Tazapay vs Remitly (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Tazapay is best for Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries, including through cards and local payment methods. Remitly is best for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Need: Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries, including through cards and local payment methods | Tazapay | Tazapay is built for this. |
| Need: family and personal remittances sent from the US to India | Remitly | Remitly is built for this. |
How do Tazapay and Remitly compare at a glance?
| Attribute | Tazapay | Remitly |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Fees | Collection fee by contract; cards 3.8% + USD 0.5; + other fees | Sender pays $3.99 below $1,000, $0 from $1,000; recipient charges not confirmed |
| FX markup | Not published; rate shown before you confirm | Not published; may earn from rate difference |
| Settlement | Weekly default; local same day to T+1, SWIFT to T+5 | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed |
| FIRA | USD 4 FIRC fee; NOC for AD1 bank FIRA | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages |
| Currencies | Collections in USD, EUR, GBP, AUD, CAD, AED and more; INR settlement | USD to INR for US to India corridor |
| RBI status | Not confirmed on RBI PA-CB list; cites Rupee Drawing Arrangement | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised |
| Indian individuals | Not confirmed | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments |
| Indian businesses | Yes, with India KYB documents | Not supported for receiving |
| Limits | No daily transaction limit; per-transaction limits vary by payment method and country (for example, cards up to USD 15,000 in many markets) | Not confirmed. Remitly's user agreement says it may limit amounts per transaction or in aggregate but publishes no figure on pages reviewed; the promotional first-transfer rate applies to the first $6,000 sent. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Tazapay vs Remitly?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tazapay, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Tazapay, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Tazapay, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Remitly, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What is Tazapay and who is it for?
Tazapay is a Singapore-based cross-border payments company offering a payment gateway, Global Collection Accounts (virtual bank accounts and stablecoin wallets) and payouts. Indian businesses can collect from overseas buyers by card, local payment methods or bank transfer into a collection account, then settle the balance to an Indian bank account. Onboarding is business-focused, with India-specific KYB documents such as GST, IEC and Udyam registration.
- Regulated by: Not on an RBI PA-CB list that could be confirmed; Tazapay states Tazapay Canada Corp. operates as an overseas principal under the RBI Rupee Drawing Arrangement, which its About page describes as an arrangement for NRI remittances
- Used by: Yes. Tazapay lists India-specific KYB documents (GST, Certificate of Incorporation, IEC, Udyam, MGT 7, MOA, AOA). It states it cannot support domestic India transactions.
- Best for: Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries, including through cards and local payment methods
What is Remitly and who is it for?
Remitly is a US-based money transfer service that lets senders in countries such as the US send money to recipients abroad, including India. Indian residents receive Remitly transfers as INR into their bank account, through UPI or via cash pickup, with the sender initiating and paying for the transfer. Its consumer service is restricted to personal, family or household purposes, so it is not designed for Indian freelancers or exporters invoicing foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.
- Used by: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
- Best for: Family and personal remittances sent from the US to India
How do Tazapay and Remitly fees and FX markup compare?
