Winvesta vs Remitly (2026): Which Is Better for Receiving International Payments in India?
- Author:
- Manoj Sharma
- Verified by:
- Editorial team
- Published:
- Last modified:
Short answer
The better choice depends on how your clients pay and which documents you need. Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Winvesta is best for Indian freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 a month per currency. Remitly is best for family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
| Use case | Better option | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Invoices around $2,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $5,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Invoices around $10,000 | Not comparable | Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. |
| Need: Indian freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 a month per currency | Winvesta | Winvesta is built for this. |
| Need: family and personal remittances sent from the US to India | Remitly | Remitly is built for this. |
How do Winvesta and Remitly compare at a glance?
| Attribute | Winvesta | Remitly |
|---|---|---|
| Best for | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Fees | 0.99% + USD 3 to 2,000/month; 0.2% above 100,000; GST conflicting | Sender pays $3.99 below $1,000, $0 from $1,000; recipient charges not confirmed |
| FX markup | States 0% markup on USD; non-USD not confirmed | Not published; may earn from rate difference |
| Settlement | USD 1 business day, EUR/GBP 2; 1 pm IST cut-off | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed |
| FIRA | Free e-FIRA emailed within 24 hours | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages |
| Currencies | Conflicting: 30+ or 37+ currencies; local USD, EUR, GBP, CAD | USD to INR for US to India corridor |
| RBI status | States RBI compliant; PA-CB not confirmed on RBI page | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised |
| Indian individuals | Yes, freelancers with PAN and Aadhaar | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments |
| Indian businesses | Yes, with business registration details | Not supported for receiving |
| Limits | No limits on incoming transactions in USD and 30 other currencies; funds may be held in the account for a maximum of 9 months | Not confirmed. Remitly's user agreement says it may limit amounts per transaction or in aggregate but publishes no figure on pages reviewed; the promotional first-transfer rate applies to the first $6,000 sent. |
How much INR do you receive on $2,000, $5,000 and $10,000 with Winvesta vs Remitly?
Each row applies the platform's published fee, FX markup and GST on the fee to the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026.
| Platform and invoice | Fee | FX markup | GST | INR received | Cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Winvesta, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Winvesta, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Winvesta, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Remitly, $2,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $5,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Remitly, $10,000 | – | – | – | Not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What is Winvesta and who is it for?
Winvesta, run by Winvesta India Technologies Private Limited, offers a Global Collections Account (marketed as a multi-currency account) that gives Indian freelancers and businesses local foreign-currency account details. Clients pay into these accounts, and the user withdraws the funds to an Indian bank account in INR with an e-FIRA. Winvesta also offers card collections through payment links and a US stock investment app.
- Regulated by: States it is an online payment gateway service provider that facilitates cross-border collections under RBI regulations; RBI PA-CB authorisation not confirmed on an RBI page
- Used by: Yes. Indian businesses can open an account with PAN, Aadhaar, a marketing channel link, bank details and business registration details.
- Best for: Indian freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 a month per currency
What is Remitly and who is it for?
Remitly is a US-based money transfer service that lets senders in countries such as the US send money to recipients abroad, including India. Indian residents receive Remitly transfers as INR into their bank account, through UPI or via cash pickup, with the sender initiating and paying for the transfer. Its consumer service is restricted to personal, family or household purposes, so it is not designed for Indian freelancers or exporters invoicing foreign clients.
- Regulated by: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed.
- Used by: Not supported for receiving. Remitly Business is for US-based companies sending payments abroad; no page reviewed offers Indian businesses a way to receive or collect payments.
- Best for: Family and personal remittances sent from the US to India
How do Winvesta and Remitly fees and FX markup compare?
