Stripe vs Remitly (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Remitly does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. Stripe is best for registered Indian businesses selling online to foreign customers who pay by card. Remitly is best for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Remitly does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Remitly does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Remitly does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. |
| Need: registered Indian businesses selling online to foreign customers who pay by card | Stripe | Stripe is built for this. |
| Need: family and personal remittances sent from the US to India | Remitly | Remitly is built for this. |
At the mid-market rate
₹4,73,577
Highest payout: Stripe
₹4,38,371
- 1.Stripe₹4,38,371cost 7.43%
1 USD = 94.72 INR, ECB reference rate for 3 Nov 2026. Payout = amount minus fees, converted at the reference rate minus each platform's markup, minus 18% GST on fees where charged. Platforms without published pricing are left out.
How do Stripe and Remitly compare at a glance?
| Attribute | Stripe | Remitly |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Fees | 4.3% intl cards; 3% Visa/Mastercard, 3.5% Amex; + 2% if converted | Sender pays $3.99 below $1,000, $0 from $1,000; recipient charges not confirmed |
| FX markup | 2% if converted; Stripe says rate is generally mid-market | Not published; may earn from rate difference |
| Settlement | Daily INR payouts; card funds after five business days | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed |
| FIRA | Standard Chartered payment advice; FIRC cost not confirmed | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages |
| Currencies | Cards in 135+ currencies; Amex INR or USD; INR payouts | USD to INR for US to India corridor |
| RBI status | Not confirmed | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised |
| Indian individuals | No; international payments need a registered entity | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments |
| Indian businesses | Yes, by invite, after opting in to exports | Not supported for receiving |
| Limits | Up to INR 25 lakh per export transaction for sole proprietorships, LLPs and companies | Not confirmed. Remitly's user agreement says it may limit amounts per transaction or in aggregate but publishes no figure on pages reviewed; the promotional first-transfer rate applies to the first $6,000 sent. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Stripe vs Remitly?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe, $2,000 | ₹11,934 | ₹0 | ₹2,148 | ₹1,75,349 | 7.43% | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Stripe, $5,000 | ₹29,835 | ₹0 | ₹5,370 | ₹4,38,371 | 7.43% | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Stripe, $10,000 | ₹59,671 | ₹0 | ₹10,741 | ₹8,76,743 | 7.43% | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Remitly, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What is Stripe and who is it for?
Stripe is a global online payments platform. In India it is available by invite only, and registered Indian businesses can use it to accept international card payments declared as exports, with funds paid out in INR to an Indian bank account. Its India help pages list cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay for international payments and do not describe receiving bank transfers from foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed
- Used by: Sole proprietorships, LLPs and companies in India can accept international card payments after opting in to exports, by invite only. An IEC is required for physical goods and for Amex international payments; optional for services otherwise.
- Best for: Registered Indian businesses selling online to foreign customers who pay by card
What is Remitly and who is it for?
Remitly is a US-based money transfer service that lets senders in countries such as the US send money to recipients abroad, including India. Indian residents receive Remitly transfers as INR into their bank account, through UPI or via cash pickup, with the sender initiating and paying for the transfer. Its consumer service is restricted to personal, family or household purposes, so it is not designed for Indian freelancers or exporters invoicing foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.
- Used by: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
- Best for: Family and personal remittances sent from the US to India
How do Stripe and Remitly fees and FX markup compare?