What does Tazapay charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Global Collection Account (local bank transfer or SWIFT into a virtual account) | Not confirmed (Contact sales) | Virtual accounts must be requested and approved; review can take a few business days | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Receiving: International card payment via payment gateway or payment link | 3.8% + USD 0.5 for non-high-risk industries | Authentication fee USD 0.2, waived for successful transactions | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Receiving: Alternative payment methods (local wallets and bank transfer methods abroad) | 0.8% to 2.5% | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Receiving: Stablecoin wallet (USDC or USDT) | Not confirmed | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Currency conversion to INR | Not published; Tazapay states it sources rates from multiple partners and shows the exact rate before you confirm; its pricing page lists customized FX, volume-based discounts and payment-method-specific rates under a Custom tier for high-volume businesses, with no thresholds published | When foreign currency is converted | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds in the Tazapay balance are settled to the business's bank account. Tazapay's Schedule A (1 May 2026) lists local currency settlement at USD 5 below USD 1,000 and free above, and wire transfer settlement at USD 35 below USD 10,000 and free above; its settlement fees article gives the wire threshold as USD 100,000 instead. A signed Pricing Addendum can override these fees. The FX rate for INR conversion is shown before confirmation; markup not published. | When INR is sent to your account | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Account opening or closing | Free | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| FIRC (India) | USD 4 (FIRC for Indian Customers, Schedule A and pricing page) | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Local currency settlement under USD 1,000 | USD 5 (free above USD 1,000, per Schedule A) | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| SWIFT/wire settlement | USD 35 below USD 10,000, free above (Schedule A, 1 May 2026); the settlement fees help article says below USD 100,000 | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Refunds | USD 1 (APMs), USD 2 (cards) | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Card dispute | USD 15 (up to EUR 25 by network) | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Pre-dispute alerts | USD 15 | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Arbitration | USD 500 / EUR 600, refunded if resolved in the merchant's favour | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Authentication fee | USD 0.2, waived for successful transactions | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Payouts to third parties | Local payouts USD 2 to 5; SWIFT USD 5 to 35 (pricing page) | – | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Tazapay does not state on its pricing or fee pages whether GST applies to its fees for Indian customers. | Applies to the platform's fee | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
What does Remitly charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad) | Paid by sender: $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more (US to India) | Consumer, personal-purpose transfers only | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: UPI payout in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: Cash pickup in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | Cash pickup transactions expire after 60 days per the user agreement | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Currency conversion to INR | Markup not published; Remitly's user agreement states it may earn from the difference between the rate at which it buys currency and the rate given to the customer. | When foreign currency is converted | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds arrive in INR directly in the recipient's Indian bank account, UPI or cash pickup. The sender pays the transfer fee and the exchange rate includes a spread Remitly does not publish. Any recipient-side charges are Not confirmed. | When INR is sent to your account | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Transfer fee (US to India, paid by sender) | $3.99 below $1,000; $0 at $1,000 or more | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| First transfer for new customers | No fee, limited-time offer | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| FX conversion | Spread included in rate; markup not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Remitly does not publish GST treatment for Indian recipients; fees are charged to the foreign sender. | Applies to the platform's fee | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
How do Tazapay and Remitly compare on settlement speed?
- Tazapay: Weekly by default on your signup weekday (daily or biweekly on request); local currency settlement same day to T+1, SWIFT T+1 to T+5; Tazapay notes your bank may take up to T+1 business day after the payout day
- Remitly: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tazapay | Weekly default; local same day to T+1, SWIFT to T+5 | Local USD 5 under USD 1,000; wire USD 35, threshold conflicting | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Remitly | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | INR to bank, UPI or cash pickup; spread not published | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Do Tazapay and Remitly provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tazapay | USD 4 FIRC fee; NOC for AD1 bank FIRA | Not confirmed on RBI PA-CB list; cites Rupee Drawing Arrangement | 30 Sept 2026 | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Remitly | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | 30 Sept 2026 | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do Tazapay and Remitly support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tazapay | Collections in USD, EUR, GBP, AUD, CAD, AED and more; INR settlement | Global Collection Account (local bank transfer or SWIFT into a virtual account); International card payment via payment gateway or payment link; Alternative payment methods (local wallets and bank transfer methods abroad); Stablecoin wallet (USDC or USDT) | Not confirmed | Yes, with India KYB documents | Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries |
| Remitly | USD to INR for US to India corridor | Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad); UPI payout in India; Cash pickup in India | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments | Not supported for receiving | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What are the strengths and limitations of Tazapay and Remitly?
Tazapay
- Payment method coverage: cards and local payment methods in many countries alongside bank transfer collections
- Published settlement fees: Schedule A lists local currency settlement free above USD 1,000 and USD 5 below
- India documentation: lists a USD 4 FIRC fee in its pricing page and Schedule A, and issues an NOC to support FIRA/FIRC requests
- Licensing elsewhere: MAS Major Payment Institution licence in Singapore, plus FinCEN MSB registration and money transmitter licences in five US states, FINTRAC MSB registration in Canada, AUSTRAC registration in Australia and an MSO licence in Hong Kong
- Collection account pricing: not published; set in a signed Pricing Addendum
- FX markup: not published; conflicting wire settlement threshold (USD 10,000 in Schedule A, USD 100,000 in a help article)
- Settlement cadence: weekly by default unless a custom cycle is agreed
- Individuals: onboarding is built around business KYB; eligibility of Indian freelancers without a registered business is not confirmed
Remitly
- Recipient simplicity: The Indian recipient needs only a bank account or UPI ID; the sender handles the transfer
- Published sender fee: USD to INR fee of $3.99 below $1,000 and $0 at $1,000 or more is shown on Remitly's site
- Multiple payout options: Bank deposit, UPI and cash pickup in India
- Delivery promise: Fee refund if the transfer arrives after the promised date
- Personal use only: The consumer service is limited to personal, family or household purposes, not business or export receipts
- Sender-initiated: Indian users cannot get collection account details or invoice clients through Remitly
- FX markup not disclosed: Remitly states it may earn on the exchange rate spread but does not publish the markup
- No published FIRA: Remitly does not state that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC for export documentation
Should you choose Tazapay or Remitly?
