TransFi vs Remitly (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. TransFi is best for businesses integrating an API for cross-border collections, payouts and fiat-stablecoin conversion in its supported countries. Remitly is best for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Need: businesses integrating an API for cross-border collections, payouts and fiat-stablecoin conversion in its supported countries | TransFi | TransFi is built for this. |
| Need: family and personal remittances sent from the US to India | Remitly | Remitly is built for this. |
How do TransFi and Remitly compare at a glance?
| Attribute | TransFi | Remitly |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Fees | Not published; India not on supported countries list | Sender pays $3.99 below $1,000, $0 from $1,000; recipient charges not confirmed |
| FX markup | Not confirmed; no FX markup published | Not published; may earn from rate difference |
| Settlement | Not confirmed for India | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed |
| FIRA | Not confirmed; not mentioned on official pages | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages |
| Currencies | States 40+ currencies, 100+ tokens; INR not confirmed | USD to INR for US to India corridor |
| RBI status | Not confirmed; no RBI authorisation documented | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised |
| Indian individuals | Not confirmed; India not on supported list | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments |
| Indian businesses | Not confirmed; India not on supported list | Not supported for receiving |
| Limits | Not confirmed; KYB levels are triggered by per-transaction, daily or monthly cumulative thresholds, which TransFi asks customers to obtain from their BD Manager or support | Not confirmed. Remitly's user agreement says it may limit amounts per transaction or in aggregate but publishes no figure on pages reviewed; the promotional first-transfer rate applies to the first $6,000 sent. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with TransFi vs Remitly?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TransFi, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| TransFi, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| TransFi, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Remitly, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What is TransFi and who is it for?
TransFi is a cross-border payments infrastructure company offering collections, payouts, treasury and fiat-to-stablecoin conversion through an API and business products such as BizPay and Checkout. It routes payments over stablecoin rails and supports digital assets such as USDT and USDC. India does not appear on the Supported Countries list in its developer documentation (updated 4 August 2026), so it is not a confirmed route for Indian residents receiving money from abroad.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed; TransFi's policy page lists an affiliate, Trans-Fi India Private Limited, but documents no RBI authorisation
- Used by: Not confirmed for Indian businesses. India is not on the Supported Countries list in the developer documentation, although the homepage mentions India in a South Asia section.
- Best for: Businesses integrating an API for cross-border collections, payouts and fiat-stablecoin conversion in its supported countries
What is Remitly and who is it for?
Remitly is a US-based money transfer service that lets senders in countries such as the US send money to recipients abroad, including India. Indian residents receive Remitly transfers as INR into their bank account, through UPI or via cash pickup, with the sender initiating and paying for the transfer. Its consumer service is restricted to personal, family or household purposes, so it is not designed for Indian freelancers or exporters invoicing foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.
- Used by: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
- Best for: Family and personal remittances sent from the US to India
How do TransFi and Remitly fees and FX markup compare?
What does TransFi charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Virtual account (IBAN) for bank transfers, e.g. EUR | Not confirmed | Documented for supported countries; availability to Indian residents not confirmed | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Receiving: Local payment methods (bank transfer, cards, wallets) via payin order | Not confirmed | Funds land on the TransFi balance in the chosen currency, which can be a stablecoin | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Receiving: Crypto or stablecoin deposit address | Not confirmed | – | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Currency conversion to INR | Not confirmed; no FX markup is published | When foreign currency is converted | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Not confirmed. TransFi documents settlement from the TransFi balance to a bank account but publishes no INR payout route or cost for Indian recipients. | When INR is sent to your account | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Account and transaction fees | As agreed between TransFi and the customer; not published | – | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed; no GST treatment is stated | Applies to the platform's fee | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
What does Remitly charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad) | Paid by sender: $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more (US to India) | Consumer, personal-purpose transfers only | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: UPI payout in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: Cash pickup in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | Cash pickup transactions expire after 60 days per the user agreement | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Currency conversion to INR | Markup not published; Remitly's user agreement states it may earn from the difference between the rate at which it buys currency and the rate given to the customer. | When foreign currency is converted | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds arrive in INR directly in the recipient's Indian bank account, UPI or cash pickup. The sender pays the transfer fee and the exchange rate includes a spread Remitly does not publish. Any recipient-side charges are Not confirmed. | When INR is sent to your account | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Transfer fee (US to India, paid by sender) | $3.99 below $1,000; $0 at $1,000 or more | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| First transfer for new customers | No fee, limited-time offer | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| FX conversion | Spread included in rate; markup not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Remitly does not publish GST treatment for Indian recipients; fees are charged to the foreign sender. | Applies to the platform's fee | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
How do TransFi and Remitly compare on settlement speed?
