Stripe vs Dodo Payments (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. Stripe is best for registered Indian businesses selling online to foreign customers who pay by card. Dodo Payments is best for Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. |
| Need: registered Indian businesses selling online to foreign customers who pay by card | Stripe | Stripe is built for this. |
| Need: Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide | Dodo Payments | Dodo Payments is built for this. |
At the mid-market rate
₹4,73,718
Highest payout: Stripe
₹4,38,502
- 1.Stripe₹4,38,502cost 7.43%
1 USD = 94.74 INR, ECB reference rate for 3 Nov 2026. Payout = amount minus fees, converted at the reference rate minus each platform's markup, minus 18% GST on fees where charged. Platforms without published pricing are left out.
How do Stripe and Dodo Payments compare at a glance?
| Attribute | Stripe | Dodo Payments |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Fees | 4.3% intl cards; 3% Visa/Mastercard, 3.5% Amex; + 2% if converted | 4% + 40c + other fees; payout $5 below $1,000, $25 SWIFT |
| FX markup | 2% if converted; Stripe says rate is generally mid-market | No INR conversion; Indian bank converts USD at its rate |
| Settlement | Daily INR payouts; card funds after five business days | Bi-monthly payouts by default; usually 1-2 business days to arrive |
| FIRA | Standard Chartered payment advice; FIRC cost not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Currencies | Cards in 135+ currencies; Amex INR or USD; INR payouts | Customers pay in 80+ currencies; payouts in USD, GBP, EUR only |
| RBI status | Not confirmed | Not confirmed |
| Indian individuals | No; international payments need a registered entity | Yes, with PAN and ID, digital products |
| Indian businesses | Yes, by invite, after opting in to exports | Yes, registered entities after KYB |
| Limits | Up to INR 25 lakh per export transaction for sole proprietorships, LLPs and companies | Minimum payout threshold of $100 by default, adjustable to $50 or above, applied to the combined USD, GBP and EUR balance; up to three linked payout accounts; payouts start only after all verifications are approved. Transaction limits: Not confirmed. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Stripe vs Dodo Payments?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe, $2,000 | ₹11,938 | ₹0 | ₹2,149 | ₹1,75,401 | 7.43% | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Stripe, $5,000 | ₹29,844 | ₹0 | ₹5,372 | ₹4,38,502 | 7.43% | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Stripe, $10,000 | ₹59,688 | ₹0 | ₹10,744 | ₹8,77,004 | 7.43% | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Dodo Payments, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dodo Payments, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dodo Payments, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
What is Stripe and who is it for?
Stripe is a global online payments platform. In India it is available by invite only, and registered Indian businesses can use it to accept international card payments declared as exports, with funds paid out in INR to an Indian bank account. Its India help pages list cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay for international payments and do not describe receiving bank transfers from foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed
- Used by: Sole proprietorships, LLPs and companies in India can accept international card payments after opting in to exports, by invite only. An IEC is required for physical goods and for Amex international payments; optional for services otherwise.
- Best for: Registered Indian businesses selling online to foreign customers who pay by card
What is Dodo Payments and who is it for?
Dodo Payments is a merchant of record platform: it acts as the legal seller of a merchant's digital product, collects payment from the end customer, and handles sales tax, VAT and GST, billing and invoicing; merchants get dispute tools but chargeback liability stays with the merchant. Indian creators and businesses list their product, Dodo sells it to customers abroad, and the net revenue after tax and fees is paid out from a USD, GBP or EUR balance to the merchant's linked bank account. It does not provide local account details for receiving client bank transfers or invoice payments for services.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed
- Used by: Yes. Registered Indian entities complete KYB (incorporation document, business PAN or GSTIN, director and beneficial owner IDs) and link a bank account in the company's legal name.
- Best for: Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide
How do Stripe and Dodo Payments fees and FX markup compare?