- Choose Tazapay if: you need Indian businesses collecting B2B or e-commerce payments from many countries, including through cards and local payment methods.
- Choose Remitly if: you need family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users.
Which other platforms should you consider besides Tazapay and Remitly?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,70,498 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,68,150 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,65,132 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,753 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 3 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- Tazapay Pricing, Global Collection Accounts: *Contact sales; Global Cards 3.8% + USD 0.5; APMs 0.8%-2.5%; FIRC (India) USD 4; Custom tier: Volume-Based Discounts, Payment Method-Specific Rates, Customized FX (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Tazapay Schedule A - Fees and Assessments (last updated 1 May 2026), Global Collection Accounts Collection Fee: Subject to Pricing Addendum; Local Currency Settlement (< USD 1,000) USD 5; Wire Transfer Settlement (< USD 10,000) USD 35, (> USD 10,000) Free; FIRC for Indian Customers USD 4 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Tazapay Licences, India - Reserve Bank of India (RBI) (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Tazapay Global Collection Accounts (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- About Tazapay (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- What is the fee for Tazapay's service? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- How much will it cost me to settle funds?, For wire transfers (USD/Foreign Currency), it's 35 USD per settlement if it's less than 100,000 USD; local currency 5 USD if less than 1,000 USD (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- What FX rate is charged?, The exact FX rate will be transparently displayed before you confirm your transaction (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- When will I receive my settlement? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Payout options when receiving payment (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- How long does it take to transfer into my bank account? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- How do I get an FIRA? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Who issues the FIRA/FIRC? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Is Tazapay licensed? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- KYB documents by country (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- KYC/KYB documents required (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- What currencies does Tazapay support? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Is there a daily transaction limit? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Is there a per transaction limit? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- What is a collection account on Tazapay? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- How long does it take to get a virtual account approved? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly: Send Money to India from the US (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly USD to INR rates and fees, Fee $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more; promotional rate on first $6,000 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly User Agreement, Consumer use for personal, family or household purposes; FX spread disclosure; US residency and age 18; delivery promise; Remitly may limit transfer amounts per transaction or in aggregate; cash pickup cancelled if not collected within 60 days (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly Business, For US-based companies paying freelancers, contractors and vendors abroad (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Tazapay vs Remitly
Is Tazapay or Remitly cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $2,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $10,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, Tazapay or Remitly?
Tazapay states: Weekly by default on your signup weekday (daily or biweekly on request); local currency settlement same day to T+1, SWIFT T+1 to T+5; Tazapay notes your bank may take up to T+1 business day after the payout day. Specific timings Not confirmed..
Do Tazapay and Remitly both provide a FIRA?
Tazapay: FIRC fee of USD 4 per certificate for Indian customers listed on the pricing page; Tazapay also provides an NOC to support getting a FIRA/FIRC from an AD1 bank. Timing not confirmed. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly does not state on its pages that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC to Indian recipients..
Are Tazapay and Remitly authorised by RBI?
Tazapay: Not on an RBI PA-CB list that could be confirmed; Tazapay states Tazapay Canada Corp. operates as an overseas principal under the RBI Rupee Drawing Arrangement, which its About page describes as an arrangement for NRI remittances. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed..
Can Indian freelancers use both Tazapay and Remitly?
Tazapay, individuals: Not confirmed. Tazapay's KYC page lists documents for sole proprietorships, but no official page confirms that Indian individual freelancers can open an account. Remitly, individuals: Indian residents can receive personal transfers sent by family or friends abroad. Receiving payments for freelance or export services is outside the consumer service's stated personal, family or household purpose.
Should I switch from Tazapay to Remitly?
Switch only if Remitly pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the Tazapay account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.