- TransFi: Not confirmed for India; TransFi states collected money lands on the TransFi balance, ready to pay out, swap or settle to a bank account, but no India settlement time is stated
- Remitly: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| TransFi | Not confirmed for India | Not confirmed; no INR payout route published | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Remitly | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | INR to bank, UPI or cash pickup; spread not published | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Do TransFi and Remitly provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TransFi | Not confirmed; not mentioned on official pages | Not confirmed; no RBI authorisation documented | 30 Sept 2026 | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Remitly | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | 30 Sept 2026 | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do TransFi and Remitly support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TransFi | States 40+ currencies, 100+ tokens; INR not confirmed | Virtual account (IBAN) for bank transfers, e.g. EUR; Local payment methods (bank transfer, cards, wallets) via payin order; Crypto or stablecoin deposit address | Not confirmed; India not on supported list | Not confirmed; India not on supported list | Businesses using an API for collections, payouts and stablecoin conversion |
| Remitly | USD to INR for US to India corridor | Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad); UPI payout in India; Cash pickup in India | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments | Not supported for receiving | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What are the strengths and limitations of TransFi and Remitly?
TransFi
- Collection options: Supports bank transfers, cards, local wallets, virtual accounts and crypto deposits in supported countries
- Stablecoin rails: Converts between fiat and digital assets within one platform
- API-first: Developer documentation covers collections, payouts, settlements and webhooks
- Registration disclosed: TransFi Canada Inc. states a FINTRAC Money Service Business registration (M24519990)
- India coverage: India is not on the Supported Countries list in TransFi's developer documentation
- Pricing: No public fee schedule or FX markup; fees are agreed per customer
- India compliance: No FIRA/FIRC, purpose code handling for Indian exports or RBI authorisation is documented
- Digital assets: Flows that involve crypto or stablecoins may not suit Indian exporters who need standard inward remittance documentation
Remitly
- Recipient simplicity: The Indian recipient needs only a bank account or UPI ID; the sender handles the transfer
- Published sender fee: USD to INR fee of $3.99 below $1,000 and $0 at $1,000 or more is shown on Remitly's site
- Multiple payout options: Bank deposit, UPI and cash pickup in India
- Delivery promise: Fee refund if the transfer arrives after the promised date
- Personal use only: The consumer service is limited to personal, family or household purposes, not business or export receipts
- Sender-initiated: Indian users cannot get collection account details or invoice clients through Remitly
- FX markup not disclosed: Remitly states it may earn on the exchange rate spread but does not publish the markup
- No published FIRA: Remitly does not state that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC for export documentation
Should you choose TransFi or Remitly?
- Choose TransFi if: you need businesses integrating an API for cross-border collections, payouts and fiat-stablecoin conversion in its supported countries.
- Choose Remitly if: you need family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users.
Which other platforms should you consider besides TransFi and Remitly?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,70,030 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,67,685 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,64,669 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,64,291 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- TransFi homepage, 40+ currencies, 130+ digital assets; South Asia section (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Docs: Supported Countries, Country list, updated 2026-08-04; India not listed (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Docs: Collections, Four ways to collect; funds land on TransFi balance, ready to pay out, swap or settle to bank (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Docs: Collect via a Virtual Account (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Docs: Collect with a Local Payment Method (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Docs: KYB levels for Business User (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Compliance Policies, FINTRAC MSB M24519990; Annexure A group entities (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Business Services Agreement, Definition of Fees (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- TransFi Payment Methods, 40+ currencies and 100+ tokens; 100+ countries (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly: Send Money to India from the US (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly USD to INR rates and fees, Fee $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more; promotional rate on first $6,000 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly User Agreement, Consumer use for personal, family or household purposes; FX spread disclosure; US residency and age 18; delivery promise; Remitly may limit transfer amounts per transaction or in aggregate; cash pickup cancelled if not collected within 60 days (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly Business, For US-based companies paying freelancers, contractors and vendors abroad (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about TransFi vs Remitly
Is TransFi or Remitly cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $2,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $10,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, TransFi or Remitly?
TransFi states: Not confirmed for India; TransFi states collected money lands on the TransFi balance, ready to pay out, swap or settle to a bank account, but no India settlement time is stated. Remitly states: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late.
Do TransFi and Remitly both provide a FIRA?
TransFi: Not confirmed; no FIRA or FIRC is mentioned on TransFi's official pages. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly does not state on its pages that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC to Indian recipients.. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Are TransFi and Remitly authorised by RBI?
TransFi: Not confirmed; TransFi's policy page lists an affiliate, Trans-Fi India Private Limited, but documents no RBI authorisation. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Can Indian freelancers use both TransFi and Remitly?
TransFi, individuals: Not confirmed. TransFi's products are aimed at businesses, and India is not on its documented Supported Countries list. Remitly, individuals: Indian residents can receive personal transfers sent by family or friends abroad. Receiving payments for freelance or export services is outside the consumer service's stated personal, family or household purpose.
Should I switch from TransFi to Remitly?
Switch only if Remitly pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the TransFi account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.