What does Stripe charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: International card payment (Visa/Mastercard) with USD or other foreign currency presentment | 4.3% + 2% if currency conversion is required | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Receiving: International Visa/Mastercard card payment charged in INR | 3% (published as 3% for Mastercard and Visa cards issued outside India + 2% if currency conversion is required) | Stripe's cross-border pricing article lists 3% for INR presentment, with any conversion fee charged to the customer by their issuing bank. | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Receiving: International American Express card payment | 3.5% + 2% if currency conversion is required | American Express presentment is INR or USD. | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Receiving: Bank transfer (ACH, SEPA, SWIFT) from a foreign client | Not confirmed | Stripe's India help pages list cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay for international payments and state local payment methods are not supported; receiving bank transfers was not found. | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Currency conversion to INR | 2% currency conversion fee if conversion is required, on top of a rate Stripe says is generally the third-party-sourced mid-market rate; in certain circumstances Stripe may use the rate at which it sources the currency | When foreign currency is converted | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Stripe pays out in INR to the business's Indian bank account on a daily automatic schedule; funds from international card payments are included five business days after processing, and the first payout has a seven day waiting period. No payout fee is listed on the India pricing page; a zero payout fee is not explicitly stated. | When INR is sent to your account | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Dispute received | INR 1,000 per dispute | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Dispute countered | INR 1,000 per dispute, refunded if won | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Billing | 0.7% of billing volume | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Invoicing | 0.4% per paid invoice | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Setup or monthly fee | None on standard pricing | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| GST on fees | Stripe's monthly tax invoice adds GST on its fees: a single 18% IGST line or 9% CGST plus 9% SGST, depending on the state. GST is not charged on Stripe processing fees for any single card transaction up to INR 2,000. Stripe also pays an additional 2% of the monthly invoice amount if a valid TAN is provided on the Dashboard. | Applies to the platform's fee | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
What does Dodo Payments charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: International card and wallet payments via Dodo checkout | 4% + 40c, plus 1.5% for cards and APMs outside the US | Calculated on the total amount including sales tax. Plus 0.5% for subscriptions or usage-based billing; plus 3% for BNPL or PayPal | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: US ACH direct debit (one-time payments) | 1.5%, capped at $15 per transaction | Replaces the card fee; the international and subscription surcharges do not apply | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: SEPA direct debit | 1.5%, capped at EUR 15 per transaction | Replaces the card fee; the international and subscription surcharges do not apply | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: Indian UPI, RuPay and Indian cards (INR) | 4% + 15c (+international payment fees) | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Receiving: Bank push transfer initiated by the customer | Priced as a standard transaction (4% + 40c plus applicable surcharges) | Dodo does not offer local receiving account details for client invoice payments | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Currency conversion to INR | No INR conversion by Dodo: payouts are sent in USD, GBP or EUR and the receiving Indian bank converts at its own rate; the pricing page says standard FX applies on non-USD settlements, and the 2-4% Adaptive Currency FX fee is charged to the buyer at checkout, not on the payout | When foreign currency is converted | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Net revenue (after tax, Dodo fees, refunds and disputes) is paid from the USD, GBP or EUR wallets to a bank account in the merchant's own name. Per the payouts documentation, each payout account is registered for a currency and transfer method: an international SWIFT wire is typically credited in USD with the USD SWIFT payout fee ($25 on the pricing page) deducted, a local bank transfer is credited in local currency with no per-wire fee, and a Payoneer receiving account is treated as a regular bank account. Available methods vary by country and the documentation does not say whether a local INR route is offered for Indian accounts. A $5 fee applies to payouts below $1,000. When a USD transfer reaches an INR account, the Indian bank converts at its own rate and it and any intermediary banks may deduct charges that do not appear on Dodo's payout invoice. | When INR is sent to your account | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Refund | $1 per refund | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dispute | $30 per dispute | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Visa RDR | $18 per dispute | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Ethoca alert | $27 per alert | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Dispute deflection | $15 per deflection | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Payout under $1,000 | $5 | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| USD SWIFT payout (non-US businesses) | $25 | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Bring your own processor | 0.5% | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| Abandoned cart recovery, subscription dunning and payment retries | 5% of the recovered amount | – | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Dodo states it calculates and applies GST on customer sales for Indian merchants based on the customer's location; whether GST is added to Dodo's own fees is not stated on official pages. | Applies to the platform's fee | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
How do Stripe and Dodo Payments compare on settlement speed?