What does Stripe charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: International card payment (Visa/Mastercard) with USD or other foreign currency presentment | 4.3% + 2% if currency conversion is required | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Receiving: International Visa/Mastercard card payment charged in INR | 3% (published as 3% for Mastercard and Visa cards issued outside India + 2% if currency conversion is required) | Stripe's cross-border pricing article lists 3% for INR presentment, with any conversion fee charged to the customer by their issuing bank. | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Receiving: International American Express card payment | 3.5% + 2% if currency conversion is required | American Express presentment is INR or USD. | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Receiving: Bank transfer (ACH, SEPA, SWIFT) from a foreign client | Not confirmed | Stripe's India help pages list cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay for international payments and state local payment methods are not supported; receiving bank transfers was not found. | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Currency conversion to INR | 2% currency conversion fee if conversion is required, on top of a rate Stripe says is generally the third-party-sourced mid-market rate; in certain circumstances Stripe may use the rate at which it sources the currency | When foreign currency is converted | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Stripe pays out in INR to the business's Indian bank account on a daily automatic schedule; funds from international card payments are included five business days after processing, and the first payout has a seven day waiting period. No payout fee is listed on the India pricing page; a zero payout fee is not explicitly stated. | When INR is sent to your account | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Dispute received | INR 1,000 per dispute | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Dispute countered | INR 1,000 per dispute, refunded if won | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Billing | 0.7% of billing volume | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Invoicing | 0.4% per paid invoice | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Setup or monthly fee | None on standard pricing | – | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| GST on fees | Stripe's monthly tax invoice adds GST on its fees: a single 18% IGST line or 9% CGST plus 9% SGST, depending on the state. GST is not charged on Stripe processing fees for any single card transaction up to INR 2,000. Stripe also pays an additional 2% of the monthly invoice amount if a valid TAN is provided on the Dashboard. | Applies to the platform's fee | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
What does Remitly charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad) | Paid by sender: $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more (US to India) | Consumer, personal-purpose transfers only | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: UPI payout in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: Cash pickup in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | Cash pickup transactions expire after 60 days per the user agreement | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Currency conversion to INR | Markup not published; Remitly's user agreement states it may earn from the difference between the rate at which it buys currency and the rate given to the customer. | When foreign currency is converted | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds arrive in INR directly in the recipient's Indian bank account, UPI or cash pickup. The sender pays the transfer fee and the exchange rate includes a spread Remitly does not publish. Any recipient-side charges are Not confirmed. | When INR is sent to your account | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Transfer fee (US to India, paid by sender) | $3.99 below $1,000; $0 at $1,000 or more | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| First transfer for new customers | No fee, limited-time offer | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| FX conversion | Spread included in rate; markup not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Remitly does not publish GST treatment for Indian recipients; fees are charged to the foreign sender. | Applies to the platform's fee | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
How do Stripe and Remitly compare on settlement speed?
- Stripe: Daily automatic payouts in INR include international card payments processed five business days prior
- Remitly: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | Daily INR payouts; card funds after five business days | Daily INR payouts to Indian bank; no payout fee listed | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Remitly | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | INR to bank, UPI or cash pickup; spread not published | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Do Stripe and Remitly provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | Standard Chartered payment advice; FIRC cost not confirmed | Not confirmed | 30 Sept 2026 | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Remitly | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | 30 Sept 2026 | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do Stripe and Remitly support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stripe | Cards in 135+ currencies; Amex INR or USD; INR payouts | International card payment (Visa/Mastercard) with USD or other foreign currency presentment; International Visa/Mastercard card payment charged in INR; International American Express card payment; Bank transfer (ACH, SEPA, SWIFT) from a foreign client | No; international payments need a registered entity | Yes, by invite, after opting in to exports | Registered Indian businesses selling online to card-paying foreign customers |
| Remitly | USD to INR for US to India corridor | Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad); UPI payout in India; Cash pickup in India | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments | Not supported for receiving | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What are the strengths and limitations of Stripe and Remitly?
Stripe
- Checkout and API: Developer tools for websites, subscriptions and invoices
- Currency presentment: Customers can pay in their local currency on Visa and Mastercard
- Export documentation: Purpose code captured at onboarding and payment advice emailed for export payouts
- No fixed fees: No setup or monthly fees on standard pricing
- Invite only: Indian businesses cannot sign up on the website and must request an invite
- No individuals: International payments are not supported for individuals; a sole proprietorship, LLP or company is required
- Cards and wallets only: Bank transfers (ACH, SEPA, SWIFT) from foreign clients are not listed as a supported method for India accounts
- Cost: 4.3% on foreign currency card payments plus 2% if currency conversion is required, with 18% GST on fees (7.434% in total), except that GST is not charged on processing fees for single card transactions up to INR 2,000
Remitly
- Recipient simplicity: The Indian recipient needs only a bank account or UPI ID; the sender handles the transfer
- Published sender fee: USD to INR fee of $3.99 below $1,000 and $0 at $1,000 or more is shown on Remitly's site
- Multiple payout options: Bank deposit, UPI and cash pickup in India
- Delivery promise: Fee refund if the transfer arrives after the promised date
- Personal use only: The consumer service is limited to personal, family or household purposes, not business or export receipts
- Sender-initiated: Indian users cannot get collection account details or invoice clients through Remitly
- FX markup not disclosed: Remitly states it may earn on the exchange rate spread but does not publish the markup
- No published FIRA: Remitly does not state that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC for export documentation
Should you choose Stripe or Remitly?
