. Timing depends on the payment method, cut-off times and holidays in India and the sending country, so allow extra time for the first payment while KYC and account checks complete.
Does Stripe give a FIRA or FIRC?
Indian users processing international transactions receive payment advice (payee advice) by email from Standard Chartered Bank the same day an export payout is processed, listing the export charges in that payout. Stripe describes this as evidence of export receipts that can be presented to obtain a FIRC.
What are the main drawbacks of Stripe?
The main limitations found on Stripe's own pages are: Invite only: Indian businesses cannot sign up on the website and must request an invite; No individuals: International payments are not supported for individuals; a sole proprietorship, LLP or company is required; Cards and wallets only: Bank transfers (ACH, SEPA.