What does Winvesta charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: US ACH, FedWire or RTP to local USD account details | USD 3 + 0.99% per transaction (monthly USD volume up to 2,000); custom from 2,000 to 100,000 a month; 0.2% above 100,000 a month | ACH typically 1-3 business days; RTP instant; FedWire same day | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Receiving: SWIFT to USD account details (payers outside the US) | Same USD collection fee as above | Usually 1-2 business days depending on the banks involved; no limit on the amount received | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Receiving: EUR and GBP local accounts | EUR 5 + 0.99% and GBP 5 + 0.99% per transaction (monthly volume up to 2,000 in that currency); custom from 2,000 to 100,000; 0.2% above 100,000 a month | – | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Receiving: Card payments via payment links | Not confirmed | Help centre examples use an MDR with 18% GST on the MDR, but the rate itself is not confirmed on a pricing page | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Currency conversion to INR | Product page states '0% forex markup' and 'ZERO FX on USD'; the applied FX rate and booking time are shown after withdrawal; non-USD markup Not confirmed | When foreign currency is converted | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds are withdrawn to the user's Indian bank account in INR. USD reaches the bank 1 business day after processing and EUR or GBP 2 business days after, with a 1:00 PM IST cut-off. A separate fee for standard withdrawals is Not confirmed; priority processing for USD typically costs an additional $15-25. | When INR is sent to your account | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Account opening, set-up or maintenance | None stated: a Winvesta blog post (12 January 2026) says there are no fees for signing up, maintaining the account or receiving wire transfers | – | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Minimum balance | None | – | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Priority withdrawal processing | USD typically $15-25 extra; non-USD varies | – | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| e-FIRA | Free | – | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Other standard-plan currencies | AED 30, AUD 10, CHF 10, CZK 140, DKK 45, HKD 50, NOK 65, PLN 25, SEK 70 or SGD 10 + 0.99% per transaction; unlisted currencies equivalent of USD 5 + 0.99%; the product-page calculator uses CAD 7 + 0.99% for CAD, which the charges FAQ does not list | – | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| GST on fees | Not stated in one place. The charges FAQ states 18% GST will be levied on Winvesta fees for every non-JPMC account and does not explain which accounts are JPMC accounts. The fee calculator on the multi-currency account page (script) applies GST at 18% of the payment fee only for non-USD currencies and shows no GST for USD. A Winvesta blog post dated 12 January 2026 says 'No extra GST charges apply to your transactions'. For card collections, GST applies only to the MDR fee. | Applies to the platform's fee | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
What does Remitly charge?
| Fee type | Amount | When it applies | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Receiving: Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad) | Paid by sender: $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more (US to India) | Consumer, personal-purpose transfers only | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: UPI payout in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Receiving: Cash pickup in India | Paid by sender; Not confirmed whether it differs from bank deposit | Cash pickup transactions expire after 60 days per the user agreement | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Currency conversion to INR | Markup not published; Remitly's user agreement states it may earn from the difference between the rate at which it buys currency and the rate given to the customer. | When foreign currency is converted | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Payout to an Indian bank | Funds arrive in INR directly in the recipient's Indian bank account, UPI or cash pickup. The sender pays the transfer fee and the exchange rate includes a spread Remitly does not publish. Any recipient-side charges are Not confirmed. | When INR is sent to your account | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| Transfer fee (US to India, paid by sender) | $3.99 below $1,000; $0 at $1,000 or more | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| First transfer for new customers | No fee, limited-time offer | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| FX conversion | Spread included in rate; markup not published | – | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
| GST on fees | Not confirmed. Remitly does not publish GST treatment for Indian recipients; fees are charged to the foreign sender. | Applies to the platform's fee | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
How do Winvesta and Remitly compare on settlement speed?
- Winvesta: USD withdrawals reach the Indian bank 1 business day after processing (1:00 PM IST cut-off); EUR and GBP 2 business days
- Remitly: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed.
| Platform | Settlement to India | Payout route | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Winvesta | USD 1 business day, EUR/GBP 2; 1 pm IST cut-off | INR to Indian bank; standard fee not confirmed, priority $15-25 | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Remitly | Promised time per transfer; specific timings not confirmed | INR to bank, UPI or cash pickup; spread not published | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Do Winvesta and Remitly provide FIRA and e-BRC, and are they RBI PA-CB authorised?
| Platform | FIRA and e-BRC | RBI status | Checked | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Winvesta | Free e-FIRA emailed within 24 hours | States RBI compliant; PA-CB not confirmed on RBI page | 30 Sept 2026 | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Remitly | Not confirmed; not stated on Remitly pages | Not confirmed; not shown as PA-CB authorised | 30 Sept 2026 | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
Which currencies, countries and payment methods do Winvesta and Remitly support?