- Stripe: Daily automatic payouts in INR include international card payments processed five business days prior
- Dodo Payments: Payout dates: bi-monthly by default (18th and 4th), weekly on request for higher volumes (11th, 18th, 25th and 4th) or monthly (11th of the following month), moved to the next business day after weekends and US Federal Reserve holidays; the FAQ says funds usually appear 1-2 business days after initiation, while the payouts documentation says arrival depends on the receiving bank and payout rail
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | Daily INR payouts; card funds after five business days | Daily INR payouts to Indian bank; no payout fee listed | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Dodo Payments | Bi-monthly payouts by default; usually 1-2 business days to arrive | USD, GBP or EUR to own bank; $25 SWIFT; bank converts | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
Do Stripe and Dodo Payments provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | Standard Chartered payment advice; FIRC cost not confirmed | Not confirmed | 30 Sept 2026 | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Dodo Payments | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | 30 Sept 2026 | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do Stripe and Dodo Payments support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | Cards in 135+ currencies; Amex INR or USD; INR payouts | International card payment (Visa/Mastercard) with USD or other foreign currency presentment; International Visa/Mastercard card payment charged in INR; International American Express card payment; Bank transfer (ACH, SEPA, SWIFT) from a foreign client | No; international payments need a registered entity | Yes, by invite, after opting in to exports | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Dodo Payments | Customers pay in 80+ currencies; payouts in USD, GBP, EUR only | International card and wallet payments via Dodo checkout; US ACH direct debit (one-time payments); SEPA direct debit; Indian UPI, RuPay and Indian cards (INR); Bank push transfer initiated by the customer | Yes, with PAN and ID, digital products | Yes, registered entities after KYB | Indian founders selling SaaS and digital products worldwide |
What are the strengths and limitations of Stripe and Dodo Payments?
Stripe
- Checkout and API: Developer tools for websites, subscriptions and invoices
- Currency presentment: Customers can pay in their local currency on Visa and Mastercard
- Export documentation: Purpose code captured at onboarding and payment advice emailed for export payouts
- No fixed fees: No setup or monthly fees on standard pricing
- Invite only: Indian businesses cannot sign up on the website and must request an invite
- No individuals: International payments are not supported for individuals; a sole proprietorship, LLP or company is required
- Cards and wallets only: Bank transfers (ACH, SEPA, SWIFT) from foreign clients are not listed as a supported method for India accounts
- Cost: 4.3% on foreign currency card payments plus 2% if currency conversion is required, with 18% GST on fees (7.434% in total), except that GST is not charged on processing fees for single card transactions up to INR 2,000
Dodo Payments
- Tax handling: Dodo states it calculates, collects and files sales tax, VAT and GST for sales it processes
- Individual sign-up: creators and sole proprietors can register as individuals with PAN-based KYC
- No fixed costs: no monthly fee on the standard plan, per the pricing page
- Payout frequency: bi-monthly by default, weekly on request for higher volumes, with a threshold adjustable down to $50
- Digital products only: the merchant acceptance policy targets SaaS, AI products, digital goods, templates, plugins and apps, not client services or invoices
- Per-sale fee: 4% + 40c plus 1.5% for international cards is charged on each sale, calculated on the total including sales tax
- No INR payouts: the INR payout wallet was discontinued, so payouts are sent in USD, GBP or EUR and converted by the receiving bank
- Payout fees: $5 on payouts under $1,000 and $25 on USD SWIFT payouts to non-US businesses (whether both apply to a small SWIFT payout is not stated), plus any receiving and intermediary bank charges
Should you choose Stripe or Dodo Payments?
- Choose Stripe if: you need registered Indian businesses selling online to foreign customers who pay by card.
- Choose Dodo Payments if: you need Indian founders selling SaaS, AI tools, templates and other digital products to buyers worldwide.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; Stripe does.