- Choose Stripe if: you need registered Indian businesses selling online to foreign customers who pay by card.
- Choose Remitly if: you need family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Remitly does not publish full pricing; Stripe does.
Which other platforms should you consider besides Stripe and Remitly?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,70,336 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,67,989 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,64,971 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,593 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- Stripe India pricing, International cards with USD/other currency presentment 4.3% + 2% if currency conversion is required; Mastercard and Visa cards issued outside India 3% + 2%; American Express outside India 3.5% + 2%; dispute received INR 1,000.00 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Accept international payments from India (Stripe docs), Stripe is available by invite only in India; the Stripe account must be a registered Indian business (sole proprietorship, limited liability partnership, or company) and can't be an individual; Stripe pays out to you in INR (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Additional pricing information for Indian cross-border sellers, Mainly international: 4.3% per successful charge; currency conversion additional 2% if required (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- How can I open a Stripe account in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Supported payment methods, currencies and businesses for Stripe accounts in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- FIRC for international transactions in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Payout schedule for Stripe accounts in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Payout currency for Stripe accounts in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- GST and TDS on Stripe invoices for India-based accounts (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Export transaction limits for Stripe accounts in India (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- RBI regulations: context and FAQs (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Localise prices: exchange rate (Stripe docs), When Stripe provides currency conversion services for transactions, we generally apply the mid-market rate based on pricing data sourced from third-party service providers. Mid-market rate is the average between the buy and the sell price of a currency. In certain circumstances, Stripe might apply the rate at which we source the currency owed to you. (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Taxes on Stripe fees for India-based businesses, either a single 18% tax line item (IGST) or a sum of two 9% tax line items (CGST & SGST). GST is not charged on Stripe processing fees for any single Cards transaction with a value up to INR 2,000. (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Stripe Docs: Supported currencies (India selected), Stripe users in the selected country can process charges in the following list of currencies, with these exceptions: Domestic charges can only be in INR; You can charge American Express cards issued outside of India only in INR and USD (checked 8 Oct 2026)
- Remitly: Send Money to India from the US (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly USD to INR rates and fees, Fee $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more; promotional rate on first $6,000 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly User Agreement, Consumer use for personal, family or household purposes; FX spread disclosure; US residency and age 18; delivery promise; Remitly may limit transfer amounts per transaction or in aggregate; cash pickup cancelled if not collected within 60 days (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly Business, For US-based companies paying freelancers, contractors and vendors abroad (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Stripe vs Remitly
Is Stripe or Remitly cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Remitly does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. At $2,000: Remitly does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. At $10,000: Remitly does not publish full pricing; Stripe does. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, Stripe or Remitly?
Stripe states: Daily automatic payouts in INR include international card payments processed five business days prior. Remitly states: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed..
Do Stripe and Remitly both provide a FIRA?
Stripe: Payment advice emailed by Standard Chartered Bank on the day each export payout is processed; Stripe says it can be used to obtain a FIRC. Cost of FIRC not confirmed. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly does not state on its pages that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC to Indian recipients..
Are Stripe and Remitly authorised by RBI?
Stripe: Not confirmed. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.. RBI publishes the list of authorised cross-border payment aggregators, so check the current list before relying on any platform's own statement about its status.
Can Indian freelancers use both Stripe and Remitly?
Stripe, individuals: Individuals can only accept domestic payments. Stripe states it cannot support international transactions for individuals, so freelancers need a sole proprietorship or other registered entity, and access is by invite only. Remitly, individuals: Indian residents can receive personal transfers sent by family or friends abroad. Eligibility can change, so confirm on each platform's sign-up pages.
Should I switch from Stripe to Remitly?
Switch only if Remitly pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the Stripe account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.