| Platform | Currencies | Payment methods | Indian individuals | Indian businesses | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Winvesta | Conflicting: 30+ or 37+ currencies; local USD, EUR, GBP, CAD | US ACH, FedWire or RTP to local USD account details; SWIFT to USD account details (payers outside the US); EUR and GBP local accounts; Card payments via payment links | Yes, freelancers with PAN and Aadhaar | Yes, with business registration details | Freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 monthly per currency |
| Remitly | USD to INR for US to India corridor | Bank deposit to an Indian bank account (sent by a Remitly customer abroad); UPI payout in India; Cash pickup in India | Personal transfers only; not freelance or export payments | Not supported for receiving | Family and personal remittances from the US to India |
What are the strengths and limitations of Winvesta and Remitly?
Winvesta
- Published USD pricing: $3 + 0.99% per transaction on the standard plan, listed per currency in the help centre
- FX markup: States '0% forex markup' and 'ZERO FX on USD' on its multi-currency account page
- FIRA: Free e-FIRA emailed within 24 hours and downloadable from the dashboard
- Limits: States no limits on incoming transactions in USD and 30 other currencies
- Mid-volume pricing: collections between 2,000 and 100,000 a month per currency are on custom pricing that is not published, and tiers depend on monthly volume rather than invoice size
- GST: the charges FAQ adds 18% GST to fees for non-JPMC accounts without defining them; the product-page calculator applies it only to non-USD fees, and blog pages say 'No GST'
- Holding period: Funds can be held in the account for a maximum of 9 months
- No outgoing payments: Payments cannot be made directly from the collections account
Remitly
- Recipient simplicity: The Indian recipient needs only a bank account or UPI ID; the sender handles the transfer
- Published sender fee: USD to INR fee of $3.99 below $1,000 and $0 at $1,000 or more is shown on Remitly's site
- Multiple payout options: Bank deposit, UPI and cash pickup in India
- Delivery promise: Fee refund if the transfer arrives after the promised date
- Personal use only: The consumer service is limited to personal, family or household purposes, not business or export receipts
- Sender-initiated: Indian users cannot get collection account details or invoice clients through Remitly
- FX markup not disclosed: Remitly states it may earn on the exchange rate spread but does not publish the markup
- No published FIRA: Remitly does not state that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC for export documentation
Should you choose Winvesta or Remitly?
- Choose Winvesta if: you need Indian freelancers and small businesses collecting under 2,000 a month per currency.
- Choose Remitly if: you need family and personal remittances sent from the US to India.
For example, an exporter billing $5,000 a month: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users.
Which other platforms should you consider besides Winvesta and Remitly?
Other covered platforms ranked by the INR received on a $5,000 invoice.
| Platform | Fees | FX markup | FIRA | INR on $5,000 | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Skydo | $19 up to $2,000, $29 to $10,000, 0.3% above + GST | States zero FX margin at live rate | States instant, free FIRA per payment | ₹4,70,843 | Indian freelancers and exporters receiving mid to large B2B invoices |
| Razorpay | 1% per bank transfer (Rs 1,000 flat below Rs 1,00,000) + GST | States 0% markup on MoneySaver at live rate | FIRS within 24 hours of settlement; no charge listed | ₹4,68,494 | Indian businesses and freelancers on Razorpay invoicing foreign clients |
| Kotak Mahindra Bank | No inward, FIRC, SWIFT fee on current accounts; GST on conversion | Card rate, markup not published; 1.71% below mid-market on 7 Oct 2026 | Nil FIRC on current accounts; savings Rs 100 or nil | ₹4,65,473 | Service exporters wanting a current account without inward remittance fees |
| HDFC Bank | No inward charge; physical FIRC INR 200 + taxes; GST on conversion | Card rate ~1.79% below mid-market on 6 Oct 2026; markup unpublished | Physical FIRC INR 200; emailed advice free for trade | ₹4,65,094 | Existing HDFC customers wanting free SWIFT receipts or EEFC accounts |
How did we verify this?
Fees, FIRA terms and RBI status were checked on each platform's own pages and RBI sources on 30 Sept 2026. INR figures use the XE mid-market rate for 4 Nov 2026. The formula is on the methodology page.