Which other platforms should you consider besides Stripe and Dodo Payments?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,70,476 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,68,128 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,65,110 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,731 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- Stripe India pricing, International cards with USD/other currency presentment 4.3% + 2% if currency conversion is required; Mastercard and Visa cards issued outside India 3% + 2%; American Express outside India 3.5% + 2%; dispute received INR 1,000.00 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Accept international payments from India (Stripe docs), Stripe is available by invite only in India; the Stripe account must be a registered Indian business (sole proprietorship, limited liability partnership, or company) and can't be an individual; Stripe pays out to you in INR (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Additional pricing information for Indian cross-border sellers, Mainly international: 4.3% per successful charge; currency conversion additional 2% if required (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- How can I open a Stripe account in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Supported payment methods, currencies and businesses for Stripe accounts in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- FIRC for international transactions in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Payout schedule for Stripe accounts in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Payout currency for Stripe accounts in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- GST and TDS on Stripe invoices for India-based accounts (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Export transaction limits for Stripe accounts in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- RBI regulations: context and FAQs (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Localise prices: exchange rate (Stripe docs), When Stripe provides currency conversion services for transactions, we generally apply the mid-market rate based on pricing data sourced from third-party service providers. Mid-market rate is the average between the buy and the sell price of a currency. In certain circumstances, Stripe might apply the rate at which we source the currency owed to you. (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Taxes on Stripe fees for India-based businesses, either a single 18% tax line item (IGST) or a sum of two 9% tax line items (CGST & SGST). GST is not charged on Stripe processing fees for any single Cards transaction with a value up to INR 2,000. (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Stripe Docs: Supported currencies (India selected), Stripe users in the selected country can process charges in the following list of currencies, with these exceptions: Domestic charges can only be in INR; You can charge American Express cards issued outside of India only in INR and USD (checked 8 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Pricing, Domestic (USA) cards and wallets 4% + 40c; International +1.5%; BNPL +3%; PayPal +3%; Domestic (India - INR) 4% + 15c +international payment fees; ACH 1.5% capped at $15, SEPA 1.5% capped at EUR 15, replaces the card fee; bank push transfers priced as standard transactions; Payouts free, fee of $5 if payout <$1000, standard FX applicable on non-USD settlements; USD SWIFT payouts $25; Adaptive Currency 2-4% FX fee charged to customer (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Payouts Process, Bi-monthly payout dates 18th and 4th, weekly 11th/18th/25th/4th, monthly 11th; your bank converts the transfer on arrival at its own exchange rate; USD default threshold $100, lowest $50; INR native wallet discontinued; International SWIFT wire: USD SWIFT payout fee, deducted from the payout; Local bank transfer: none; payout fee is $5 for payouts below $1,000 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Balances, Three native wallets: USD, GBP, EUR (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: FAQ, Q31 GST for Indian merchants; Q35 PAN or GST; Q84 USD, GBP and EUR payout currencies, INR no longer a native payout wallet; Q99 bank and intermediary charges; Q100 payouts usually take 1-2 business days (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Account Verification (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Merchant of Record Introduction, Transaction fees are calculated on the total amount including tax, using standard pricing (example: 4% of $230, 1.5% international, $0.40 fixed) (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Merchant Acceptance Policy (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Docs: Accepted Countries and Territories (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Dodo Payments Terms of Use, Preamble naming group companies (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Stripe vs Dodo Payments
Is Stripe or Dodo Payments cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. At $2,000: Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. At $10,000: Dodo Payments does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, Stripe or Dodo Payments?
Stripe states: Daily automatic payouts in INR include international card payments processed five business days prior. Actual timing also depends on the payment method your client uses, cut-off times and bank holidays, so allow extra time for the first payment on either platform.
Do Stripe and Dodo Payments both provide a FIRA?
Stripe: Payment advice emailed by Standard Chartered Bank on the day each export payout is processed; Stripe says it can be used to obtain a FIRC. Cost of FIRC not confirmed. Dodo Payments: Not confirmed (no FIRA, FIRC or e-FIRC mention found on official pages).
Are Stripe and Dodo Payments authorised by RBI?
Stripe: Not confirmed. Dodo Payments: Not confirmed. RBI publishes the list of authorised cross-border payment aggregators, so check the current list before relying on any platform's own statement about its status. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Can Indian freelancers use both Stripe and Dodo Payments?
Stripe, individuals: Individuals can only accept domestic payments. Stripe states it cannot support international transactions for individuals, so freelancers need a sole proprietorship or other registered entity, and access is by invite only. Dodo Payments, individuals: Yes. Eligibility can change, so confirm on each platform's sign-up pages.
Should I switch from Stripe to Dodo Payments?
Switch only if Dodo Payments pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the Stripe account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first.