- Winvesta FAQ: What are the charges for the global collections account?, Up to 2,000 a month: 0.99% + a small fixed fee; 2,000-100,000 a month: custom pricing; above 100,000 a month: flat 0.2%; USD Collections: $3 + 0.99%; 18% GST will be levied on Winvesta fees for every non-JPMC account (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta Multi-Currency Business Account, Receive international payments at 0% forex markup; ZERO FX on USD; embeds a fee calculator: 'Payment fee @ 0.99% + $3.00'; 'GST (18% of payment fee converted to INR)' (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: How is Winvesta regulated? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: Is Winvesta compliant with India's regulations? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: How long does it take for funds to reach my Indian bank account? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: When will I receive my e-FIRA certificate? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: When will I get my Free FIRA? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: How do I receive USD? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: What are the transaction limits on my account? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: What is the maximum time I can keep funds in my GCA? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: Can I get priority processing for my withdrawal? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: How is GST applied? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: What documents do I need for KYC? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: Documents to open a global collection account as a freelancer (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: Documents to open a global collections account as a business owner (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: Is there any minimum account balance that I need to maintain? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: What currencies are available with local accounts? (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta blog: PayPal vs Winvesta (12 January 2026), Withdrawal fees stand at $3 plus 0.99% of the amount; zero FX markup on USD conversions; No extra GST charges apply to your transactions; no fees for signing up, maintaining your account, or receiving wire transfers; page banner 'No FX markups. No GST. Funds in 1 day.' (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta FAQ: How can I view the FX rate for the conversion of my funds?, Once your withdrawal is complete, you can see the FX rate used and the exact time it was applied (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Winvesta multi-currency account fee calculator script, fixed fees USD 3, EUR 5, GBP 5, AED 30, AUD 10, CAD 7, CHF 10, CZK 140, DKK 45, HKD 50, NOK 65, PLN 25, SEK 70, SGD 10; fee = amount x 0.99% + fixed fee; GST = 0.18 x fee when currency is not USD, otherwise 0 (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- Remitly: Send Money to India from the US (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly USD to INR rates and fees, Fee $3.99 below $1,000, $0 at $1,000 or more; promotional rate on first $6,000 (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly User Agreement, Consumer use for personal, family or household purposes; FX spread disclosure; US residency and age 18; delivery promise; Remitly may limit transfer amounts per transaction or in aggregate; cash pickup cancelled if not collected within 60 days (checked 6 Oct 2026)
- Remitly Business, For US-based companies paying freelancers, contractors and vendors abroad (checked 6 Oct 2026)
FAQs about Winvesta vs Remitly
Is Winvesta or Remitly cheaper for receiving USD in India?
Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $2,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. At $10,000: Neither platform publishes full pricing for Indian users. Figures use each platform's published pricing and today's reference rate, so check both pricing pages before you decide.
Which is faster, Winvesta or Remitly?
Winvesta states: USD withdrawals reach the Indian bank 1 business day after processing (1:00 PM IST cut-off); EUR and GBP 2 business days. Remitly states: Delivered to Indian bank accounts, UPI or cash pickup; Remitly shows a promised delivery time per transfer and refunds its fee if late. Specific timings Not confirmed..
Do Winvesta and Remitly both provide a FIRA?
Winvesta: Free e-FIRA emailed within 24 hours of funds reaching the Indian bank account, also downloadable from the portal. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly does not state on its pages that it issues FIRA or e-FIRC to Indian recipients.. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.
Are Winvesta and Remitly authorised by RBI?
Winvesta: States it is an online payment gateway service provider that facilitates cross-border collections under RBI regulations; RBI PA-CB authorisation not confirmed on an RBI page. Remitly: Not confirmed. Remitly is not shown as an RBI PA-CB authorised entity on any page reviewed..
Can Indian freelancers use both Winvesta and Remitly?
Winvesta, individuals: Yes. Its FAQ says Indian freelancers can open a Global Collections Account with PAN, Aadhaar, a marketing channel link and Indian bank details. Remitly, individuals: Indian residents can receive personal transfers sent by family or friends abroad. Receiving payments for freelance or export services is outside the consumer service's stated personal, family or household purpose.
Should I switch from Winvesta to Remitly?
Switch only if Remitly pays more on your usual invoice size or fits how your clients pay. Keep the Winvesta account open until every invoice sent with its details is paid, and download your FIRA or FIRC records first. Check the platform's own pricing page before relying on these figures.